We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Espiritu(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aore Island Resort(Aore Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Lope Lope Lodge(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrier Beach Resort(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
65
52
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
52
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager davegreen lawndolphin roomaore adventure sportsfan cooled roomclean and tidy roomssalt water poolserviced dailytaxi ridea great place to staywelcome reliefspent nearlybook exchangepool sideouter islandsclose to townconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

had a 5 night stay while I spent a few days diving around Santo

I found the resort staff friendly and helpful. Meals were adequate and breakfast was included in the price. There are more upmarket eateries in Santo but the standard of food and the price was fine by me as I ate a number of meals at the resort and didn't want to be paying top dollar for a snack.

To get into town simply go out onto the road and flag down a passing taxi or minibus. You'll be in town within 5 minutes.

The beach in front of the resort is a black sand beach and the water was a bit murky when I was there but saying that it was pleasant to wander along the beach and encounter friendly locals with their outrigger canoes and charming kids.

My room had a good bathroom and was clean and air-conditioned. The kitchenette was appreciated although I barely used it.

Be warned that there's no TV and so in the evening you'll need to make your own entertainment. I consumed the books I brought with me fairly quickly and to my horror found that the nearly town of Luganville didn't have a book shop. As a suggestion to the Resort's managers, an informal "book exchange" in the dining area where people could swap unwanted paperbacks would be appreciated. A nearby resort called DecoStop has something similar.

I thought the resort was good value for money and well located. I'd recommend the resort for anyone looking to spend time in Santo and relax a bit at the same time. As a diver I found the resort a great base for my dive holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inflight_meal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at beachfront in September 2008.
In short, we had a touch screen camera and iPhone stolen, slept with cockroaches and were treated poorly by staff. For full story read below.

I was struck with my first problem within 15 minutes of arriving.
Apparently the room was not ready, which was not a big deal; we just sat out on the porch and had drinks while our bags were being watched by the reception staff.
The bus driver that had brought us from the airport approached me asking for money for the trip. However, I had already paid the owner Dave Cross for the transfer; I informed the driver of this. He seemed very jumpy and nervous. I didn't think anything of it at the time, but when I went to grab my camera from my bag later that night, I realized that it was gone, along with my iPhone.

I have the strong suspicion that it was taken by the woman at reception. I approached the owner, Dave Cross about this issue. He regarded it as no big problem and provided no assistance. I found out that this bus service had been working for him for a number of years. All very dodgy. I really would have appreciated ANY assistance in trying to find my $500 camera and iPhone...

The room itsself was not too bad. There were a number of large cockroaches, however. When I informed staff of this, they made no attempt to assist... they just handed me a can of Raid.

There is not much of a beach off the shore. The grass is all dug up/ dead between you and the ocean, making for a fairly unpleasing view.

I've stayed at a number of places, but have never before had anything stolen or been made to feel uncomfortable by staff.

There are a few very nice places in Santo, check it out before you go!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 26, 2011

Talk about a bad trip....a touch screen camera and i phone stolen, room not ready, treated badly by staff, room full of cockroaches, dishonest bus driver and to top it off an unpleasant view.

Don't believe a word of it......

The real problem here is the guests alleged a camera and i phone was stolen. Dave Cross the Manager offered to take them to the police station to file a police report so that it could be investigated. They didn't want to do that.

All they wanted was $500US cash compensation for the alleged stolen property which was refused by the manager. They then demanded $500US cash which was again refused. The resort staff had no idea whether the camera or i phone even existed and if they did there was no way of finding out who stole it without getting the police involved which they didn't want.....why? Either way Beachfront Resort does not cover losses of theft regadless that is what Travel Insurance is for but you need a police report to make a claim.

I think they conjoured up a bad review to get even with Dave Cross for doing his job . This is not a bona fide review and it should be removed from Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I booked my accommodation and transfers direct with the Beachfront Resort. They did not require a deposit.

It was a short drive from the airport through Luganville and out to the resort on the other side of town; probably less than 10 minutes. Transfers cost 700 vatu (A$8.40) pp each way.

The resort is a collection of rooms and bungalows, restaurant and backpackers dormitory located beside on a black sand beach looking over the harbour to Aore (pronounced 'our-ee') Island.

The rooms are either fan-cooled or air-conditioned and are self-contained with kitchenette, ensuite and verandah. They are clean, comfortable and serviced daily. I stayed in a fan-cooled room; it cost me 4500 vatu (A$54) per night for bed and breakfast.

The harbour looked good for swimming but I didn't get a chance to try it out. Locals on the beach enjoy a chat. You can take a ferry across to Aore Island to visit the resort over there and snorkel if you have time. The Beachfront Resort provides facilities for crews of yachts moored in the harbour.

The restaurant offers seating inside or outside on the verandah and serves a range of European type of food such as lasagna, burgers, steak, curries, fish and chips and pizzas; they boast having the best pizzas in town and having tried one, I can vouch that it was delicious. They also offer specials of the day featuring local seafood dishes such as pan-fried wahoo and salad, spaghetti with fresh oysters and a different desert every day which I never had room for. The meals are huge. The bar sold icy Tuskers; a local beer for 350 vatu (A$4.20) and a range of other beers, wines, spirits and some very tasty cocktails. The restaurant attracts a lot of people from other resorts as well as locals.

I found the service very good, nothing was too much trouble. The staff arranged tours, transport, flight confirmations and packed lunches, the manager; Dave Cross, even bound a book that had broken in half for me.

The resort is building a new restaurant and pool. I'll be delighted to try both out when I return.

This was value for money accommodation and I would recommend it to many different kinds of travelers; singles, couples, families, older travelers, divers and backpackers. The resort was quite busy. I'm surprised no-one has written a review before .... perhaps it has been a well kept secret until now?

Video clips of my Santo tour are available for viewing on YouTube under the name southpacific2u

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions le bungalow le mieu situė vue sur mer
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews