We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrier Beach Resort(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lope Lope Lodge(Espiritu Santo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Espiritu(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
118
108
31
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
108
31
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersblue holechampagne beachport olryrooms are basicon the rocksreef shoesmillion dollar pointlow tidefishsound of the wavesbeautiful baybeautiful placehire carfruit salada lovely staylonnoc beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 276 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family and friends made up our group of 5 adults at Turtle Bay Resort / lodge. A big thank you to chefs Rachel and Willie who prepared the Santo Beef eye fillet to perfection. Thanks to acting Manager Cath who introduced us to the deliciously addictive grapefruit and Cointreau cocktail. And to Cam for the snorkeling tip to kayak over to nearby Turtle Island - agreed it's some of the best underwater scenery in Santo! We thoroughly enjoyed our kayak paddle to Matevulu Blue Hole - a slow paddle there with many photos of the stunning scenery took us about 2 hours there and about 1 hr return; be sure to leave time to play on the most awesome tree rope swing you can imagine! The trip to a very UNtouristy, local villiage of two lovely families was informative and entertaining. A word of warning ladies, this is not tourist kava, go easy :-) The waterfront rooms were clean, comfortable and private with lovely touches like fresh hibiscus flowers strategically placed throughout. Great snorkelling no more than 50m from the back step! Thank you Cath and Cam for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms, 11 & 12 were terrific for 3 people (single and a couple). Plus, only 50m to great snorkeling from your back/front step.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We bought our trip to Turtle Bay Lodge as a voucher on a deal website, so really hadn't done much research into the location and we didn't have many expectations of it apart from as an excellent diving location and the nice weather!

Turtle Bay resort is small, peaceful, and on a beautiful bay which is great for snorkelling and kayaking. We took advantage of the included kayak hire which came with our voucher by kayaking to the blue holes and Oyster Island across the bay a couple of times. The snorkelling directly off the shores of the accommodation was also fabulous. The staff at Turtle Bay were lovely - very friendly and helpful with all of our questions!

We were very happy with our room (oceanfront double room). It was not luxury but it was clean, a good size, and serviced every day, with its own verandah looking out onto the sea. We were glad to have a kitchenette in the room to make our own lunches and a couple of dinners through the week (There is a good supermarket in Luganville to stock up on groceries). We made good use of the swimming pool and even explored the circus tent one afternoon for a few laughs!

The food at the restaurant at Turtle Bay Lodge was delicious - lovely fresh produce and good sized portions! The included continental breakfast was quite basic but filled us up adequately each morning.

As recreational scuba divers, we spent two days diving the SS Coolidge and a couple of reefs near Santo. The staff at Turtle Bay were extremely helpful with organising this. If diving is a priority for you, I would perhaps advise organising it in advance as some of the dive operators will come and pick you up and drop you back at the resort (which is a big bonus) and they may be fully booked if you don't.

Getting around the island varied in difficulty without a hire car. If you are planning to do lots of exploring I would probably advise hiring a car for a couple of days as there are lots of beautiful beaches and blue holes to visit which may be difficult to access unless you are very lucky with the public transport.

I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a relaxed, quiet retreat with good water activites nearby and are happy living on "island time". My final tip - get up early to see the sunrise over the water, it was stunning!

Room Tip: We were pleased to have the kitchenette in our room to have the option of making our own meals.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wanted to go to a supremely beautiful location, get a hit of foreign culture, relax, be cooked for and escape the peak of the Australian winter. Turtle Bay Lodge delivered. We appreciated the casual atmosphere and the genuine affection of the staff. We took turns snorkeling in what we both agreed was premium reef, went to the kava night, adventured to the blue hole in kayaks with our son in a child lifejacket and were privileged to attended a local traditional wedding. The wedding and the paddle to the blue hole were the highlights of our stay. It is not the kind of place where you need a hairdryer, it’s a place where you look for hermit crabs and brittle stars, count geckos, have a Scrabble tournament, read a book and just enjoy spending time with the ones you love.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our first trip to Santo staying at Turtle Bay Resort was relaxing, quiet at a great location. The snorkeling (take your own equipment) was brilliant right at the font door. We loved hearing the waves lapping at the shore at night. The staff helpful, friendly and professional. The food available at the restaurant was brilliant at good prices. The view to Peterson Bay beautiful. We had a great day kayaking to Blue holes. Thanks to Cath and Cam for being so welcoming. The Kava night visiting the locals is not to be missed and if you can ask Cath what to bring to Santo to help the locals - books, pencils, drawing/writing paper, toothbrushes, toiletries. THANKS Turtle Bay Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASwan934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The new management (arrived this March 2013) think they are on holiday too. If you show up for diner one of the 5 outside tables are most likely occupied by the Ozzie management team. They don't feel the slightest urge to make room for their own quests. They will take their time to be served by the local friendly staff, which obviously feels embarrassed by this situation.
We, as new arrived quests, already adopted ‘Vanuatu’ time and patiently waited until the management team finished their dinner. This couple make me realise that doing a good job in this industry is not as easy as it seems. Hospitality is something you should carry out with passion to run a resort in a good way.
Kam and Kath from Margaret River Australia are pretty good in taking your money but have zero feeling for service.
The most disturbing was to witness the management team to tell their own local staff what they did wrong in front of your customers in the central lobby. I felt really embarrassed being Caucasian too at that moment. My advice: ‘’ If you think you can’t trust your own staff, please plan your bush trip outside business hours.
The small resort has 10 basic rooms which are priced up market. Food is fab!
My advice would be to wait with bookings until this Ozzie management team is replaced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews