We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
229
98
28
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
229
98
28
9
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 369 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2015

My husband and I had a great few days on Oyster just after Easter. We stayed in amore economical Bamboo Bure, clean, comfortable and adequate for our needs, and still on absolute water front. We walked the island, kayaked (no extra charge), snorkelled the beach in front of the reception, a world war one wreck, and a fantastic reef a few minutes by boat away. We kayaked out to Matevulu Blue hole for a swim, and the nearby Turtle Island resort for a Tusker. There were only 6 -8 staying on the Island due to heavy cancellations because of misleading info about Hurricane Pam, but Brad and Sarah still ran the Island night and Pina colada making - all the more for us! We celebrated my birthday with a massive Mud (each) crab dinner and a specially made cake- Yummm. The waterfall tour was fab - I wasn't cold (from Tasmania) but others may need some rashies/ leggings for warmth. Brad and Sarah went out of their way to assist other residents who had special needs from Birthdays to health problems, and still kept our safety paramount regarding the weather for tours and boat trips . Hope things are looking up for you all. ABC radio toady announced that all of Vanuatu was ready for business. All the staff were so kind and helpful too.Thanks also for your leadership in fundraising and assisting the islands that did have need of assistance. Maybe our supplies got out.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MimsiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2015

The World On an Oyster,

Thank you for your visit to Oyster Island. We also enjoyed your smiling face and enthusiasm in getting to know the local staff, their culture and this amazing part of the world.
Ali is always jumping at the chance to put together an Island Night - a great way for our guests to experience some local foods, music and atmosphere. I think its just an excuse so he can run his Pina Colada Class - Great Fun.
Also, thank you for letting the world know Vanuatu is open for business, sure thing Cyclone Pam and the media coverage has put a huge dent in the all important tourism industry, but even hard hit area's have their feet back on the ground and as an industry and community, everyone is working extremely hard to bring back Vanuatu BIGGER and BETTER. We were extremely fortunate here on Espirity Santo not to receive basically any damage from Cyclone Pam. Other than a few tree's down which were cleaned up days after the storm. Espritu Santo is open, has always been open and looks better than ever.
As far as you kind donation of supplies, YES. We packaged those up into individual packs and they have been or are been distributed under the guidance of Pro-Medical Santo, to families and villages that are in need. A HUGE Thank you from, us, the Oyster Team and the greater community for your kind and thoughtful donations.
Anyways, will pass on your kind words to all the Team here at Oyster Island. All the staff would like to wish you 'Happy Travels', and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2015

We were on a Carnival legend cruise which stopped in Santo for the day 12th April, we had booked to go on the Mt Hope waterfall tour. Unfortunately due to heavy rainfall the night before our tour was cancelled for safety reasons. This was extremely disappointing, but we can't control mother nature. We were greeted at the cruise ship terminal by John & Richard who suggested an alternative day for us. We were taken out to Matevu Blue Hole which was absolutely gorgeous & then taken back to Oyster Island resort for a Buffet lunch, which to mention was just divine.. ps Brad I need that recipe for the beef ribs marinated in chocolate sauce pleeeaase.. After lunch we were given several options, my husband & I chose to take a guided tour around the Island with John, while my daughters went snorkeling with Richard & saw the plane wreckage. After a beautiful day we were driven back to the cruise ship terminal by John & Richard in time to wander around the markets. A very big thank you to Brad & Sarah for your hospitality. Loved meeting John & Richard fabulous tour guides & lucky enough to chat with Dennis too!.

Hopefully one day we will return to Santo & do our Mt Hope Waterfall tour, it's definately on my to do list. Almost forgot to mention if I had my book with me I could've spent a few hours in the toilet lol. You have to go there to see what I mean!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

Day Visit,

Thank you and your group for considering Mt Hope Waterfall Tour and Oyster Island as your 'Santo, Vanuatu Experience' whilst visiting for the day on your cruise.
Again apologies for the cancellation of the Mt Hope Waterfall Tour, and thank you for your understanding that safety is our priority.
What a day, and only a great day with great guests. As far as the 'Choc Santo Beef Ribs', shoot us an email and i'll have a chat to Marcel. I must admit, I have tried to cook up a batch myself, but its something to do with 'Marcel's' love that makes them so yummy, always a feature on our Sunday BBQ Lunch Buffet. Next time, bring a book, a big book, the throne is awaiting (you will understand).
Take care, I will be sure to pass on to John and Richard your appreciation.
All the team wish you 'Happy Travel's'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2015

we got dropped off by fishing charter for lunch at Oyster Island and Brad and Sara kindly prepared a yellow fin tuna we caught for our lunch.Done two different ways fresh and un cooked it was so delicious.A big Thankyou to you both we enjoyed our afternoon a lot and the singer was awesome,just wish I had room to sample the BBQ meal as itlooked delicious as well.Next time hopefully

Room tip: Did not stay only a day trip for lunch and entertainment.Worth a visit on Sunday's for a great atmosphere and lunch
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 924cathyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Great Sunday Afternoon,

Thank you for your insight into our Sunday BBQ Buffet. Sunday's at Oyster Island are a sure thing good time, with some awesome live tunes from local musicians, Chef Marcel's amazing buffet including those delicious Slow Cooked Chocolate Santo Beef Ribs (You just have to try these) and the pristine Oyster Island to explore.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your day. Glad you enjoyed the fish (You caught, nice Tuna). Need to thank Fabrice also for dropping you up after your charter.
Take care, Happy Travels.
Staff , Management and all the family at Oyster Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015

Great hospitality from Brad and Sarah and all staff at Oyster Island. Plenty of activities to suit all levels of fitness, the island is easy to explore or the bungalows with water frontage have plenty of peace and privacy for a quiet read in the hammock. Santo has no cyclone damage and its beaches, turtles, waterfalls and tropical forests are begging you visit.

Room tip: Ask for a Bamboo Bungalow for plenty of space and open air bathroom
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015

Easter Weekend - Thnak you for your word's reviewing your stay over the Easter Weekend.
Sure do need those visitors. Absolutely correct in saying Espiritu Santo is open for business and begging for visitors. We were basically untouched from the devastating effects of Cyclone Pam. Vanuatu relies on the tourism dollar. What many people do not understand is that Vanuatu is a country made up of 83 islands, stretching out over a considerable area. Yes, there are islands that are still in serious need of aid and supplies, needing some time to rebuild after Cyclone Pam.
Vanuatu needs visitors back, every dollar you spend, at local markets, local tours, local handicrafts, even meals in big hotels.... trickle out to families of staff on these hard hit outlying islands. The mass cancellations that the tourism industry is experiencing right now is having huge secondary effects on these people, Even on some of these islands, including Efate (Port Vila) and Tanna, hotels, bungalows and resorts are open for business or really close to. The Ni-Vanuatu people are resilient, still manage to keep that amazing smile on their face, and are ready to receive visitors with that famous Vanuatu Hospitality.
Thnak you again for your visit, it put a smile on everyone's face, and we are pleased that we were able to do the same to you.
Staff wish you 'Happy Travels', and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

Special mention to Brad & Sarah! They are doing an incredible job, the resort is amazing, the service is by far the best we had in Vanuatu and the food is excellent. We hesitated to stay at Oyster island because we thought it was not on the mainland and it would be complicated to get out of Oyster island if we wanted to visit other things: quite the opposite, Oyster island is the best of both worlds, you enjoy the calm and tranquility of a remote island and it's only a 3-minute boat ride from the mainland and the extremely friendly staff will bring you across at any time you like. Thanks again, we had a great time!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank JuliePlasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2015

Simply Outstanding
Thank you for your insight into your "Oyster Island" experience, it was a delight to have you and family on island.
It is fantastic to note that although yes we feel like another world away, we are only 4 minutes by the newly refurbished "MV Barry Toa" ferry from the mainland. Anytime you need our staff are willing to drive the ferry across, just remember if you arrive at 'The Landing', grab the hammer bash the hanging tank a few times. Sort of the Oyster Island Cell Phone.
We really appreciate your kind words describing our staff. They are the true Oyster Island experience, and we will be sure to pass on you appreciation.
Take care, Happy Travels. Staff / Management Oyster Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews