We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrier Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed a week with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. Barrier Beach House is a very special place - with each fare only steps from a picture perfect beach. Days went by in a state of relaxation - we both read more than we had in years- and when we needed to cool down we could in seconds be snorkelling in the surrounding coral about 20 metres off shore. Shane and Shendall were perfect hosts and really made an effort to make us feel comfortable. Special mention on our anniversary night - a table was set up on the beach outside our fare and it was simply perfect. We hired the mini bus with another couple staying at the resort and spent a great day exploring Champayne Beach and Jackies Blue hole. So in summary, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday away from the world - my recommendation is to book Barrier Beach House !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMikeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 308 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Barrier Beach House and we felt just so relaxed and so greatly taken care by Shendel, Shane and their staff. We were travelling in Vanuatu with our three years old daughter who also loved the beach, the provided toys and mostly the numerous little nemos just so close to the beach! Beach House is definitely a great place to have as a base if you are exploring Santo. Shane gives you all the info and help you need for moving around, including info on nice places to eat nearby and on Santo. They also provide great dinners too! As for the house, well it is spotless, comfortable and in perfect harmony with the paradise that surrounds you. We also loved the large bathroom and the so comfortable beds!! Thanks so much Shendel and Shane for such a perfect place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for a week from the 1st January, 2013 at the Beach House - as there were eight of us, Shendel suggested the house would be suitable - it accommodated us with ease! The house was a complete package with a mini-bus to drive around in and do our own thing which was a fantastic bonus! The house was extremely comfortable and well set out for our family. Having the mini-bus meant we were able to go into town to buy our groceries from the local supermarket.
The location was excellent with an amazing, beautiful beach right at our door which was great for snorkelling and swimming. Another added bonus was the inclusion of the canoes.
Shane and Shendel were great hosts and arranged lovely dinners and great tours; nothing was ever too much trouble. We really enjoyed the Mount Hope Adventures River Float - this is a must do on a trip to Santo.

Thank you for an amazing family stay that we will never forget, we hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.
We would highly recommend the Beach House for families or groups wishing to enjoy a nice quiet location right on the beach. There are great restaurants nearby including Moyyan and Lope Lope. A visit to the Moyyan Day Spa is also recommended.
Santo and Barrier Beach House - Total Paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleK588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is a very rare occurrence in one's life to stumble upon absolute and utter perfection in a holiday destination. I can now say that I have found it! Barrier Beach House is one of those places that takes you in and weaves her magic on you from the moment you walk through the house and look out at the pristine waters just 20 steps away.We stayed as a family of 5 and had 2 of the beautiful fares for 7 nights of bliss. Just 15 minutes form Luganville, Barrier Beach House is everything and more that you have read and seen. Stunning beach, awesome snorkelling, plenty of activities for the adventuresome and all the luxuries required for the quiet moments are all right there.Shane and Shen are amongst the nicest people you will ever be lucky enough to meet.They invite you in with open arms and generously give their time and knowledge to make your stay a memorable one. Shane's steak is legendary and Shen's brownies are "to die for"! "Espirtu Santo" is truly an island paradise worth visiting and Barrier Beach House a unique destination.Take my advice, don't miss out on one of life's pure unadulterated pleasures!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeragrO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Barrier Beach House and absolutely loved it. The location is amazing with a beautiful beach, warm water and fantastic snorkeling, the rooms are excellent, the staff are friendly and the food was delicious.

The hosts, Shane and Shendel, were what really made the stay great. They're both lovely people and they've created an atmosphere that feels like you're staying at a friends place. They do a set menu for dinner and you can choose to eat that meal or go elsewhere (such as next door at Moyyan). As a result of not having to cater for many choices, the food was fantastic, especially Shane's steak.

Santo itself is a beautiful island with friendly locals, few tourists and some of the most incredible beaches you'll ever see. We'll be going back Santo and we'll be definitely staying at Barrier Beach House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A beautiful place made perfect by the wonderful & warm hospitality of the hosts.
Our room was lovely with a stunning view of the pristine waters of Barrier Beach, the common area was charming and tastefully furnished making it feel plush and homey at the same time and the ' home cooked ' meals were delicious; especially the steak we had the last night we were there - world class!!!!
Shen & Shane thank you for making our stay so special:) We will definitely come back!!!!
Ina & Craig

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the perfect place for unwinding, and simply taking time to admire nature at its best. And with the added bonus of hosts that tend to your every need - unobtrusive but there whenever you need them. You can do as much or as little as you like. When we decided to hire a car for the day, no problem - taken care of in a few minutes, once you decide where to eat for the night - no problem - booked for you in a few minutes, want to do a tour for the day....no problem...you get the drift ....just enjoy. We chose to stay in and dine on several occasions and thoroughly enjoyed our meals, great steak cooked to perfection! (Shen your steak was the best we had of 3 different places!) If you want to go in to town, it's about 15 mins away, either with your hosts on one of their trips into town or by taxi (which they will arrange) at a cost of approx $10 AUD. The accommodation is great, well thought out, private and well maintained. We hired a car for the day and drove up to Champagne Beach ... beautiful! ... easy to get to. We also did a half day trip canyoning....floating down a pristine river and then climbing up a waterfall, heaps of fun . We hope to return to this little piece of heaven one day and hope to find it just as we left it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
180 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
6.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 10 in Luganville
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach Resort

Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu (Formerly Barrier Beach House)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range: $197 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Barrier Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing