We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Float down a river to a waterfall”

Mount Hope Waterfall
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Adventure You've Been Hoping For!! Let yourself be taken on this half day excursion by the river, snaking its way through the dense Vanuatu rainforest. The river has carved out a magnificent gorge, lined with remarkable limestone formations and overhanging supersized ferns and trees. Be serenaded by birds as you float down to the waterfall and spend some time there taking in the natural beauty. Follow the guide on an easy, instructive walk through the lush jungle and finish off with some refreshments (fruit and water). Ready yourself for the infectious laughter and smiles coming from the happiest people on the planet, as we drive passed their villages and gardens on our way to and from Mount Hope. Required are closed (reef)shoes and shorts. Bring camera, towel and change of clothes.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Float down a river to a waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a great activity. Not too physically challenging - the water was pretty cold and the 3mtr jump at the begining a bit out of my comfort zone, but fun! After floating down a river over and around a few rocks we ended at a small waterfall which you could go under if you were brave. Not an extreme activity, but very enjoyable for a mum of three on a holiday without kids!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe and gentle excitement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nothing to be afraid of here, great guides, a wonderful way to see the bush and a delightful river/waterfall. The climb up the waterfall is safe and thrilling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adventure in water, in the jungle and up the waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the best. We only heard about from our host at Barrier Beach Resort. We were both so glad we jumped into this - literally. A longish ride up the mountain to a high bridge over what looked like a small river. The guides did invitees to jump off the bridge - but none of us took that option. We did jump off the cliff - about four metres which was pretty exciting. Floating down the river in life jackets was beautiful - an aspect of jungle you don't often get to see.. We got out a couple of times so we all knew which way to go round rocks and some small rapids. There had been a lot of rain. When we got to the waterfall it was flowing very strongly. But we held hands as we clambered up over amazing rock and very fast water. It was scary but we took time and we left no one behind! Tow of the people in our group were very poor swimmers - once they realised they really couldn't drown while wearing a life jacket they felt much safer. Once we finished they were both really glad they had done this adventure. I recommend it and hope to get back one day and take another trip down the river.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent taste of the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Guides Michel and Davison were so lovely. We took a 4 year old and a 6 year old and they loved it.
It was a good mix of adventure and fun, without being a gruelling day's trek like the Millenium Cave tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AceSanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it....so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thanks to Davcent and John it was an enjoyable day with heaps of laughter and photos of the float down the river to the waterfall. There was nothing to dislike and would do it again if I had the chance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hope Waterfall also viewed

Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
 

Been to Mount Hope Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing