We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrier Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Barrier Beach House in November, 2013 and didn't want to leave! This small resort is located on one of the most beautiful beaches you'll find anywhere in the world. We can't recommend it enough. Shendel and Shane and their staff made our stay an absolute pleasure. They were super friendly and helpful, the food awesome, the rooms were lovely...nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait to go back! Margaret and Russell.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargieK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 314 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at Barrier Beach House for 5 nights in September for our honeymoon. It was the perfect place for a honeymoon as it is such a quiet, peaceful and relaxing place. The managers, Shane and Shendel were wonderful hosts, as were their friendly staff that cooked us delicious meals and kept our room clean.

The beach is absolutely superb - beautiful soft white sand and calm clear blue water. A perfect swimming beach. There is also plenty of shade on the beach which was good. There are some good snorkelling spots around the bay. There are also kayaks (very good quality with back rests) provided for guests to use free of charge. We actually spotted DUGONGS on about three different occasions which was very exciting!!

We stayed in villa 1, which was absolutely beautiful. It was right on the beach and had amazing views through the louvred windows. I LOVED the louvred windows all around the villa. They gave us a lovely see breeze and also allowed us to enjoy the views but still with privacy.

The bed (kind size) was very comfortable and the shower was very good - decent pressure and we always had hot water. There was a safe in the room and a bar fridge that was restocked daily. The rooms were serviced and made up daily as well.

They have an onsite restaurant just for guests. A continental breakfast is provided free of charge and includes, toast, freshly baked banana bread, fruit, cereal, juice, tea, coffee, etc. There are a variety of things to choose for lunch, all at very reasonable prices (we especially loved the caesar salad and the burgers!). Dinner is a set menu, which is provided a few days in advance so you have time to decide whether you will stay for dinner or go elsewhere. We ate at Barrier Beach House for nearly all of our dinners as the food was spectacular! I did not expect such high quality food and so much of it! The desserts were also fantastic.

One of the highlights of our stay was when we hired Barrier Beach's "Bongo Bus" to drive around the island. I think it was roughly 6,500 vatu to hire for the day (cheaper than car hire in town and much more convenient). We had so much fun driving around in the bus and visiting amazing beaches and blue holes. Shane gave us lots of information on where to go and what to do which was very helpful.

Other than the amazing location and rooms, the best thing about Barrier Beach House was the people. Shane, Shendel and their staff (Flavia and Sophia?) made us feel right at home and were so friendly, helpful and generous. Shane drove us into town one night for dinner and also even drove my husband's parents back to their resort when they got lost! We were also given a free congratulatory bottle of champagne from Shane and Shendel as we had just gotten married in Port Vila. It was all these little things that made our stay very special.

We will definitely be back again - hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: There are only three villas (bliss!) and all of them are on the beach. Any of the villas would be gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1001emmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Shendel and Shane were really friendly and welcoming with plenty of local knowledge and advice to getting out and about and the service from the staff was awesome they are all so friendly and helpful , the meals were great , the rooms very spacious and comfy and we had loads of privacy or could go and mingle with the staff and other guests in the dining room when we wanted too, the view is postcard dreamy and beach access perfect for us to wind down into relaxed holiday mode very easily , we really enjoyed our stay and plan to go back again one day.

Room Tip: they all looked good!!!! and all had 3 second access to the beach and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hi Laura H,

Once again congrats on your wedding and thanks for letting us share the lead up to your special day!! It was so good to see you happy and relaxed before the big day and we were pleased we could help provide you with the perfect spot to unwind.

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and would love to have you back again anytime.

Good luck with the many years ahead of wedded bliss!!

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in October and could not fault the resort. It felt like we had our own place with services/ staff. Shane was a wonderful host, always friendly, most accommodating - even to my vegetarian needs (Thank you). The food was really good - no need to go anywhere else. They have Breakfast, lunch and dinner. All fresh and local food. The fare' was so comfortable, spacious, secure and the king bed was excellent (We are fussy!). Views !! WOW. Step right out front of your Fare' and there is the beach and water. I think this is one of the best places to swim. Shane let us use his guest car to drive up the coast and was very helpful on directions, places to see. Picked up from the airport and transfers back by Shane. It was seamless. It made us feel like VIP's. Shane even went above and beyond his duties, finding my lost wedding ring - wonderful ! Thank you, I will tell all good things about Barrier beach House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hi Niki S,

Thanks for writing such a positive review about Barrier Beach House. Unfortunately I didn't get to meet you during your stay but I can see that you were well looked after by Shane and we're both really glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very lucky to have such a beautiful place to work and really love seeing all our guests enjoy this little piece of paradise.

We hope you get to come and visit again sometime in the future.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I made our booking for BBH based,almost exclusively, on previous trip advisor reviews. Being a once a year holiday couple, and becoming a little bored with my previous destinations,(Indonesia-Bali, Thailand, Malaysia,etc, etc....) I was looking for the clear blue water of the pacific. I will mention that in all my previous holidays overseas I have been looking for a holiday that will include warm/hot tropical weather, beach, some level of new/international cultural enjoyment, relaxation and rejuvenation...in making my booking with BBH I was deviating slightly from my usual routine...(room service, several restaurants and bar options etc, etc...)
I have never been happier in my choice!
Initial enquires with Shendell had given me confidence in my choice, and on arriving I was overwhelmed by the situation... Aqua water, white sand beach, smiling happy staff and lovely accomodation.
Three fare are currently available with three luxe fare being built as we write this review. All three fare have sea beach/water views, with fare 3 being slightly back from the other two fares and the main house. (Fare 3 a queen size). We stayed in fare 3 and 1 during our stay. All three fares are similar differing only only slightly in view and bed size.
BBH is delightful as it accommodates all types of guest. If your perfect holiday is action and adventure they can help you, if your ideal holiday is rest and relaxation that's cool too! With the latter being our aim we came with high expectations and were not disappointed.
A beautiful,everchanging sea view was our greeting every morning. The cheeky smiles of Sophia or Flavia or Ivana greeted us every morning where we were treated to a lovely breakfast each morning, smiles and giggles were free...Shane or Shen would usually be around for a catch up to see how we were travelling and what our plans for that day might be. Hanging around the house is very convenient with beautiful water and beach right at your feet, coupled with great snorkelling just metres away, lovely beach walks, and reef/coral exploring also an option depending on the tides.
Food?? Excellent. While there is no choice when it comes to dinner, don't let this dissuade you. We ate dinner at BBH every night and were very happy with this. Other guests occasionally tried other options and usually came back early and indicated they should have stayed at BBH. Lunch has a good selection of what you usually want in a tropical setting(salad,sandwhiches,hamburgers and chips etc) If BBH opened to the public for meals they would be full every night.
By the end of stay we felt like we were leaving friends.
Espírito Santo is truly a tropical paradise, and the champagne coast (East) in particular quite beautiful. Every variation of blue/green on display when looking at the water. In our seven day stay it rained twice, typical tropical downpours that gave us ample time to relax in our rooms or the communal lounge.
Champagne beach is a must do! As is the blue hole off oyster island. You won't be disappointed. As mentioned earlier Shane and Shen know the island very well and will help you out whenever they can. They are a wonderful couple who put every guest at ease with their laid back charm. We cannot thank everyone at BBH enough! "Two tuskers please!" We will be back!

Room Tip: All fares are good! Possibly 1 and 2 may get more sea breeze, but 3 is a little more private if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hey Margaret W,

What a fantastic review!! Thanks so much!.

You have pretty much covered everything in this review including our great staff. I love it when I see their names in the review as well. They do such a great job and I love being able to show them that all their hard work is paying off. I'm also glad you mentioned the meals as the girls have really been developing their skills lately and the food they produce is top quality.

They also said to say 'hi'. I think they enjoyed your company as much as you did theirs!!

It was great to have you come and stay with us and we hope we get a visit from you again very soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here in October. Wow what a great place.The beach is one of the best in santo.
The host Shane & Shendel are great people, so friendly. They organized a day trip on the east coast for us even lending my husband an esky with ice for his beer.
The food here was great, we went somewhere else 1 night but must say we should have ate at barrier house.
Barrier beach house was definitely a high light for both of us & we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hi ktm08,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Very much appreciated. It's a great way for our future guests to see what they can expect at Barrier Beach House and points out some highlights for them. A drive up the East Coast is definitely a must and always made better with an esky full of cold beverages!!

We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back here again soon.

Cheers,
Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at barrier beach for our honeymoon in October after visiting Port Villa and Tanna and it was absolutely perfect. We don't have one thing that we didn't love about the place. Shane and Shen are the perfect hosts and you feel like you are staying with friends. The staff that work there are so friendly and happy.
The rooms are big and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the water.
Santo is a beautiful island and the cave tour is a must!
We left feeling so relaxed and will be going back for sure!

Oh and the sticky date and brownies are the best!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolamcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrier BeachHo... V, Manager at Barrier Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Nicolamcrane,

So glad to hear that you had such a good time with us. We absolutely loved having you guys come and stay with us for your Honeymoon and are pleased to hear that you returned home relaxed and rested. Our work here is done!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best for a wonderful marriage ahead!!

Shendel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
0.5 mi away
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
#8 of 16 in Espiritu Santo
64 reviews
0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 16 in Espiritu Santo
212 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
184 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach Resort

Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu (Formerly Barrier Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
Price Range: $187 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barrier Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing