We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise. Paul & Kim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I will begin by saying that Shendel and Shane our hosts were two of the most down to earth people you would ever meet They made us feel at home from the start and this continued for the duration of our stay. The staff, Flavia and Sophie were delightful with nothing being too much trouble. The meals provided in the evening were nothing short of amazing and at reasonable prices. Shane and Shendel made a point of talking to each guest at breakfast, lunch and dinner to see how our adventures turned out and to help organise new ones. The waterfront lodgings were comfortable and spacious with the soothing sounds of the water to lull you to sleep. There was plenty of nice snorkelling spots and dugongs and turtles to see if you are quick enough.
All in all just a perfect holiday and we will definitely returning for a second helping.

Room Tip: We stayed in fare 1 and loved the closeness to the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KimandPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Barrier Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

If only we could have stayed longer...Excellent accommodation, food tasty, staff above friendly and happy. The view superb. Peaceful, romantic, family friendly can't think of anymore adjectives to describe our time at Barrier Beach. Thanks Shendell & Shane.

Room Tip: We had the end 'fare" closest to the next resort Moyyan House. This location was good as no...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had an absoloute ball on our honeymoon. Couldn't have asked to stay at a better place. Shane, Shendell and the staff were extremely accommodating and always had an idea of what to do and see. Food was great, snorkeling on the reef at your doorstep, friendly community, awesome fishing and just a beautiful island. Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a supreme gem, where do you start, an absolutely fantastic resort incredible service on every level. My wife and I stayed at the Barrier Beach House for four nights (not long enough) in March. In all our extensive travels this has to be the best kick back place ever. Such a wonderful outlook located on a beautiful beach overlooking a stunning lagoon. Shendel was the perfect hostess (Shane was away in Australia) admirably supported by Flavia and Ivana. The meals were scrumptious and we loved the menu style set up. Lovely comfortable Fare attractively situated and camouflaged by threes with beautiful lagoon views and very well kept landscaped stunning grounds maintained by John and the boys. The dedicated staff make the place feel like 'home away from home'. No request seems to be too difficult to fulfill; we were never disappointed. A special thanks to Rob and Anita for their informative and great travel discussions. We thank the whole staff for once again making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at Barrier Beach House with our best friends. Shendel and
Shane are the ultimate hosts and their latest Tripadvisor gong is extremely well deserved. Flavia mixes the best caprioska I have ever had and she and Sophi cook lovely meals with the widest smiles. To lie in bed with the shutters on the fare open looking at the turquoise sea and listening to the quite shuffle of the waves is absolute bliss. The water is so warm and crystal clear on your doorstep, it beckons you in. We can't wait to return and are already planning on the next visit. It truly is a paradise - we couldn't think of any way to improve on the experience.

Room Tip: Fares 1 and 2 have the best view. Three new fares being built will have a plunge pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyj157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Wendyj157,

So pleased to hear that you had such a great time. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us. It was a fun week and yes, I agree, Flavia is definitely the best cocktail maker around. Although it did almost kill me watching you all partake whilst I drank my Soda Water....CRUEL!!

Hopefully we'll see you back here sooner rather than later.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Barrier Beach House was the perfect place to spend our honeymoon. It is a beautiful location right on the beach (which is great for snorkelling) and it is close to all the main attractions on Santo. Shane and Shendel and the girls were fantastic, always recommending activities and asking us about our day. Our favourite activities were the blue holes, Champagne Beach and the Mount Hope waterfall tour. The meals and cocktails were also superb! I cannot recommend this accommodation enough-it was such a treat!
Chris & Sarah

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Chris and Sarah,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great honeymoon and we were glad to have the opportunity to make it special for you. Our staff do a great job with cooking and definitely cocktail making so I've showed them your review acknowledging their hard work!! It put a big smile on their faces!!

We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A very nice relaxing break with lovely accommodation, food & hosts.
The chalets are beautifully designed with open screened walls to 3 sides with shutters to close if required. The beach is right there in front of you, it is clean, protected, as the name says, by a barrier reef so good for swimming if a little shallow at low tide.
Well worth the visit and would definitely go again if I get the chance.

Room Tip: No need to choose, all three are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
178 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
119 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach Resort

Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu (Formerly Barrier Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range: $199 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Barrier Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing