We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel run by Great Manager and staff.”
Review of The Espiritu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Espiritu
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just spent 12 night at The Espiritu, in Luganville on Santo. The Hotel has been upgraded recently and the work continues. Stayed in the Family room with two bathrooms. Very spacious with a very comfortable bed. This place is without doubt the best accomodation in the town. The manager, Rayman is only a young bloke who is very driven and continues to improve the Hotel. He is very friendly, approachable and can't do enough to help. ( also has a great dog ) He has plans to put in a pool.

The staff were fantastic, the complementary breakfast was plentifull, the scuba diving wash room was well appointed and the shared kitchen complete with fridge was great.

I would highly recommend the Hotel to people wishing to stay in Luganville.

Geoff and Alisa
Sydney
Australia

Room Tip: Family rooms at rear have two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located in the main street of Luganville right in the middle of town is the Espiritu Hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. Its was a fairly standard western style hotel motel with all of the amenities that you would expect. Breakfast was included which was a continental style help yourself with toast and fruit and brewed coffee. The young manager was very helpful and friendly as were all of the staff. We borrowed snorkelling gear from the motel for the duration of the stay. Being in the centre of town it can be noisy because the streets below were full of hundreds of tiny taxis, which were the main form of transport. The motel was a handy location to use a base for touristy activities.

Room Tip: For an evening meal like the locals visit the markets down the road and sit at one of the dining tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at The Espiritu in Louganville from 15th August 2013. It was the last five nights of our three week stay on Santo. The room was bright, clean and comfortable with a great King sized bed and a balcony that overlooked the street and out over
the Segond channel.

The Espiritu is smack bang in the centre of Louganville, and we had expected there might not be much peace and quiet. However, the rooms have aircon and when the balcony doors are closed there was very little if any noise, with the exception of one night when the locals were celebrating a big win in the soccer, and partied hard at the local night club till...maybe midnight.

It is close to the few shops, banks and restaurants, so you can try a different place for meals each day. There is a chinese restaurant on the ground floor which has an excellent menu. Breakfast is included in the room cost and you can eat as much as you want. There is also a small kitchen where you can prepare your own basic meals if you wish.

There is no pool at the Espiritu (yet), but with all the activities there are to experience in Santo, by the time you get back to the Hotel each day, all you need is that bed. And, as the Espiritu is centrally located, it is a great spot to organise all your activities, like Diving with any of the Dive centers, trips to the Blue holes and the Millenium cave, Million dollar point, Local markets and much more.
A rare luxury in Santo is a TV. But the Espirtu has a flat screen in each room and although there is only 1 station, you can borrow DVDs from the reception. If you get bored with that the Hotel has a games room with a huge flat screen with Foxtel, XBox and Playstation with Guitar and Drum hero as well as other games. There is a pool table and lots of board games to keep you entertained. The Espiritu also has the fastest internet (free WiFi) on Santo.

The best thing about the Espiritu is definitely the staff. They are not only friendly and helpfull but go out of their way to make you feel at home. The Owner / Manager (Raymond) is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. Raymond is full of helpfull advice and has the best sence of humour. If you start a conversation with him over breakfast it can turn into lunch and then dinner without even realising so much time has gone past. He is a wealth of knowledge about Santo and its lifestyle. Being a local born and bred but educated in Australia, he has an amazing rapore with all his guests no matter what age or nationality.

We were left stranded in Louganville and missed our connection home after a mix up with our flights. But thanks to Raymond going above and beyond the call of his duty, we were abe to be rescheduled the very next day at no extra cost. He even managed to get the airline to pay for our extra nights accommodation and meals. I have not met a more dedicated young man.

An added bonus is "Tilly" Raymonds puppy. She is a bit of a mixture but absolutely loves everyone..and it seems everyone loves her too. In reality it's Tilly that runs the show, and the guests all look for her first thing every morning.

If youre not looking for a 5 star resort where you can lie around the pool sipping cocktails all day, then this is the perfect place. If you are, then you're probably best not to plan a trip to Santo. but if you are going to Santo then definitely give the Espiritu a go. We will certainly go back.

Mandy and Chris Harman
Blacksmiths Beach NSW Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketoknow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We didn't know what to expect from "The Espiritu" and we were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff.

It started with quite a long chat with the manager who gave us plenty of suggestions where to go to and what to do. The staff helped us so much - we were surprised every day. They did so much more than what you can possibly expect. Overall the atmosphere in this hotel is amazing. I never stayed anywhere else in the world where the people were as nice as here. People here are nice by heart and not by order.

The hotel itself offers all you need. It is not a 5* hotel, but very clean, has A/C, fridge, Wi-Fi (which you rarely find on Santo), nice balconies and so on. It is definitely a very good deal. On top of all that you can benefit from the good connections "The Espiritu" has to people on the island - meaning: you can book your dives in-house (very friendly guy!); they organize tours with the best fisherman you can think of, they also do car rental (all cars are brand new!!!), an excellent restaurant is 10 meters away...

If you plan to do lots of activities and get to know local people, I couldn't think of a better place on Santo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are looking for someplace original and want to mix with real, friendly Vanuatuan people, the The Espiritu hotel is the central place in Luganville. It is well located on the island of Espiritu Santo and provides a good base for many adventure options including diving, snorkelling or a drive around the coast to the many beautiful beaches. It is also adjacent to many good restaurants. Our room with its balcony was good value for the money and was complimented by the very obliging and friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We hired a car for Espiritu Car Rentals in July 2013 for our family of 5 for six Days. We looked at the other rental options but could not beat the Value, Service and Quality of Espiritu Car Rentals. The Manager also has a huge knowledge of the island. We did several trips up to Champagne Bay and loved the flexible of not have to use the tour operators. Thank for you great service and we have recommended you to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janyCanterbury_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

So first off, when travelling in what is essentially a third world country, don't expect first world quality. The staff were great, friendly and super helpful. They really made my stay rewarding and enjoyable.

The room I stayed in (delux balcony with air conditioning) was large and comfortable, and mostly clean (some mould/staining in the bathroom etc). There was no hot tap for the basin, but the shower was on a flexible pipe so could be used. The high tech plug for the basin refused to work and showed its age like everything and there were odd holes in the walls here and there.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was basic but fine. None of the plastic dining tables were washed during my stay.

The Espiritu shares its campus with a resturant (great food) and a couple of tourist operators (very helpful).

The location is in "central" Luganville which has both positive and negative points. Good was being able to choose between a couple of places to eat, bad was Luganville is a bit of a dump. The people are super friendly but with a minimum wage of just v300, it's a poor country and it shows.

Santo is a beautiful place IF you get out of town so if you stay here, rent a car for most of your stay or plan for excursions every day.

In summary, would I recommend it? Probably, with the caveats above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBWOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 9 in Luganville
131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Luganville
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo
Hotel Santo
#8 of 9 in Luganville
50 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#5 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Espiritu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Espiritu

Address: Main Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo P.O Box 133, Vanuatu (Formerly Apex Garden Hotel)
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Espiritu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Espiritu is a boutique hotel and car hire business in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and is only minutes away from cafes, shops and dive operators. Here at The Espiritu, we offer modern and contemporary rooms that reflect a home away from home. We provide accommodation with rooms to suit all travelers – divers, families, couples, groups and even long term stays. Your second home has never been easier to find! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Espiritu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Espiritu Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing