We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyster Island Resort
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Superb!!! Loved the views from our bungalow. GREAT food and service, excellent facilities. Will recommend to anyone. Outdoor shower.... romantic.
My wife and I had 4 nights there for the end of our honeymoon.
Great snorkeling spots, be sure to snorkel the plane wreck just off the beech.
Kayak to the blue water holes - they say 45 minutes but we did it in 20...

JUST DO IT!!

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are closest to the restaurant, we stayed in a deluxe bungalow which was beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and it helps others to make informed decisions when deciding to stay with us. Glad you had a great time and we hope to have you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Oyster Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first time staying at oyster and will certainly be the first of many stays at this relaxing resort! We loved every minute of it- from casually ringing the big tin bell for the boat to come over and pick you up, the gorgeous outlook of the resort- set amid ocean, bay and rivers within the marine park- the warm and welcoming and relaxed managers and staff who make everyone feel at home, and the charming bungalows (we opted for the deluxe- right over the water equipped with hammock, a very comfortable bed, and my personal favorite- the outdoor shower). It is wonderful to see the pride the managers have in using all local materials to build the bungalows and nakamal (bar/restauarnt/gathering area) and the incredible training they have done to help the surrounding communities with both work skills for the adults and building a school for the local children nearby. While santo is a tropical island and things in Vanuatu do sometimes function on island time, the staff are the utmost professionals- competent, confidant, and go above and beyond to help. We were originally coming for a week and extended our stay to two weeks as we so enjoyed the company of the staff, the set up of the bungalows, and the casual relaxed feel of the whole resort. They also have a seasonal promotin- stay seven nights, pay for five, that made this place that much more of a bargain. There is a lovely well marked trail around the whole island that you can Do at your leisure- with many stops o n the way for picnics, swimming, and cow spotting. I also found oyster to be a great base for exploring all of santo- we did nearly every trip and activity you could do on santo all easily from oyster (millennium caves, a kastom village, snorkeling tour, vathe nature conservation in big bay in the north, champagne beach, port olry, several blues holes and rivers)- and oyster even organizes a few of their own fabulous tours to mount hope waterfall and some other special spots. I can't see anyone not enjoying their stay here.

Room Tip: Frangipani suites are adorable though a bit smaller with a few chairs on the deck. The bungalows hav...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachbum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, it was fantastic to read and know that we are heading down the right path to provide great holiday experiences for our guests. We hope to host you back here again and look forward to sharing more of this wonder slice of paradise with you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our second stay at Oyster Island and it only gets better. A great improvement since we were last here 2 years ago.

Additional facilities, new reception area, staff are great and love the Mt Hope Waterfall Tour.

What a place just to relax and unwind with a drink, beach, great food and family.

Kids were in the water for hour upon hour and great Happy Hour 1.

We really want to stay a week next time with so much to do.
Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Deluxe Bungalows are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi and thank you so much for your review, we love that you got to see the improvements and comment on them, it's a real joy for return guests to experience the growth and tell us what they think. Looking forward to your next visit, by then the Family Villa's will be finished and you can try them out. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We returned to Oyster in December, our second visit in seven months, to celebrate my birthday. We had raved about our previous experience so much, a couple of friends decided to join us. Our first experience was not a fluke as a great time was had by all. Previous reviews have mentioned many activities to do on Santo and we paid return visits to some places and found some equally beautiful new ones.

The management and staff are truly wonderful at Oyster. I cannot thank the staff enough for the effort taken to make my birthday celebration one that I will remember for many years to come. It was a wonderful night…

I could say much more about Oyster but most has already been said. The selfish thing for us is, the less said the better, as we would like to keep this place all to ourselves!

Everyone can reflect on their own experiences but for us Oyster is a beautiful oasis away from our busy lives and we look forward to our return visit. Lukem Yu!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are really happy that your second experience was as much fun as the first and appreciate that you share this with others. We believe Oyster is a magic spot, for many reasons, our teams gusto for celebrating important occasions with our guests is absolutely one of those reasons and we hope to enjoy many more special occasions with you over the years. Happy travels and lukum yu bak again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were a group of 8 including our 3 kids 12,12 and 14 and could not have been happier with our choice of Oyster Island We stayed for 5 nights and stayed in 3 of the deluxe bungalows.
Everything from the meals, the staff, the managers (Olly and David) the location, the tours were fantastic. OIR is in a great position for day tripping. We did the Millenium cave tour, Million dollar point, Mateluvu blue hole, Jackies Blue hole, Champagne Bay, Lonnoc beach and Port Olry and loved them all. Santo is an Island we could spend a lot more time on exploring around.
OIR has some nice snorkelling on the other side of the island to the resort and the walk around the island is really good as well. Grab a map from reception which directs you to the sites, including a WW2 canyon sticking out of the sand.
The grounds are really well maintained and a credit to the ground staff.
We didn't have any dramas with rats, any food we had we kept in containers to deter them from wanting to visit us during the night. There were rat traps set up around the bungalows to try to catch them.
When we come back to Santo we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Deluxe bungalows are fantastic with the open air shower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steely67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Hi guys, thank you for your review, its great to hear that you enjoyed the resort and the wider Santo Island and her many beautiful spots. Looking forward to hosting you back for another holiday sometime, meanwhile. happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Oyster Island in October is a deluxe bungalow.
The accommodation was excellent - on the water and the room was very large and well laid out - loved our shower!
We walked the island, snorkeled on several of the beaches and enjoyed meeting the staff. The dining area promotes contact with other guests which is always nice.
This resort is good for couples or families - you can tour Santos from here or just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your review we are genuinely pleased when our guests have a great break with us, hope to see you back again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked for four nights but left after just two for the following reasons:

1. RATS. We had rats in our room at night and did not sleep at all as a result. We spoke to the couple in our neighbouring bungalow who also checked out after just one night for the same reason. When I mentioned this to the manager I was told that they were 'tame' and that this was normal (!). Seriously guys this is not normal. Please address your rat infestation. This is not 'part of Island life'. We stayed in two other island resorts during our time in Vanuatu. We did not see any rats in our room except for at Oyster Island.

2. Mouldy and threadbare pillows. Not what we expected from a $200 a night resort. I have had better quality bedding in hostels.

3. No phone signal and very patchy internet. This may be attractive to some but prevented us from speaking to family at home on Christmas Day which was very disappointing.

4. Poor quality worn out snorkelling gear. Time to replace the 5 year old masks and flippers. These have seen a lot of use so better to bring your own than rely on the resort gear. Maybe if they ask guests to return the gear during their stay then the newer kit could be rotated among other guests?

It is a shame that the current management simply brush off the rat problem. The staff were friendly and the resort itself is in a great location with lots of nearby attractions. The owners could really make so much more of this place for very little investment.

As it currently stands we would not return to Oyster Island or recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for one without rats!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, we too are hugely disappointed when a guest experience does not meet our expectations or yours. I apologise for the lack of attention you received in dealing with your complaint, you have highlighted a area we will need to focus our training on.

Rats are definitely not tame or normal in the rooms and we have been working very hard to remove them over the past week with trapping and deterrent programmes.

Your other points are welcomed and we will be placing our focus in these area's over the coming days. We are disappointed Oyster did not live up to your expectations however, we appreciate the time taken to help us to improve our service and future guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
301 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
10.3 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
178 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
320 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Luganville
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing