We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool a real bonus!”
Review of Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in a family unit. Luckily we paid extra for air conditioning as the unit looked out to the carpark & at the back of the complex so no cooling breezes. The unit had 2 rooms, one as a bedroom containing a double bed & a single, whilst the other room had another single bed & small kitchenette with 2 chairs. Off this was a small bathroom with plenty of hot water & good pressure. It was clean but the small beds didn't add to the comfort! It was adequate for 2 nights.

The swimming pool proved a real bonus as the beach out the front of the resort wasn't that appealing. We had hoped to take the Zego's across to Aore Island but unfortunately the motorbike that tows them down to the water had a flat battery!

All meals were eaten pool side but protect yourself from mosquitoes, there's plenty. The cool breeze coming across the water & through to the meals area is beautiful & a great place to watch the sunset. Breakfast was basic but we brought our own cereal to help add to the variety. Pizza's were good & meals were enjoyable. Service was also good & plenty of ideas available on things to do from Dave. He was only too willing to organise drivers to take us to points of interest.

The resort is out of the main area of Luganville. You could walk into town to the markets but not while we were there in January, very hot & humid. Taxis are plentiful & easy to catch from the main road, 50m from the resort enterance. A good base from which to enjoy the sights of Luganville & surrounding areas.

Room Tip: In the warmer months, pay the extra to have air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wylie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. The rooms were lovely, the setting beautiful particularly at sunset. The food was really nice and close enough to town to walk in if you wanted to. All the tours we did from there were well run and of all of them I would recommend the Millenium Cave Tour - truly superb place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

So lucky to find this place. I didn't book a hotel in advance, but just book in a place for a couple of days to get the look of the island then move around. Looked up at a sign in the airport and gave them a ring on spec. the girl on reception spoke wonderful english explained where they were and had a room ready for when I turned up.

The resort is a 10 min walk from town (with taxis passing every 2 min if you wish to pay only $2). I prefered the walk down by the beach to town which takes a little longer but lets you meet and the natives fishing and the kids swimming all waving at you and saying hello.

The room was great with it's own bathroom with shower, fan and the use of a shared fully equiped kitchen with fridge & freezer. The room looked new and clean and serviced every day.
The pool is amazing, new and not far from the bar(with cold beer). Or if you wish the beach is great for a dip with the resorts own beach.
If you need anything sorted just see David in the office, an Australian englishman with great knowledge of the area for trips, advice and even to where to book a flight from.
Great place to stay, and a place I'd love to visit again
(But if your after a five star hotel your on the wrong island, but if your after good comfort at a great price.. this is a good place to start)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkshirepenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

2 types of bungalows.
Cheaper one (8800 VUV = 93 AUD - Dec.2011 ) line up one side of the parking lot with view on it and the back of the restaurant building. Oops ... !
Bungalows are clean and have a kitchenette; furniture is OK. But terrible surroundings for people expecting dream holidays!!!

Most expensive bungalows ( 13,000 VUV = 140 AUD ) sit on a large land planted with grass and only 2 or 3 coconut trees ( don't expect any shadow ! ). They have sea view, a tiny terrace with 2 aluminum chairs ( no cushions) and a small round table. Not really what people expect in matter of comfort for lazy tropical beach holidays..
Bungalow are OK but oddly, the double bed was very narrow (1,30 meter only ) even for the 2 slim persons we are. It was so uncomfortable that we decided to sleep separate, one using the extra-single bed and the second using the double bed ... Oops !

Before booking, we've read nice reviews about the"oh-so-friendly-owner". Even in Lonely Planet. Those were written mainly by Australian people.
Unfortunately, with non native English-speaking ( or non-Australian ?? ) Mr Dave Cross is polite,distant and not really concern in sharing anything.
Then, if you're not Australian ... don't look for conviviality, sharing tips or warm human atmosphere ...

Room Tip: If you care about the view, don't book cheaper bungalows (view on the parking lot ). Experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management259, Owner at Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Since 2008 Beachfront Resort has provided over 14,000 room nights to people from all over the world with very few complaints. I would like to correct some of the inaccuracies contained in this review.

Our double beds are supplied by Sealy Posturepedic, a well respected manufacturer of quality mattresses and bed bases. The double bed measurements are 138cm x 190cm and are specially made for the hospitality industry. They are not 130cms wide as written in this review.

The rooms near the car park are similar to many motels. They are extremely popular with visiting business people, layover pilots, divers and families who require 2 room family units. They are handy for guests with hire cars and are close to the restaurant, bar and swimming pool. At Beachfront Resort we cater for a range of guests needs and that includes budget rooms of excellent quality. Guests who want the tropical ambience of water views normally book the more expensive front bungalows.

The manager of the resort Dave Cross is renowned for his enthusiasm and eagerness to help guests with his knowledge of diving, tours, must do things in Santo, history of the island and just about anything else they need. Communication can be a problem at times when there are language difficulties however there is absolutely no discrimination as this review implies.

The view from our waterfront bungalows feature a beautiful grass park like area with 28 coconut trees swaying in the breeze and plenty of shade trees of various species, not just 2 or 3 coconut trees and no shade as written in this review. The greenspace area extends to the high water mark and many local Ni Vanuatu families and tourists enjoy this area sitting under shade trees, swimming, fishing,sunbaking or playing soccer.

There are other inaccuracies in this review but I can live with those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beachfront resort. Room was simple but more than adequate. Resort is clean and well maintained and the staff obviously take pride in what they do (and they do it well). Food and drinks menu is reasonably priced and a good variety. Beautiful pool area. Beautiful view to the beach. Beautiful resident dog! A big thumbs up to the manager dave for his help, assistance, advice and knoweldge about the area. Will definately return.

Room Tip: It is difficult to find family type accomodation in Santo as most places seem to be geared towards d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 463KateS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our stays at Beachfront. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and Dave Cross is a fount of knowledge! We stayed in the cheaper "lodge" part of the resort which is new, clean and has a shared kitchen which is great when you're trying to keep costs down! The new pool is really beautiful, and even though there's a beach right there, pretty inviting!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neek1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Santo and the Beachfront Reasort have been a very important part of my life over the last 6 years and I think it about time I gave both places a plug so that others may experience some of the good fortune that I have enjoyed. I first came to Santo in 2005 and stayed at the Beachfront Resort. My doctor told me to take a break, to get out of Sydney and chill out a bit. I've been back to Santo 18 times and every time that I get back to Sydney my doctors are surprised at the improvement in my general health....Sure I execise more but I also make up for that by drinking and eating more as well. I don't know what it is but it seems to work for me. It could be the people, always smiling and happy to meet you, it could be the warm and sometimes hot climate, it could be an appreciation of a simple and happy way of life of the local people.After a lifetime of business with a major newspaper, spending endless hours on the job and stressing out, I find it an absolute delight to enjoy the simplicity of Santo and it's people. I have always stayed at the Beachfront Resort and have watched it grow from 6 bungalows to 25 bungalows and rooms. I had some great some great times in the old restraurant and bar but that has been replace by a new restaurant and bar which is just terrific. The new swimming pool and sun deck looking out over the ocean was well advanced and should be finished by the end of October.There have been lots of improvements to the resort and the town over the last 6 years and I have witnessed most of them but you can't beat the feeling that nothing really matters, just lay back and enjoy the ride. Although Santo ia still a charming frontier town, civilisation is on it's way with over 17 different restraurants that you can enjoy, new resorts and attractions being developed. Santo also has a vibrant night life and continues on into the early hours. Direct flights from Sydney and Brisbane make the trip a breeze, 3.5 hours from Sydney and 2.5 hours from Brisbane and you are in a totally different world. As a regular visitor I know many of the locals, both Ni Vanuatu and expatriates but it only takes a week or two and you feel like a local yourself...it is just a welcoming place. You are not jostled around by hawkers, beggers or pushy shop keepers because ther are none and it is not the Vanuatu way...the people there are guenuinely nice. The tour operators are just fantastic and some individuals like Timmy and Luke are just outstanding. Diving is popular and there are many island attractions, traditional vilages, blue holes Champagne Beach WW2 tours just to name a few. One of the more interesting attractions that I like is the coming and going of people from all over the world from your average tourist, divers, back packers, cruising yachties, business people, missionaries, volunteers and aid workers from all over including the "baby docs" who are always a welcome attraction, many of whom stay at the Beachfront Resort.I cannot recommend Santo enough as it is a terrific place and although my choice of accomodation is and always will be the Beachfront Resort there are many other resorts all with something special to offer.
William C

Room Tip: All rooms are nearly the same and you can enjoy a sea view or get one at the back of the resort. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luganville hotels
1.1 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
181 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
313 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#3 of 10 in Luganville
308 reviews
0 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#10 of 10 in Luganville
12 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Resort

Address: PO Box 398, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
Price Range: $64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical seashore setting for Luganville’s only true beachfront resort located just 1.3 kms from town and only 10 minutes from the international airport. Beachfront Resort offers excellent accommodation, 25 rooms in all. Our deluxe bungalows overlook the sheltered waters of Segond Channel and Aore Island. All our bungalows are self-contained, air conditioned and/or fan cooled including en-suite, refrigerator, a kitchenette, insect screens plus toaster and tea/coffee making facilities. Our new lodge is the answer to the budget conscious traveller visiting Espiritu Santo and includes a TV room,fully equipped kitchen, all rooms have their own bathroom and a large undercover outdoor area to lounge around.Beachfront Resort has an excellent bar and restaurant with three dining areas including an indoor restaurant, an under cover outdoor dining area and on the pool deck under the shade of a market umbrella.A newly completed swimming pool is the jewel in the crown and extremely popular with guests. The resort has plenty of open space with coconut and shade trees in a large greenspace area which extends to the high water mark. Plenty of room for a volley ball game or a game of soccer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing