We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place with clean rooms , ocean views & a relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deco Stop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deco Stop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canungra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely place with clean rooms , ocean views & a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed here for one week in the dorm rooms and thoroughly enjoyed my time here. As a female solo traveler it's essential to have simple amenities like a hot shower and clean bed but deco lodge is a budget travellers dream. The shared rooms are equipped with a small bar fridge , kettle and small bench top , small wardrobe compartments , night light for reading in your bed and storage area. There is free wifi available in the common areas which overlook the lush tropical garden and infinity pool , a fully functioning restaurant with free continental breakfast . It's clean , well maintained and the staff are professional , knowledgable . They offer local knowledge for tours , airport transfers , scooters for hire and buggys . It's a place that you come to relax and Ben and Kim ( the owners) do what they do exceptionally well .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Lara and thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get the chance to maybe come back sometime and share our little bit of paradise again. You know one trip a never enough!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    47
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
74
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is a gem on Espiritu Santo and perfect for those that enjoy a quiet, relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Perched up on the hill, the views over the Segond Channel are stunning from either the pool/ restaurant/ bar area or the room verandahs.

The food is absolutely fantastic and we found there was no need to go anywhere else. Daily changes to the menu provide plenty of variety to carry us through the week. The steaks, lobster and butterscotch puddings are to die for.

Ben, Kim and their staff are always smiling and just can't do enough to make your stay very pleasant. Our double room was basic, clean and comfortable with daily flowers adding a nice touch. Whilst you do hear people moving in neighbouring rooms and verandahs, it is not too much of a problem. The Lodge touts itself as budget accommodation but there is plenty of quality about the presentation of the place.

It is a great spot for accessing the diving on some walls, reefs and the SS President Coolidge. A locked caged area for dive gear just makes life easy and there are scooters/buggies to hire for a tour of the island. Luganville is a short walk, although there is the hill to walk up on the way back. Alternative, you can laze around the decking and access the free wi-fi to catch up with other news.

Highly recommended and we will certainly return to stay another time.

Room Tip: Double rooms are quieter and have a verandahs overlooking the beautiful gardens and Segond Channel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Hi Mark. Thanks for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We're very pleased to hear you'll be back and we look forward to seeing you........soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our group traveled to this paradise in 2007, we were assisting at the only hospital delivering babies, this was a wonderful experience, the hotel was adequate and comfortable. The dining was good, no bad meals. If you Scuba they are the place.

Room Tip: in 2007 the rooms are like dorms, several beds beside each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Chrissy and thanks for the comments....we have done quite a lot of changes and renovations since you're stay in 2007 with the previous owner. We now have more air conditioned double rooms and a couple of triple rooms. All new décor and linens etc......very fresh and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
727 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

First, the location. It's a short walk/drive from the main shopping strip of Luganville, but with the most glorious panoramic vista that you can imagine. It nestles into the hill behind an imposing walled entrance that practically guarantees not only security but peace and quiet. Indeed, the outstanding feature of the Lodge is the serenity you experience the moment you walk in past the car park within the wall, through a carved wooden archway, along the further carved wood features highlighting local craftsmanship, to the soaring cathedral roof which half-shades the infinity pool and the jaw-dropping vista that unfolds below you. A rather large and white house partially spoils the unfolding vista to your left below, but the remainder more than compensates. The rooms appear not to be at all air-conditioned, but are enclosed with fly-screens and ceiling fans. Apart from the outstanding vista that continues to inspire, you'll be overwhelmed by the utterly helpful, friendly and anxious-to-please staff. As for the food, what can I say other than that it was superb! The menu is surprisingly wide-ranging and reasonably-priced, with an emphasis, naturally, on seafood, but pasta and meat/chicken dishes also feature. Wines on Luganville are not cheap, but the Tusker beer is highly recommended to quench even the deepest thirst! The small "boutique" in the Lodge sells souvenir "Coolidge 70" T-shirts and Polo shirts, some (very crudely carved) wooden artifacts (mainly pigs and turtles), some stone carvings reminiscent of the wooden ones that line the footpath to the restaurant/swimming pool, and some original Coca Cola bottles retrieved from WWII, when Luganville hosted upwards of 100,000 American servicemen and women (Guadalcanal is not too far from here, and the Battle of the Coral Sea was the first major Japanese defeat in WWII). For my money, Deco Stop Lodge offers the best value-for-money - not to say high levels of creature comfort - that you'll find in Luganville and on its island of Espiritu Santo.

Room Tip: The ones on the right don't have the large white house immediately below spoiling the panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccorquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always applying new little touches here and there and with our great team of staff we hope to continually supply a high level of service to ensure your stay is remembered. We'd love to see you back in our little bit of paradise some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viti Levu, Fiji
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at Decor Stop for 6days for work. Lovely place in a fantastic location, clean and efficient. The staff were fantastic. Philly looked after us very well and Rosie's magical creations in the kitchen were amazing. These women made the place feel like a home away from away with a master chef! Sleep was a little challenging because our fellow travellers staying at the Lodge worked till late and so were up in the dining room till late when the rest of us were settling into bed. Apart from that, I would recommend Deco Stop Lodge, it is clean, spacious, fantastic location but their secret weapon is Philly, the best Charge Waitress/Manager (the bosses were away for a few days when we arrived) and Rosie, who's meals I still dream off to this day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
AAHHH you have discovered our secret weapons....Thank you for the great comments about our staff and we are very proud of each and everyone of them.....they are a fantastic team to work with and we appreciate the extra miles they go to make everyone's stay a memorable one......that's hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have been coming to Santo regularly over the last couple of years. Every trip we dine at Deco Stop. The meals are excellent and match the beautiful views and setting. Last week's poulet fish and tropical salsa was delicious. Thanks to you Kim and Ben and your friendly staff.... I'll be back
Gill Garchow

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Gil and thank you for your most complimentary review. We are very proud of the efforts our team put together to make sure everyone's experience is one to remember and one to recommend. It is always a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to the next time you visit. Cheers Ben & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sorry this is a very late review, but I have just started using TripAdvisor. Its been so long I can't even put the proper dates in the scroll box.

I stayed at Deco Stop Lodge with my volunteer partner in late AUGUST 2012. After spending 2 months teaching English in a very remote village on Malekula with no running water or electricity, we wanted to treat ourselves for our 2 week break. The owners are lovely, and Kim gave us so many tips about places to go in Santo. It was great talking to fellow Aussies again.

This establishment is on top of a small hill, and has a breathtaking view over the bay, a beautiful restaurant/pool area to relax and eat, really good food (try the oysters), a lovely atmosphere and such friendly, beautiful people as staff (as all Ni-Vans usually are!). So laid-back, but very efficient. Pool was a good size. The place was surrounded by beautiful gardens. Breakfast was really nice, especially the fresh fruit. They also offer a laundry service, which was great after hand washing for 2 months.
We stayed in a Quad Room, and it had all you needed when travelling in Santo. The hot shower was amazing! Room was nice & cool, fresh towels & sheets, the bed was very comfy. Away from all the noise in Luganville, so very peaceful. It's only a 10 - 15 min walk to the main street of Luganville. If you don't feel like walking, taxi's are so cheap, only 150VT one way (around $1.50 AUS) anywhere around town, and from what I remember, staff can organize taxi's for you.

Unfortunately we over indulged a bit too much over our 5 day stay (shopping, good food, alcohol, hairdresser, nice toiletries etc), and had to go somewhere else for the rest of our break (extreme budget, thank god for western union and generous parents for my survival in Santo). But I wanted to express my extreme gratitude to Ben & Kim for offering a much cheaper 'volunteer' rate to me and my volunteer partner when we checked out. It was extremely challenging as then 19 year olds, living overseas for 6 months as volunteer teachers out in the sticks of Vanuatu in very basic conditions, including managing our money. This was very very generous of them, as they are running their own business. Unfortunately we could not continue staying, but I can not say thank-you enough for their kindness.

I will be returning to Vanuatu next year with my boyfriend to visit my old placement, and we will be having a holiday in Santo before and after my placement visit, as I prefer Santo over Vila. Less tourists, more untouched beauty! Deco Stop will be my first choice for accommodation, going to try the double room, they looked so nice!

Looking forward to staying again, I believe this will be one of many trips to Vanuatu, as its almost like a second home to me. Recommended & spoken highly of Deco Stop Lodge (and Ben & Kim) to family and friends.

Thank-you Deco Stop for making me feel so clean & relaxed again,
Maddy :)

Room Tip: Any room that looks over the bay. But I think they all do anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddyyyyy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DecoStop, Owner at Deco Stop Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review....we remember you coming in from the outer Islands and we admire the work you did whilst in Vanuatu. So glad we could be a little oasis for you and we'll definitely look forward to seeing you back......all the girls are still here as well.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
0.0 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.5 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#3 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#4 of 11 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco Stop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Stop Lodge

Property: Deco Stop Lodge
Address: Hospital Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deco Stop Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short stoll up the hill from the town centre, the Deco Stop commands one of the very best views in Santo. There you can enjoy the delights from the Narcosis Bar & Restaurant which surrounds the infinity pool. The staff are only too happy to tend your every need and make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Deco Stop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Stop Lodge Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing