We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip to Vanuatu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrier Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barrier Beach House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Highlight of our trip to Vanuatu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at Barrier Beach House (BBH) on 7 January 2013 and stayed for 6 nights.

Having flown from Port Vila, we were met by Shane at the Luganville airport, who drove us back to BBH, which is about a 15 min drive. From the moment we arrived, Shane, Shendel and the girls (Flavia, Sofia & Chen), couldn’t have been more accommodating… whether it was Shane taking us to a local kava bar (make sure you wear shoes), Shen organizing a tour for us (Mount Hope River Float) or hiring a car for the day (Port Olry), nothing was too much trouble.

The Fares themselves are relatively simple, well maintained and ours (Fare 1) is literally metres from the beach. Waking up each morning to the sound of the waves and the sun shining through the slats was just amazing.

As per the other reviews of BBH, the beach itself and surrounding islands are absolutely gorgeous, the location is perfect for everything you want to do on the east coast and Shane and Shendel’s home cooked meals are delicious.

We had an amazing 15 days in Vanuatu and BBH (and Espiritu Santo) was definitely the highlight.

Thanks so much guys and keep it up,

Chris & Jayne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray_Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
185
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed a week with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. Barrier Beach House is a very special place - with each fare only steps from a picture perfect beach. Days went by in a state of relaxation - we both read more than we had in years- and when we needed to cool down we could in seconds be snorkelling in the surrounding coral about 20 metres off shore. Shane and Shendall were perfect hosts and really made an effort to make us feel comfortable. Special mention on our anniversary night - a table was set up on the beach outside our fare and it was simply perfect. We hired the mini bus with another couple staying at the resort and spent a great day exploring Champayne Beach and Jackies Blue hole. So in summary, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday away from the world - my recommendation is to book Barrier Beach House !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieMikeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Barrier Beach House and we felt just so relaxed and so greatly taken care by Shendel, Shane and their staff. We were travelling in Vanuatu with our three years old daughter who also loved the beach, the provided toys and mostly the numerous little nemos just so close to the beach! Beach House is definitely a great place to have as a base if you are exploring Santo. Shane gives you all the info and help you need for moving around, including info on nice places to eat nearby and on Santo. They also provide great dinners too! As for the house, well it is spotless, comfortable and in perfect harmony with the paradise that surrounds you. We also loved the large bathroom and the so comfortable beds!! Thanks so much Shendel and Shane for such a perfect place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for a week from the 1st January, 2013 at the Beach House - as there were eight of us, Shendel suggested the house would be suitable - it accommodated us with ease! The house was a complete package with a mini-bus to drive around in and do our own thing which was a fantastic bonus! The house was extremely comfortable and well set out for our family. Having the mini-bus meant we were able to go into town to buy our groceries from the local supermarket.
The location was excellent with an amazing, beautiful beach right at our door which was great for snorkelling and swimming. Another added bonus was the inclusion of the canoes.
Shane and Shendel were great hosts and arranged lovely dinners and great tours; nothing was ever too much trouble. We really enjoyed the Mount Hope Adventures River Float - this is a must do on a trip to Santo.

Thank you for an amazing family stay that we will never forget, we hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.
We would highly recommend the Beach House for families or groups wishing to enjoy a nice quiet location right on the beach. There are great restaurants nearby including Moyyan and Lope Lope. A visit to the Moyyan Day Spa is also recommended.
Santo and Barrier Beach House - Total Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleK588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawks Nest, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is a very rare occurrence in one's life to stumble upon absolute and utter perfection in a holiday destination. I can now say that I have found it! Barrier Beach House is one of those places that takes you in and weaves her magic on you from the moment you walk through the house and look out at the pristine waters just 20 steps away.We stayed as a family of 5 and had 2 of the beautiful fares for 7 nights of bliss. Just 15 minutes form Luganville, Barrier Beach House is everything and more that you have read and seen. Stunning beach, awesome snorkelling, plenty of activities for the adventuresome and all the luxuries required for the quiet moments are all right there.Shane and Shen are amongst the nicest people you will ever be lucky enough to meet.They invite you in with open arms and generously give their time and knowledge to make your stay a memorable one. Shane's steak is legendary and Shen's brownies are "to die for"! "Espirtu Santo" is truly an island paradise worth visiting and Barrier Beach House a unique destination.Take my advice, don't miss out on one of life's pure unadulterated pleasures!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeragrO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Barrier Beach House and absolutely loved it. The location is amazing with a beautiful beach, warm water and fantastic snorkeling, the rooms are excellent, the staff are friendly and the food was delicious.

The hosts, Shane and Shendel, were what really made the stay great. They're both lovely people and they've created an atmosphere that feels like you're staying at a friends place. They do a set menu for dinner and you can choose to eat that meal or go elsewhere (such as next door at Moyyan). As a result of not having to cater for many choices, the food was fantastic, especially Shane's steak.

Santo itself is a beautiful island with friendly locals, few tourists and some of the most incredible beaches you'll ever see. We'll be going back Santo and we'll be definitely staying at Barrier Beach House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

A beautiful place made perfect by the wonderful & warm hospitality of the hosts.
Our room was lovely with a stunning view of the pristine waters of Barrier Beach, the common area was charming and tastefully furnished making it feel plush and homey at the same time and the ' home cooked ' meals were delicious; especially the steak we had the last night we were there - world class!!!!
Shen & Shane thank you for making our stay so special:) We will definitely come back!!!!
Ina & Craig

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#3 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Property: Barrier Beach House
Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barrier Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing