We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing swimming”

Paradise Tours Santo
Ranked #3 of 15 Tours in Luganville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a relaxing day at beautiful Lonnoc beach. En-route to Port Olry, this beach makes a lovely picnic and swimming spot with crystal clear water and fine powder of white sand you wont want to leave. Make sure you give yourself time to stop off at the Blue Hole for refreshing swim on the way home. You will be amazed at the colour and clarity of these fresh water natural swimming pools!
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Amazing swimming”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We did the Riri River tour. We were on a cruise ship and were picked up and taken to a craft shop on the way. We had 14 in our group, and when we arrived at the river we were put into groups of 3-4 for the 20 minutes it took to get to the swimming hole. It literally was a dug out tree trunk, with a local doing the paddling. The ride up the river was beautiful, with a few fish to be seen in the crystal clear water. We spent a few hours at the swimming hole. Water was very cool but refreshing as it was a very hot day. A basic toilet and change area was provided and a few seats, but nothing else, so take some water with you. Those who did not wish to swim just sat around and enjoyed the secluded beauty of the area.
We had an adventure on the return trip down the river. We were in a canoe with 5 of us (too many), when we started leaking slightly at the front. One of our group put his foot over it, and it may have been ok, but the guide pulled over to the side and told us to move up closer to the leak. This caused the front of the canoe to be lower in the river so water started coming in on the sides. We all got out and 3 of us got in another canoe who came to our rescue. I might add that we were in no danger whatsoever. We thought the incident funny, even though we didn't laugh for fear of offending our guide. The water here was only around 2-3 feet deep. We continued our trip and were dropped off. The local 'chief' was there to collect the $10 pp fee for access to the blue hole and transport by canoe. When the other 2 in our group arrived in the original leaking canoe, she told us that the local had asked her for $10 for the trouble the leaking canoe had caused, as he had to scoop out the water!!! I was flabbergasted. If anything, THEY should have paid us for the trouble the leaking canoe caused! The couple gave him $5. This is no reflection on Paradise Tours. The locals who paddle the canoes would probably be members of the chiefs' family who own the area, and may or may not even get paid for their time.
We were then taken to Oyster Bay Resort for lunch, which was not included in the price of the tour. In all, a very good tour, and the small hiccup the leak caused added to the fun of the tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise Tours - RiRi River & Oyster Island - Excellent!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you're like us and searching the web for how to see certain highlights of Santo, when on a cruise ship day stopover, we thoroughly recommend Luke's 'Paradise Tours'. You will not go wrong...

After emailing back and forth a few months earlier, where Luke's replies were always prompt and polite, our tour was booked and the price, which was great value as Luke gave us a consideration for our young children (7 and 4-years), was set.

We started at about 8:00am with a quick tour of Luganville and continued on to the RiRi River Blue Hole, which was absolutely beautiful. Luke even stopped the van on the way and purchased some native apples, from some children's roadside stall, which he shared around.

Put the RiRi River Blue Hole down as an absolute must - it is great! Everybody enjoys the dugout canoe trip up and down the river, with it's pristine clear water and banks lined by tropical forest. You spend two hours up at the Blue Hole, where everybody does their best on the monkey rope and generally swimming around, in this slice of paradise.

After the RiRi River excursion, which was absolutely exquisite and I can't rave on enough about it, we drove on for 5-minutes before catching the ferry (pontoon boat) over to the Oyster Island Resort - sensational in itself - for an excellent beach-side buffet (seafood, kebabs, beef, etc, etc, etc) lunch after which the kids continued swimming in the sheltered waters of the shallow beach and around the jetty, whilst we grabbed a cold one, lay on the lounges under the shelter of the palm trees and supervised...

3:00pm came along all too soon and we jumped back on the ferry for the short ride (3-minutes) back to Santo where Luke was waiting to take us back to the ship.

Luke is nothing short of a good, honest and friendly bloke, who is a great host / ambassador for the island and it's people. He is very informative, whilst driving you around and accommodating for all his client's needs and wishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Rod_and_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect day tour”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We started with a quick tour through Luganvile, then 1st stop Million Dollar point, great for snorkelling over the artificial reef made by all the left over military equipment the U.S. bulldozed into the bay. It was good a nice spot with tables and chairs and even a shower to wash off the salt. Next stop the Blue Hole, this was great place to swim in the beautiful fresh water. Last stop was to Velit bay Plantation a great spot to to have lunch and swim, I can recommend the cold Tusker beer and prawns. Thanks Luke for a great day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Our tour cost 6000 vatu each which covered transport, driver and entrance fees. There were just two of us and the tour started when we wanted, we left at 8am and basically it's an 8 hour day! We visited the Blue Hole, Velit Bay for coffee, Champagne Beach and Million Dollar point. Our driver was friendly and shared information along the way. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a hassle free day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good day out.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks Chris for showing us a great time on the east coast of Santo. My wife Karen had a great day on her birthday drinking champagne on Champagne beach as well as swimming at Riri Riri river blue hole. You are a true asset to the company. Cheers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Tours Santo also viewed

Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 

Been to Paradise Tours Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing