We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Better late than never"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrier Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barrier Beach House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“"Better late than never"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of July and what a wounderfull place this is.From the time you arrive and enter the main house and look through to the beach and sea you realise what a stunning setting you are in.There is not much we can add to what hasn't allready been said in the reviews and we booked our getaway based on these reviews and were not disappointed at all.Shane and Shendal just carry on what you are doing, you have it right.Just a special mention to Shane "thanks to you and John for loading me into the tender and taking me accross to that island with your favourite beach".Regards to you both and your friendly helpfull staff, we hope to get back one day.Cheers,David & Patricia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
185
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went back for our one year anniversary in July 2012 to Barrier Beach House. I think that says it all! Shane and Shen made us immediately feel at home with a 1 year anniversary barbeque for a combined celebration of their 1st year of service and us being their first ever guests.
This spot is very special to my husband and I as we were engaged in Port Villa at Mele Cascades in July 2011 and the following day arrived at Barrier Beach House to a warm welcome, beautiful accommodation and fantastic views. Even though we have been back twice, I think that we will be back several times more in the future with a few people with us to share in this special bit of a paradise.
Shane and Shen take care of almost everything for you during your stay, that you can't help but relax!!! You can snorkel right off the beach and see clownfish, lion fish, angel fish and sometimes even the odd dugong. It's the perfect place to unwind and share in a great Toblerone (made by Shen) overlooking the beach and some of the fantastic food that is plated up by the crew.
Make this your next stop!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a week in November 2012, and it really was everything we wanted for a relaxing holiday, with a bit of action. Shane and Shendel are great hosts, organising activities for you, making everything so easy, so you can really focus on having a good time ! They'll even feed you in the evening if you don't feel like trying one of the many food options around. The bungalows are clean, spacious, and very comfortable (great hot showers with a lot of pressure, so good after millennium cave !). Everything is so relaxed, you won't want to leave !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment you step off the plane and are greeted by an icy cold Tusker (beer) bearing host (Shane), to the moment you have to reluctantly leave this slice of heaven. Barrier Beach House ticks all the boxes for an intimate, tropical, island getaway.

The resort (?) comprises of a main house and 3 x rooms/fares located on the idyllic Barrier Beach (which is about 20 minutes out of town - Luganville). Each fare consists of a spacious, open plan bedroom and ensuite. There are no (glass) windows to speak of, with timber blinds/louvers letting in the tropical breeze, outdoor views and relaxing sound of waves gently lapping on the beach. Bug mesh keeps out the creepy crawlies, but its worth remembering you are in the tropics, so the occasional gecko or bug is bound to pay you a vist. That said, the fares are serviced daily, and were only built in March 2011 so are still very new and clean.

Food is a communal affair, with meals being served in a main house area. Breakfast is either a Continental (cereal, juice, toast, tea/coffee, and fruit) or delicious cooked free-range eggs, toast and bacon. Lunches offer a range of delicious sandwiches, rolls or burgers. The dinner menu changes nightly with 1 x yummy meal choice on offer (e.g. steak/fish/BBQ/pasta etc.). If you'd like a change, there is the Moyan Resort next door which has a restaurant and offers a small (but tasty) menu - albeit a little on the pricey side. Plus there are a number of restaurants in town to chose from if you want to venture out of the resort.

Hosts Shane and Shendal are a couple of Aussie expats who have been lucky enough to make the sea change to this glorious part of the world. This young, easy-going, laid back couple, ensure that your holiday experience is nothing but exceptional. Be it from organising taxis/hire cars, restaurant bookings, tours, activities, to filling you in on all the local 'griff' (news/goss). These guys go the extra yards to ensure that your stay excedes expectations.

There are plenty of activities to enjoy at the resort - from lazing on sun lounges, snorkelling in the warm, crystal clear water - with a reef bombie located only a couple of hundred metres offshore - complete with tropical fish (including Nemo!), paddling in a sea-kayak or local dug-out off-rigger or mountain biking.

We're already looking at dates for when we'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are modern, clean, open plan, and a few steps from the warm, crystal clear, Barrier Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Barrier Beach House is the kind of place you fall in love with. It is small, cozy and beautiful, with its own private beach, coral reef, wooden deck (love love love the common area and its feeling) and private dinning restaurant (please keep it that way - and the food is delicious). Shane and Shendel are very friendly and they have definitly contributed so we could make the best of our stay in Santo. They made everything so easy for us and spent time to help us and share their experience with us. It's our dream house and thank you so much for sharing your little paradise with us, we are already thinking of coming back!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms and all 3 seem perfect. Just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at barrier beach for a week in October, we are already trying to plan our next trip. We had the BEST time Shen and Shane were fantastic and fun hosts nothing was a problem. Very clean and quiet too. Oh and the food they cooked for you was superb we couldn't stop eating!
We actually were married at barrier beach so our holiday was extra special and we can't thank Shen and Shane enough for how accommodating they were and just made us feel so comfortable, we truly loved sharing the day with them.
One of the best places we have stayed at thanks again guys.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

In short, everything about this place is stupendous. Superlatives actually fail me.

First and foremost, the location is terrific – it’s an idyllic spot with a perfect stretch of white-sand beach, great snorkelling straight out front and a view of beautiful offshore islands.
The rooms and the Beach House itself are boutique place, so: very small and only a few self contained suites set right on the sand, although the suites are very large. Where so many similar places get it wrong this one just nails it – its extremely luxurious and feels very intimate.

Then there’s the staff – Shane and Shendell are the most wonderful hosts, you can just tell they are genuinely delighted to have guests around. They are naturally gregarious and give freely of their time, information, and energy. Nothing is too much trouble. In our stay they frequently went out of their way to make our time memorable and took literally all the hassle out of arranging everything we wanted. My partner has some pretty challenging dietary requirements, no wheat, diary etc and Shane and Shen truly went above and beyond to accommodate – preparing gluten free options to many meals just for my partner. They even managed, with literally only a few days notice, to source a gluten free bread mix and then bake it so we could have toast for our stay!. Heaven only knows how they managed to do that in Vanuatu.
And then there’s the food – Shane, Shen and all the staff have a real passion for high quality and delicious food. Shane also managed to hook as much fresh fish as we wanted for the 10 days of our stay. Fish is actually not that easy to come by in Vanuatu as a whole unless you’re at the beach house. Just stay away from Shen’s homemade chocolate brownee. Its habit forming!

The Island of Santo itself is truly one of those places that over-delivers on all expectations – the people are wonderful and there are relaxation, romance and adventure opportunities in abundance.

If you’re looking through the options, just choose this one. I’ll be amazed if anywhere in Santo can touch this place. I’ve spent many years travelling across the world and have never been so impressed by a place, the hosts, staff or location. Ticks all the boxes and defines some boxes that other places can only aspire too (and then ticks them too)

Thanks S&S and all the staff. We’ll DEFINITELY be back.

Room Tip: They're all on the sand and a few steps from the water - can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
Hidden Cove Eco Retreat
#5 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#3 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Property: Barrier Beach House
Address: Lot 11 Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#3 Family Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrier Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barrier Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing