We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation and fantastic hospitality”
Review of The Espiritu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Espiritu
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My Partner and i stayed at The Espiritu for 6 days 2 weeks ago and loved the newly renovated good, clean accommodation. The hotel is smack-bang in the middle of town so dont have to walk far to get to anything. The hotel staff were polite, friendly people and were happy to help out where they could. We both highly reccommend this hotel to anyone and should stay in the duluxe balcony room. Simon who manages the Espiritu was AWESOME, he invited us out on his boat and took us out to Oyster Island and up the river to a local swimming hole, we met the locals and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you Simon for your hospitality and some local fun.

Room Tip: The deluxe balcony rooms are freshly renovated and on the top floor. The balcony looks right over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Clean comfortable no fuss accommodation in Luganville that is just a short ride away from all the best beaches in Santo. Simon & Rayman are to be commended for the friendly and attentive service their hotel provides to guests. Simply a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The room we had on the 3rd floor with a balcony and views of the harbor would be hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Espiritu in Luganville, and overall received much better service and accommodation quality than you would in Australia for the same price. Of particular note are the friendliness and availability of the staff.

-What we liked:

Simon and his staff are helpful and enthusiastic. They will arrange tours and provide advice, and just generally give you the time of day and are always smiling.
The room with balcony we stayed in was functional, clean, and tastefully arranged. Comfortable bedding.
The hotel is close to restaurants and shops.

-What we liked less:

The room rate includes breakfast, which is good, but the breakfast itself was rather bland: cheap bread, Chinese peanut butter (!), Indonesian instant coffee and Lipton tea. We do not expect luxury, but why not provide fresh fruit for instance, in a country where it is produced in abundance? Or some of the (very affordable) croissants and pains an chocolat served at the nearby French restaurant? And please, please, fresh coffee (Vanuatu produces excellent organic coffee, it makes sense to buy local)!

Luganville itself is hardly charming, in fact it is rather ramshackle and unappealing, consisting of one grimy main street of little architectural interest. There are no beaches or amenities in town. It is just a base to explore the rest of the island. However, there are resorts nearby where you can just be by the beach, also have a pool etc, so you may want to explore these alternative options. Also, the street gets noisy, so you may want to ask for a room facing the other side of the building.

The balconies should have mosquito screens! It's impossible to keep the windows open and you are then forced to use energy-hungry AC

Overall, I recommend this hotel subject to the all the above comments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltalini, Owner at The Espiritu, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi Fionn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review! It was pleasure having you guys over and I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable time in Santo despite the weather. It is also really nice to know that you enjoyed our company as much as we did yours and I will be sure to let our staff know of your praises.

It is also very kind of you to commend our service and accommodation over properties in Australia. This really helps affirm the work we have been putting into this small family business and the overall direction we would like to head towards.

I am sorry to hear that our continental breakfast was not to your liking. There is however a few things that I would like to clarify. The bread that we serve for breakfast is sourced from 1 of 2 bakeries in Santo so we are quite limited to our options. The ingredients in the bread contain much less preservatives than the bread you would normally have in Australia and I have had great feedback about the bread thus far. We normally serve Sanitarium peanut butter along with Cottees jam and Western Star portion butter as condiments. On this particular occasion, the Sanitarium peanut butter was out of stock in the supermarket so I was obliged to serve an alternative brand. The coffee we serve for breakfast is Nescafe blend 43 and not Indonesian instant coffee. Our daily breakfast consists of a selection of cereal including muesli, toast with condiments, fruit juice and tea & coffee.

Regarding the noise that you experienced during your stay, that may have been largely due to the weeklong independence celebrations which has brought a lot more people into town for the festivities. As part of the recent renovation work carried out, we have had a great deal of emphasis on noise proofing to the balcony windows and doors.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we really appreciate all of your positive comments. We will take on board all the suggestions you have mentioned above and in particular, your advice on fresh fruit for breakfast and mosquito screening for our Deluxe Balcony rooms. These will be implemented shortly.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Espiritu for 8 nights in July for a holiday. Our suite was on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the town. The hotel and room were very clean, tidy and modernly designed. We had a amazingly comfortable king size bed (slept better here than at home!). Our room facilities included clean ensuite bathroom, air con, wi fi access, lounge, large flat screen TV and a daily turn down service. We were very satisfied with the room!

The hotel is located at the centre of the main street and proved to be a good starting point for exploring the island (which is beautiful!). There are plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance and the hotel also has a car rental service. In the morning we enjoyed the newly renovated breakfast area with continental breakfast. The hotel also has a modern recreational room with big screen TV, pool table and kitchen for guests. There is a restaurant / cafe that operates on the ground floor with good chinese/western food if you feel like eating in.

The two brothers who run the hotel are great guys and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Having not much of an idea about how to fill up our time in Santo they were very helpful in organizing tours, and pointing us in the right direction to make the most of our holiday. We had so much fun (blue holes, beaches, fishing, swimming, hiking etc..) we definantly plan to come back soon! Miss it already!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed on the top floor of the Espiritu Hotel for 5 nights by myself in June 2012 and apprecaited the cleanlisness of the hotel and the fact that they gave me the 5 nights for the cost of 4 nights.

I also apprecaited the comfortable bed, air-con, privacy and the relaxing view of the harbour.

The cost of staying there was reasonable and the young gentlemen managing the hotel are very welcoming and friendly and have a special interest in the comfort of their guests.

The food in the indepentantly run restaurant attached to the hotel is great and the staff helpful.

I travel to different islands in the Pacific every three or four weeks and I plan to return to the Espiritu next time I head into Santo. Altogether a pleasant experience. - tonywall@adventist.org.au

Room Tip: I would recommend the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed at the Espiritu for two nights (13 - 14 June 2012) in a top floor balcony room and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room itself was very nice whilst the management team and staff could not have been nicer nor more helpful.

As an example, I had some diving mates come over for beers one evening and without any prompting Simon (one of the management team) knocked on the door and brought in a couple more comfy chairs for us to use on the balcony. Very thoughtful and very professional.

The hotel is in a great central location which is useful for Allen's dive shop just up the road as well as the few restaurants in town.

I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms on the top flor are really pleasant and have a nice view of the bay. Although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 8 days at The Espiritu and had a good overall experience. For the price, I don't think there would be any other accommodation in Luganville that would top it for the style of accommodation (hotel v. resort).

The two running the show, Simon and Raymond, were obviously working hard to rennovate the hotel to a decent standard. They were apologetic about the noise being made and did their best to keep the noise minimal during the days were stuck inside due to the rain. It was these small gestures, along with the large amount of information they shared that demonstrated that they had pride in their work and were genuinely interested in guests having a good stay.

The hotel is pretty much right in the centre of the main street and is a short walk to a few restaurants, shops, tourist services, and diving centres. The breakfast included was simple but adequate given the location (continental - cereals, toast, coffee/tea) and the facilities were kept clean. We didn't get to try the separately run, but attached restaurant facilities at the front, but seemed generally well-received by those we had spoken to. There is a car-hire service at the hotel, and whilst there is no pool, there is an entertainment room to be open soon (billiards table, video games, TV). The rooms were tidy, basic, but comfortable. There is some street noise on the weekends - if that is a problem, the back rooms may be better. With air-con and comfortable beds, we weren't too disturbed.

This was the last place we stayed during our journey through Vanuatu, and it certainly was an enjoyable experience. Thanks Simon and Raymong for your work.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Luke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 9 in Luganville
131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Luganville
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo
Hotel Santo
#8 of 9 in Luganville
50 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#5 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Espiritu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Espiritu

Address: Main Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo P.O Box 133, Vanuatu (Formerly Apex Garden Hotel)
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Espiritu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Espiritu is a boutique hotel and car hire business in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and is only minutes away from cafes, shops and dive operators. Here at The Espiritu, we offer modern and contemporary rooms that reflect a home away from home. We provide accommodation with rooms to suit all travelers – divers, families, couples, groups and even long term stays. Your second home has never been easier to find! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Espiritu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Espiritu Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing