We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base to dive from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village de Santo Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good base to dive from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The village de Santo resort is located just outside of town - 15 minute brisk walk or a short cab ride. (A cab into the town cost only 200 Vatu). There are 400 cabs in Santo - so don't be shy hail one and you'll meet a friendly local and get you to wherever you want to go with no fuss.

The rooms at the resort are situated in a U-shaped complex with a pool in the centre. The pool is a great way to relax in the afternoon, but depending on the guests and their children, it can become quiet a noisy spot!

The rooms have two floors with the upstairs being a loft where the main bed is located.

Rooms are very clean and well appointed. There is no aircon but the room was really well ventilated so it wasn't missed.

The resort has a nice restaurant that serves a good mix of food - and the vegetarian options were excellent. The service is good but laid back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    79
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
107
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A mate and I have just spent a week between Christmas and New Years at the Village deSanto so we could do some diving on the Coolidge.

The resort is a five minute drive out of town, it is small and the units are set close together, but it worked well with the lush tropical plantings between and around. The rooms were clean, but the bedding was certainly not top quality and new bath towels each day would be nice. It was also a surprise to find that poolside towels cost $10Au to hire! The rooms were not air conditioned, but there was ample cross ventilation and two ceiling fans.

The restaurant was clean and the food was good, with just enough variety for a one-week stay.

This short holiday was made even better by the other guests from Australia and Europe. The pool was a great place to relax and chat as was the Chief's Bar.

If I had one final suggestion to Bev and Nabil it would be that key staff being absent or locals booked for services and then not turning up may be quaintly referred to as just the Island way, but to a guest it can be inconvenient and annoying. Case at point- pre-booked transfer back to airport did not turn up, so a dodgy taxi ride was arranged- sure we got there, but I shouldn't have had to worry about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It is so hard to respond to all reviews as you can understand, hence it has taken awhile, my apologies .
I thinks its important to address some of the feed back as it may confuse other guests.

Bedding- On the mezzanine level we have a luxury queen bed. On the ground floor the choice is single bed or fold out sofa. Our suites are not advertised , promoted or priced to reflect anything different.
It is the guests choice to pay for there own room or share.Your booking was last minute and
we were fully booked, you and your friend were lucky enough to get the last Suite.

Regarding the transfer- This was extremely annoying for us as well. Unfortunately a cruise ship got diverted from Fiji due to a cyclone. All tour operators went into panic and sent buses to services the ships passengers. Our Tour operator sent you that taxi not us.

Pool Towels- No charge they are blue and white striped. The one off fee to hire a beach towel blue towels for the duration of your stay is what you were charged.
This covers the cost for Laundry.You can have as a fresh towel beach everyday. We had to implement this as our pool towels were going out with divers, to caves etc. Some never returned.

Just to finish we did enjoy having you two diving buddies and I know our guests did too.
We hope to see you again and book early!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place to stay for a few nights. You dont have ocean views which was a shame, very close to the road and there is a pool. The rooms are very spacious and clean, great if you have a young family. When we arrived at the airport the driver left without us, then we had to go and find our own way to the hotel in a squashy taxi, which squashed my dress, which was a bit of a shame late at night. Breakfast was good and sufficient, they even had pancakes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgui3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 12 days at Village de Santo the staff are very friendly and helpful. Bev and Nabil are wonderful hosts. The village is central to most activities and day trips to other Islands. The rooms are comfortable with fans. The is also free wifi so the kids were happy face booking to stay in touch with their friends

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyb0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just spent 8 nights at the Village de Santo Dec 2012. The apartments are clean and spacious. The staff are wonderful we do agree everyone should have a Bev. Bev and Nabil made us feel very welcome and offered good advice on sightseeing trips. Daveo and Barry no coke also outstanding great milk shakes. It is in a good position about 10 -15 mins walk into town or 200vt in a taxi. We dived with Santo island dive all boat dives and lunch included, the millennium cave trip is a must isn't it Bev? Buffet breakfast good and included always a bonus. Afternoons at the chiefs bar a nice relaxing end to the day. Would not hesitate in returning thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just had a lovely week staying at the Village de Santo. Modern apartments, very spacious, pool and on site dining. We had 4 days diving and the Village has a handy secure washdown and drying facility for your gear. Pick up for all trips at the resort and a 15 min stroll into the centre of town. Or a 2 minute taxi for 200vatu. The Village staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyShirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Village De Santo for 8 nights in October this year. We had read great reviews of the accommodation on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Bev, Nabil and their team are just wonderful, nothing is too much trouble – even offering me ginger and honey tea when I was feeling under the weather.

The apartments are spotless and spacious and just what we were after. Bev is a whizz at organising and has brilliant local knowledge, we were thrilled with how quickly and easily she suggested trips for us and organised them at the drop of a hat. We had a fantastic holiday and most of it is down to Bev’s knack for second guessing what we wanted to fill our days with and the ease of getting involved with trips and island life.

Food in the restaurant was excellent – the best we had on the island – and it was great to have real coffee in the morning with our pancakes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village de Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village de Santo Resort

Property: Village de Santo Resort
Address: Rue Higginson | Sanma Province, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village de Santo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, contemporary and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Village De Santo Resort is perfect for a sun-kissed holiday, catering for divers, business travelers and adventure travelers Deluxe Village Suites are prefect for families, couples or solo travelers. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Luganville town and 15 from Airport. Recharge in one of 17 beautifully appointed open-plan luxury suites, complete with queen bed, modern bathroom and fully screened timber louvers and ceiling fans. Above all, Village De Santo places utmost importance on supporting and integrating its resort with local communities. Guests experience everything this tropical island has to offer, while feeling good that their stay with us directly benefits this beautiful island community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village de Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village De Santo Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing