We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful. Spectacular. Perfect... Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smadeghe
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful. Spectacular. Perfect... Paradise”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved so many things about Malvanua Island Beach House. It was such a peaceful holiday location and truly private (just about the only light visible at night was from a yacht moored across the other side of the lagoon)! In no particular order, we loved snorkelling, the hermit crabs, kayaking in the lagoon and further afield - to the glorious Turtle Island and the Matevulu Blue Hole, turtle spotting, sitting out to eat on the deck, the birds, walking in the jungle behind the house... the list goes on! Swimming was another very popular activity. Our boys (10 and 13) were occasionally in the water at 6am! The water was incredibly clear and warm (what were we thinking with those wetsuits that hung in the cupboard for the duration of our stay???). Snorkelling was pretty good just a stone's throw from the house and even better - dare I say world class - at nearby Turtle Island, easily reached by kayak and a lovely spot for a picnic. The house itself was perfect - the pictures don't do it justice (we loved the roomy ensuite bathrooms, gas stove and big fridge). The hammocks were also very popular with the boys. Sitting out in the garden or swimming at night, watching the stars and the fireflies in the jungle, was breathtaking. Marianne's bread was delicious and the fresh coconuts, fruits and fish were truly mouthwatering. The Santo beef, cooked on the BBQ, was the best ever (according to my husband and our boys... I'm not a meat eater). We enjoyed visits to nearby Turtle Bay and Oyster Bay resorts for lunch (the Sunday buffet at Oyster Bay resort was a sumptuous gourmet spread). We loved the weather - the warm days, light afternoon breezes and occasional overnight storms. We also went horse riding with Megan and that was amazing too - a first riding experience for my husband and boys and she looked after them so well. Another special experience was the Mount Hope waterfall tour. Torq and Marianne are amazing people and were the consummate hosts... nothing was too much trouble and they helped out with topping up our food supplies from time to time (we stayed 8 nights) and arranging activities for us. Frederick (Torq's assistant) is great too - one morning he brought a coconut crab over for us to check out - there is a family of them on the island. He also went fishing with my husband and boys, which they described as better than a charter tour! We all enjoyed ourselves so much that we've re-booked already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and peacefulness of the location
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby_and...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot; damn hot, but wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a glorious week on Malvanua swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and relaxing. Torquille and Marianne were wonderful hosts who were very generous with their time and transport with trips to Luganville for shopping at the market, drinks at the local wateringhole and handicrafts at the "Mamas" co-op. Their support for Ni-Van womens initiatives is to be applauded.
Marianne supplied us with freshly baked bread, eggs from their chooks and ducks and produce from their garden, whilst Frederick, Torquille's right hand man, took great delight in showing us one of the resident coconut crabs up close and personal.

Whilst the swell and the wind prevented snorkeling on Malvanua, we did paddle out to Turle island where the snorkeing was sensational, as was the sense of solitude.

Malvanua was ideally located for easy kayak trips to the nearby resorts of Turtle Bay and Oyster Island for lunch or drinks, not to mention the stunning Matevulu blue hole.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty and solitude of the island
Liked least: unseasonably hot weather and the lack of a breeze
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerryanda...
Toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FABULOUS FABULOUS - I WANT TO KEEP IT TO MYSELF!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had the absolute pleasure of staying here last week, and it was one of the best holiday spots we could have wished for. The house is clean and beautifully appointed. The location of the island is second to none. The lagoon for swimming is safe and immaculately clean. Torq and Marianne are the best hosts that we could have wished for. As with many guests before us, Torq made our shopping trip and airport collection easy and we easily slipped into island life! We could have gone on numerous excursions, but chose to kayak, snorkel and do nothing.
Don't be put off by the remote location. With hosts like Torq and Marianne, should you wish to be off the island every day you could have done so, but why would you wish to leave paradise! We loved every minute and will be back

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Could do with some new beach towels, but we could have brought our own!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey C
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tranquil, private, romantic and fun in paradise”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent our Christmas on Malvanua Island and it turned out to be much more than we could ever expect! It was a dream from the start, and Torquil and Marianne made sure that everything was super easy and convenient for us but yet private and exclusive during our 5 day stay. I was originally a little doubtful if I would get bored on a private island but I soon realised that I never even found a dull moment!

To start with, the scenery and setting is just amazing. We spent many hours just relaxing on the porch or in the waters, enjoying the beautiful sunset, warm waters and amazing marine life right on our shores. We saw sting rays in the waters, different fishes, colourful corals. We spent every day kayaking to nearby Turtle Island (even more amazing corals along the way!), meandering through magical mangroves to blue holes, and didn't even have enough time to explore further. Other times of the day was spent romping around the island, discovering oysters on the island itself (I picked and shucked my own oysters!), looking for the elusive coconut crab, trying our hand at fishing, and checking out the nature around us.

What else is there to do off the island? Our hosts were wonderfully flexible to our requests too, bringing us to other blue holes on the main island of Santo on Christmas day itself, and we also went to the Million Dollar point for more snorkeling, which was one of the most amazing snorkeling I have ever done - where you see dumped American military weapons and vehicles right on the shore and the marine life that has grown right around it.

What about food? Now, you must cook since it is a self-catering holiday. That said, us city dwellers with hardly any time to cook usually LOVED the experience. Torquil brought us to the local market and we stocked up on local produce like sweet potatoes, corn, beef, and we had so much fun on the gas grill on the porch. I was a little surprised not to find seafood at the markets until I heard how most of the fish at the reef are pretty much poisoned. But Torquil went trawling one day and came back with a huge offering of snapper, and we were stuffed again for dinner! And the fruits - the abundance of sweet pineapples, mangoes, passionfruit.... =)

And about the house itself... trust us, the house is much more lovely in person when you see it from the boat coming to the island, than on the pictures. It comes with a fully stocked kitchen, hammocks, recliners, and you get to see the full view of the surrounding beauty even from your bed.

We are already planning our next trip and telling others about it. We suggest that you book your stay asap before other people get ahead of you on this secret paradise!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pod610
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ultimate Getaway”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is hard what to talk about first, the island offered the most tranquil and beautiful surroundings for a holiday like no other.

Relaxation was easy to achieve with the sounds of the water lapping only meters from the house making it easy to forget that the rest of the world was still operating

The unbelievably clear water was great for kayaking and watching the fish and sting rays underneath.

The Blue Hole was a must do and provided the ultimate peaceful kayak and photo opportunities

Turtle island was a short kayak away and to wander on this deserted island and snorkel in the calm water was a highlight.

Torquil and Marianne were the “ultimate hosts”. They ensured that there was food and other essentials in the fridge and cupboard upon our arrival so that we didnt have to tackle the shops after our travel day, and were available to assist where needed, whilst ensuring that the isolation of being on their (or should I say OUR) island was guaranteed. They were more than willing to take us to town as required and Torquils knowledge of the local layout and places to shop made getting supplies an educational experience and not a chore.

We thought taking two teenage boys to a place with little internet access was going to be a challenge, however the beautiful location, several islands to explore and the kayaks helped to ensure that they did not get bored.

The selection of DVDs gave us something to do at night and the boardgames were well utilised sitting on the front porch/verandah gave us something to do when we wanted to stay out of the sun.

This is a highly recommended spot to holiday especially if you want to enjoy a relaxing and scenic location and escape the world.

This was our first time to Malvanua Island, but will definitely not be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenross20...
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant - a tropical haven that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had an outstanding 10 day stay on Malvanua. Marianne and Torq were wonderful hosts that went 110% in terms of making our stay enjoyable. It was like being on your own island, and in contrast to other accommodation providers, at Malvanua one enjoys total privacy and freedom from the background noise of resorts/hotels. Getting to and from the mainland wasn't a problem (it's easily crossed in a kayak over sheltered water) and Torq was more than happy to act as aqua taxi, ran us to the market, and facilitated our day trips out and around Santo. From the morning we arrived we settled into a relaxed pace, listening to Kingfishers and the shifting tide. It was just what we needed after a busy period of work - we still feel relaxed two weeks after our return home. Malvanua's location between Oyster island and Turtle bay resorts meant eating out and cocktails was a short paddle by kayak - no problem even at night. For us self-catering was a real advantage. It gave us the chance to utilise the amazing local produce purchased at the market, and was much less expensive that eating out.
It's likely we will go back and stay at Malvanua in the near future. My fear is that once it becomes well known, we'll have trouble finding a time when it's not already booked by someone else!
Many thanks Torq and Marianne.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget G
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had the absolute holiday of a lifetime when we stayed at Malvanua Island for two weeks in July. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were reluctant about booking as we thought it can't be as great as it sounds - turns out, it was.
From pickup at Luganville airport to drop off two weeks later, we relaxed, explored, ate, fished, swam, slept, sunbathed, read and generally had the most amazing family holiday.
There was NOTHING that was too much trouble for Torq (host) to organise. We arrived as strangers and left feeling like we were saying goodbye to a favourite uncle.
Trips to the market, town, post office, banks, the local pub, even a Torq Tour to Port Olry,another blue hole and the rodeo were highlights of our trip, where Torq's willingness to include us and our 5 & 7 year old children were unbelievable.
Torq was ever helpful, but entirely respectful of our privacy and time and would prearrange times to drop off fresh made bread, trips and general visits, so as not to disturb us. As well as fresh made bread we were treated to homegrown fruit and veges, eggs, oysters and fish. He even produced fishing rods and tackle for our mad keen 7 year old son to fish off the beach - then lifted the bench mark even higher by organising fishing off the barge with himself, our family and his Ni-Van gardener - complete with spearing bait fish (Master 7 year olds eyes nearly popped out at that, and this became a much talked about holiday memory).
We made use of the kayaks and paddled over to the small island alongside Malvanua as well as over to the blue hole on Santo - a spectacular thing to do.
There was NOTHING we had to really think about on this holiday - true to their offer, they went shopping prior to our arrival for supplies and then took us regularly to town - or offered to get things for us while they were in town!! Pick up from the airport was easy and the first trip over to the island in the dark was exciting and very manageable.
We have every intention of returning in 2016 and expect that this wonderful island, beautifully appointed house and AMAZING hosts will be well patronised by returning guests.

Miss you Torq :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and host
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing