We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Welcome”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly Welcome”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I loved this hotel. Very friendly,warm and welcoming. We met a few of the locals who made our stay even more exceptional.Thankyou Shirley, you saved my life with the coffee. The room we had was fantastic, the kingsize bed was amazing. We will be back. This hotel I will recommend to anyone. Once again Thankyou all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnadoll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    108
    37
    20
    7
See reviews for
68
94
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here many, many years ago and decided to stay here again whilst visiting family. It hasn't changed since my last visit. Stayed in a superior room which was comfortable and clean but nothing special. The bathroom was definitely looking a bit tired, the shower strut was loose but still useable and there was a bit of a smell in the bathroom which I think was the carpet (don't think carpets in bathrooms are a good idea tbh). Breakfast was OK but again, have had better. The staff, however, were very helpful and friendly but it seems like they have to double up doing other jobs, so sometimes there is no one on reception but they are usually working in the bar. I would agree with other comments that it is very dated in appearance and I got the impression it is being run on a shoestring. Could do with an injection of cash to update/upgrade it although I appreciate times are hard at the moment. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment about that on this visit but I have eaten here before and it was very nice. Location wise, it is easy access to Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle being on the side of the A690.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morsy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great room with 32" tv and balcony with a view of Penshaw Monument. Very clean room and comfortable bed. From the outside it looks abit outdated but I cannot complain on the room.

Good location for exploring the north east, only a short drive to Newcastle, Sunderland, Durham and the coastline with great beaches.

Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean and comfortable but dated in appearance. Don't be put off with the initial looks as the restaurant is fabuluous, we can particularly recommend the set banquet for two, in fact it was so good we ordered it on both nights. The hotel is well situated for exploring the North East and gives magnificent views of Lambton Worm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeYorks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed one night booked a deluxe room £70 for two bed and breakfast. Arrived to a outdated looking hotel. No one on reception , previous reviews were correct about reception staff behind bar I did have to go through bar to locate a member of staff however she was lovely apologised for taking so long.
Took key for room 35 walked in and wondered if we had been given a standard room I would not of called it a deluxe room. Looked out of window to find rubbish bins and a row of houses to which we could see people's front rooms ! We went down to reception asked if we could change our room lovely girl said she had no deluxe rooms left (fully booked apparently) showed us to a standard room which was looking in to someone else's front room (rooms do not have blinds/nets up at window)
After a drink in the bar the lovely receptions came and said she'd had a cancellation and would we like to see room 32.
We took it as it had a better view , once we were settled we noticed the corner unit had a piece of wood missing it was sitting on shelve.. cob web's in bathroom and fixtures missing in bathroom ,tea and coffee provided but I had to put kettle on shelf near floor as no plugs were present on table top and the noise from the A19 was horrendous if we could of gone else where we would of !
Now some good points. Bedding and room was clean , receptionist is a credit to this hotel. Help yourself Breakfast was gorgeous , ceriel fresh juice tea coffee , toast and full English very nice and hot
There is a Thai restaurant through the bar we didn't try it but it was quite busy, we did have some pub food (steak and chips and duck with all the trimmings £20) both of these meals were delicious , I would return only for the food.
Nice staff, nice food. Wouldn't stay over

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here twice now.
Bar is good, staff all welcoming and friendly but it seems they forgot to employ a handyman.
My first room was ok and reasonably priced but the fixtures and fittings hadn't been changed since the 70's by the look of it..
The bathroom sink was cracked and the light switches were very old.
Second room was freezing as the radiator clearly needed bleeding due to only being warm on the bottom 3 inches.
The telly had no picture so I was forced to entertain myself with my iPod ( free wifi though ).
All in all it's alright but could do with a bit of tlc and a regular handyman to spruce it up.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusader2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for a week in cold January. The hotel was warm and clean. Massive bed (two zipped together singles) in large modern well furnished room. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Took advantage of the early bird thai meal which was enjoyable served by attentive staff. The hotel is perfectly situated for trunk routes in, out and around the north east. Compared with other hotels we've visited our visit restored our faith in the hotel business. We've had diabolical experiences.Breakfast was always a pleasant start to the day, and was perfectly acceptable. It's impossible to write a review of the Highfield without a mention of the lovely Sophie. She was awarded our gold standard acolade!

Room Tip: Ask to view available rooms on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton-le-Spring
1.4 mi away
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: 101 Durham Road | East Rainton, Houghton-le-Spring DH5 9QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Houghton-le-Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton-le-Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated between the A1(m) and A19 between Sunderland and Durham on the A690. It has a well-appointed Thai restaurant - the longest established in the North East. The bedrooms have wifi connectivity and sky TV. All bedrooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing