We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modernised and Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Espiritu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Espiritu
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modernised and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed one night at The Espiritu while in Santo and the western style accommodation was a welcome relief on our trip. Very clean room, tv, wifi and good breaky. The General Manager was very welcoming and helpful and the hotel is right next to Aquamarine Dive who were also great. Unfortunately the rooms weren't sound proof and it was a little noisy by the main road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    54
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
64
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on short notice. This hotel is a great place to base yourself on Santo if you are looking to explore the island rather than looking for a 'resort location' type of hotel or resort.

The prices are very reasonable. We would have loved a deluxe room but these were all booked out so we stayed in the superior room. It was great for us as we really wanted a clean room with airconditioning and comfy beds - it hit all the spots. The breakfast is continental and was fine for us - really enjoyed the filter coffee. We were able to watch the Wallabies get smashed on the big screen tv in the activities room down near reception.

Ray who manages and owns the hotel is great - laid back, helpful, full of lots of local knowledge and really friendly - nothing is a problem for him and we really enjoyed chatting with him throughout our stay. Then there is Miss Tilly .... boy oh boy is she just the most gorgeous dog .... be careful she is quite the heartbreaker and provides lots of entertainment.

Cars can also be rented from this hotel - but it would probably be good to book ahead for this.

The staff are all lovely - particularly Molly who was lovely to chat with and find out more about island life and the local culture.

Ray, we were sad to leave - thank you for the lift to the airport and being such good company while we were there.

Room Tip: Book early and get the deluxe room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We really felt comfortable at the espiritu, perfect location for our diving trip. Staff were friendly, Tilly the puppy beautiful and playful, rooms were large and clean. Only downfall was our double bed was just 2 singles pushed together. We do however recommend the espiritu, especially if u want to be right in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Espiritu for 8 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful, housekeeping was very clean, the room was all it claimed to be in terms of size, cleanliness and facilities. It is an easy walk to restaurants and dive shops, and a great central location for organising tours, but despite its central location it was quite at night, allowing a good nights sleep.

Our only disappointment was the lack of tropical beaches nearby, which we were aware of before we left but really only appreciated once we got there. There are not really any nice beaches in town, you need to travel about 20 minutes up the cost to find resorts with beaches attached, and then you give up a lot of autonomy and choice when it comes to exploring different restaurants and shops, and being picked up for tours. If your focus is being at the center of the action then this is a great choice, if you also want some relaxing beach time we suggest you also book a few days on Oyster Island to relax after your adventure filled stay at the Espiritu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilda275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luganville, Sanma, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have my Inbound travel agent business "Wrecks to Rainforest" right in the front of The Espiritu Hotel, located in the best location in Luganville town, so handy to go all the shops/bars/restaurant.

Rooms were all renovated recently with nice lounge area & reception area and lockable diving gear washing space for the scuba divers.

Prices are very reasonable, the owner manager Rayman is always kind and helpful, staff are very friendly.

They have car hires, Yummy Chinese restaurant & Cafe "Ocean King Restaurant" on their ground floor, next to my office, I get their nice Cappuccino every morning :)

I highly recommend them for Scuba divers, diving groups, business trips, single travellers & young travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santomarakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Espiritu for our honeymoonin March and I was overwhelmed by the service at the hotel. I have worked in the travel industry for over 4 years now and it was the most impressive mid class hotel that we have stayed at.
Raymond the manager/owner went above and beyond our expectations and helped us book our day tours, taxis and gave good dinner recommendations.
It was great having access to the communal kitchen for those nights we had big days touring and where too tired to leave the hotel!
The location for the hotel was perfect, its in the main street so we could walk to the supermarket & restaurants.
At first I was a bit shocked as there is not a pool in the hotel but we were so busy doing the day tours that Raymond organised for us that we didn’t even need a pool!
The rooms where generous size and the cleaners always kept them & the hotel in general very tidy.
Espirito Santo was one of the favourite places we have travelled to and a big part of our enjoyment was due to the awesome hotel, A special thanks to Raymond @ The Espiritu

From Kristen Hayward - Australia

Room Tip: We got a room with a balcony which was nice to chill out on in the afternoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

After 3rd world culture shock tears from my wife, from disembarking to Louganville main street, Raymon & the Espiritu staff welcomed us & installed us in our top floor, Air Conditioned balcony room & continued to turn the experience around to the point where by the 3rd day of our week, (she), we were already planning our return next year. Ok, its not physically 5 star, (I can't afford nor want such though my wife would love it), but this is SANTO, a REAL VANUATU CULTURAL EXPERIENCE. Espiritu has the best, non pretentious staff I've met, is fresh, neat, tidy, open, airy, has well presented, large communal eating & entertainment areas with a pool/snooker table & large TV & lounges nice gardens & Functional WiFi. Our Deluxe Balcony Room was spacious, immaculately presented daily, had A/C, a great bed, hot shower, wall shelf, desk & chair & good size TV/Video Player combo. Large glass sliders onto a spacious tiled balcony with comfy cane chairs & glass topped table allowed breeze into the unit, as well as a wonderful place for relaxed, arms length observation of the dusty & sometimes frenetic Main street activity below & the view across the water.
Rayman & the staff are amazingly friendly, helpful & effective in their service, especially in sorting out our travel dilemmas of disappearing excess baggage allowances, changed flight times & finally, seamlessly organising an extra night in our room on last minute notification of Air Vanuatu Moving our 6 mth booked & pre-confirmed Vila tickets to the next day.
All in all, a haven of cool & calm respite after wonderful rustic & sweaty adventures,, !!Watch out for Black Holes in the towns Footpaths,, (& Roads)!! & have a great time,, We Did.

Room Tip: Top floor, South Facing rooms access scarce valuable breezes, 301 on East corner particularly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#3 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Espiritu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Espiritu

Property: The Espiritu
Address: Main Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo P.O Box 133, Vanuatu (Formerly Apex Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luganville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Espiritu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Espiritu is a boutique hotel and car hire business in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and is only minutes away from cafes, shops and dive operators. Here at The Espiritu, we offer modern and contemporary rooms that reflect a home away from home. We provide accommodation with rooms to suit all travelers – divers, families, couples, groups and even long term stays. Your second home has never been easier to find! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Espiritu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Espiritu Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing