We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luganville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Towock Restaurant and Bungalows
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent six nights in July at Towoc in a bungalow with an ensuite.
The ensuite bungalows are simple, clean and perfectly located close to Towoc beach. Mosquitoes were not a problem inside as the ensuite bungalows have screens.
The LED light was enough for all but reading, so if you plan to read at night, a headlamp would be required.
We found it was best to hang our food in a bag from the doorknob as we got visits from rats in the night. Don't let this put you off though, it wasn't a problem for us. The water (supplied by a solar pump) stopped at night but buckets are provided. Again this was no hassle.
Janet and her family provides beautiful, low cost meals. Our favourites were fish with coconut-style sauce (about 1500VT) and freshly caught coconut crab (delicious and only cost 2500VT).
Breakfast was simple but again delicious - we had pancakes with fruit, or omelettes, plus tea and coffee.
A family of pigs kept us entertained for hours, which was an unexpected treat. There are cows and chooks too which wander the property.
It's a short stroll to Champagne Beach which is as beautiful as the photos suggest.
The best snorkelling is at high tide at Champagne Beach on the ocean side of the jetty and continues to the point.
Janet always has a smile on her face and is happy to help out with requests. This is no sterile resort, instead guests really feel part of the place.
We went to the blue hole and Port Olry on a day trip (4000VT for 2 people), which is recommended. Peter drove the ute and Janet came too, and even went swimming with us in the crystal clear blue hole surrounded by the jungle.
Staying at Towoc Bungalows is a unique experience and we couldn't recommend it more highly.
It's perfect for people who are easy going, with a sense of adventure and can do without the mod cons.
In short, we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

In the review from Airbus 100 he wrote that the taxi from Luganville to Towock is 400vt, I think that he means 4000vt, It is about 1 hour and 20 minutes from Luganville and this price is for 1 person and goes up for 2. Prices for 2 to 5 persons in the taxi cost the same though, not 100% sure, I think about 6000vt. Sorry please ignore rate because I haven't stayed to Towock, just filling out the blanks

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KelGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Five of us just spent four nights at Towoc in two bungalows and we had a fantastc time. Janet and her family looked after us so well and our bungalows were comfortable and very clean. We were treated like old friends. Janet was very obliging about keeping the Tusker cold for one of our group members and her meals were very delicious. Banana pancakes and fruit for breakfast, fresh fish in coconut curry, beef satay.... too many lovely meals to mention. On our last night Janet very kindly cooked us a wonderful Lap Lap (a national dish) as a treat.

The surroundings were absolutely beautiful and the snorkelling at Champagne Beach was wonderful. Who would have thought that a huge turtle would come within 10 metres of the shore for a bit of a scout around the coral. An assortment of animals wander around the property and it would be a fantastic place to take children.

Peter (Janet's husband) and Janet both collected us from the airport for a small fee which was very kind of them. The extended family were all very helpful and happy to have a chat. Prices are all very reasonable and day tours cheaper than at the resorts.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Towoc to anyone wanting to go to Santo and we hope to visit again.

Room Tip: The new bungalows have their own bathrooms so if that is important to you, let them know when you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a great 2 week trip to Santo - and the three nights spent at Towoc were our favourite. We were in the two new ensuite bungalows (my husband and I in one - 6000vt with breakfast per night - and our adult son next door 3000vt). They were situated in a great position a little removed from the restaurant and right on the beachfront - fresh and clean with a covered verandah at the front. The cold water ensuite was very handy (if not a bit unreliable - an issue the owners will need to sort out - although it didn't bother us on this trip). The bungalows are screened and have mosquito nets but be aware that rats can enter so secure or hang all bags containing food - but they will not bother you otherwise. We loved the chickens, pigs and cattle roaming around and the beach was absolutely gorgeous - the sort of beach with soft sand and the clearest warm water you could imagine. Towok beach was where we mainly swam and snorkelled although Champagne Beach (again beautiful and all to ourselves) was only a few minutes walk away. The next bay in the other direction is Lonnoc Beach and it also looked great - the whole area is wonderful. Janeth and her team looked after us really well. There are no cooking facilities in the bungalows so we ate all meals at the restaurant (we were the only guests during this visit). The included breakfast was substantial and set us up for the day - warm coconut hotcakes which we ate with banana and honey and a tray of tropical fruit plus unlimited tea and coffee. The lunch menu was good with prices from 650vt to 1000vt for lovely dishes, and all evening meals were 1200vt - we felt good value (Wine by the bottle was 2000vt). Truly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return. Many thanks to Janeth and her family and the girls from the hospitality college that helped out. (Note while we rang from Australia to book direct as no email we understand you can contact Janeth via Towoc's Facebook page).

Room Tip: The two ensuite bungalows (close together) are in the perfect location. The original non-ensuite bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tripmode33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Towoc Bungalows is clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. It is great value for money and Janet will look after you like she is your own mother. All this and it is only 5 minutes walk to Champagne Beach, one of the top rated beaches in the world. If you don't want to walk there you can snorkel there across magnificent pristine coral reef with sea turtles, fluorescent clams and schools of tropical reef fish.
You are very likely to be staying there with only a few other guests, so you virtually have all this to yourself. From your thatched bungalow you can look out the door to Towoc's own beach which is just as pretty as Champagne Beach.
From Towoc you can walk into Hog Harbour and experience life in this region, go to the spectacular blue lagoon and go for an afternoon drive up to Port Olry - all magnificent
This is simply one of the greatest destinations for off the beaten track holidays. Thank you Janet it was wonderful

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Judging by previous reviewers, it seems not as cheap as before, 6000 vatu for en-suite, 4500 otherwise per night. Airport pickup on sat was 5000 vt! (got slapped with that unexpected charge at the end, expecting 2000). Food pretty pricey too, think 1200 per dish, but tasty, Janet is a good cook. Water supply unreliable for showering, and cold, but drinkable rain water, we did get travellers diarrhoea, not sure why, maybe cos we tried to drink spring water coming out on beach? Kobe1 cave was nice to see, quite adventurous not for the faint hearted! Only for athletic types! Fridge not always on so if you want cold beers in the evening you may not get that, bit hit and miss on that front. Very scenic however and like the place

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been a volunteer in Santo Vanuatu for 15 months & I have stayed at Towoc seven times. It is my favourite place to stay in Santo. The surrounding area of Hog Harbour is simply stunning & being very keen on long distance sea swimming, I just couldn't imagine a better place to swim. The sand is soft & white, the sea a ridiculous blue turqouise & on a low tide the sea floods with fresh aquafied water pouring in from the ground above. To get down on my hands & knees & drink water from the sandline is a unique special treat for me.

My favourite swim is from Towoc Beach to Champagne Beach, about a 2km swim return. Often when I arrive at Champagne Beach (which is free for Towoc guests) I am the only one on the beach, which is special in it self.

The water can be a bit mirky, as the fresh water & sea water combine, but after a long swim it is a delight to swim into the cooling water, that washes over you & refreshes you as you get closer to shore.

Janeth who runs the bungalows & prepares the meals is a great host & very relaxed. Nothing is a bother to her. If you come back late for lunch, she will still cook it for you. If you feel like a fresh green coconut, she will get one of her boys to knock one down.

I also enjoy the unpretentious atmosphere of Towoc. There are chickens, roosters, dogs, pigs, pikininis (children) & sometimes even cows roaming around your bungalow, while you relax outside ... give me this anyday to a "manicured sterile 5 class hotel".

For a single visitor the price is also very reasonable, at 2,500 VT (approx. AUD$25) per night, which also includes a good breakfast.

I can't speak highly enough of Towoc Bungalows & I intend to vist many more times before my 2 year contract is up. Thanks so much to Janeth & her husband Peter, for providing this well priced piece of paradise, to be enjoyed by all

Room Tip: There are two bungalows to choose from. The best one is the one in front, as it has the best uninter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Luganville
649 reviews
0 mi away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 12 in Luganville
275 reviews
0 mi away
Ratua Island Resort & Spa
Ratua Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Luganville
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#3 of 9 in Luganville
311 reviews
0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 9 in Luganville
131 reviews
0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towock Restaurant and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towock Restaurant and Bungalows

Address: Champagne Beach Area, Luganville, Espiritu Santo 000, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Luganville
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Towock Restaurant And Bungalows Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing