We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Wonderful location hotel is very good (plus) Staff and facilities are above most expectations. Restaurant/buffet needs more variety.....overall lovely time away with friends and family...will be back again soon.....wonderful gardens.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    97
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
199
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Oyster Island resort is fantastic. It is like paradise on earth. Every morning you walk out of your bungalow straight into clear blue waters full of beautiful tropical fish. Then it's breakfast (the breakfast included in the room is delicious and totally adequate to keep you going for the fun you have ahead of you) in the lovely restaurant helped by the really fantastic staff. There is so much to do and the tours are reasonably priced, varied and great fun. The management and staff cannot do enough to help you and give you ideas. And if you want to do nothing then Oyster Island is perfect as well!!! You can just walk round the island, lie on the beach or sit on your hammock all day in peace and tranquility. Food is fantastic and reaonably priced and there's enough variety to keep you going. A great bar and cocktails!! And from time to time great buffets and local traditional entertainment. And it's not too difficult to get into town and go to other places for a change (although why would you want to leave Oyster Island!!) But if you want a quiet night that's okay as well!! Rooms are great a variety of prices which also means there is a nice mixture of guests. We just loved it and by the end we felt almost like we were at home!!! I can't imagine that there is a better resort anywhere in Vanuatu.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalaemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

this is a popular place - it was fully booked when we were there, but with only 11 bungalows it still feels intimate, never too crowded. We had the deluxe bungalow, which was very nice, spacious, with a good-sized balcony facing the sunset. We went to sleep at night with the curtains wide open so awoke to a lovely view of the inlet from our very comfortable bed. Sound of the waves lapping around us and the occasional fish jumping in the water. There's a rainforest to walk through and good snorkelling on the other side of the island. Food was very good, and not too expensive for the quality, but if staying here more than a few days you might get a bit bored with the menu. I recommend the Mt Hope waterfall/river tour, and also kayaking to the Matevulu blue hole.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBlueDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon at Oyster Island, and it was the best way to end our trip. We definitely hope to get back there one day. We spent 2 nights in a frangipani room, which was only $100 per night, cute little water front room with ensuite - perfect for if you're on a tighter budget. Then we spent the last 2 nights in a Deluxe Bamboo Bungalow, which was a bit more pricey, but still not nearly as expensive as a lot of resorts, and was beautiful!!! There were so many activities to keep us busy, but we also enjoyed a lot of relaxation time. The water is so warm, so we would go for a swim out our front door at anytime of the day or night! The staff were so friendly and comfortable to be around. One of our highlights was doing an intro to dive course and then doing a dive to see old WW2 plane wrecks! Kayaking, snorkelling and having a massage on our deck were some other highlights. The restaurant was good, and the Sunday Buffet lunch special was an awesome meal!
The only area we thought needed improvement was the showers. Although the indoor/outdoor shower in our deluxe bungalow was novelty, we could never get a good temperature showere - it was always either really really hot or kinda cold.
Great place, we would recommend it to anyone, whether relaxing and romancing, or adventuring and seeking fun!
Thanks everyone at Oyster Island!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakuna_matata_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Our pick up at the airport never arrived and we had to take a cab. The rooms were nice, but dark and the rats in the bathroom were more of a nuisance than anything. Food was variable and expensive, wine was restricted to one vineyard and most wins were well past their best. But it's a lovely location, there were nice walks round the island to a couple of small beaches, and it was relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badddriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We have just returned from 6 days on Oyster Island - nothing could be faulted. A special mention to Grant who gave us incrediable service - even took us to the local Dentist when one of our girls needed an emergancy filling. Grant had so many wonderful local stories of his years on Vanuatu - priceless. The Staff were also exceptional and good fun with lots of laughs and managed to distroy us in a game of Beach Volleyball. Food at the restaurant was so great and very well priced- we didnt bother venturing to any others. The location of the island is perfect to see the blue holes and the Mt Hope Waterfall trip was an unexpected huge highlight for all of my group - a must if you stay on Oyster. I look forward to returning some time in the future and would recommend this location to anyone wanting to get away from the tourist traps and hectic life of computers, tvs and such...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexstramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Plenty has been written about this resort but i want to highlight the four wonderful WW2 aircraft in shallow water around the island. They are all amenable to snorkeling and are in quite good condition. The managers, Grant and Lisa, had few details to offer about these planes but if you have come to Vanuatu to dive the Coolidge and enjoy war history you should try to snorkel or dive on the planes too. The other highlight was kayaking 30-40min up a river to a beautiful blue hole complete with rope-swing. Do yourself a favour and book one of the newer bamboo bungalows with broad water views and relaxing hammock and the private outdoor showers are a real treat. Food here is quite good unless you hate bananas (which my wife does unfortunately) which feature prominently on the menu. The Wifi is free but slow and mobile reception could be kindly described as patchy. Small downer is that the service can be a touch patchy and as for other places around here bring cash if you can to save on the hefty credit card fees (5% plus whatever your bank at home adds for foreign currency transactions). They are trying to protect the reef and whilst mooring points to protect the coral from anchors have not been installed Grant assures me its on the "to do" list. Very pleasant way to isolate yourself from the world for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorGusSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
4.4 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 14 in Luganville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Property: Oyster Island Resort
Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing