We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Lights Bistro

Harbour Lights Bistro
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Coverack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small Restaurant overlooking the sea in Coverack. With both outside and inside seating we are open for Breakfast, Lunches, Afternoon Tea & evening Meals. Supporting local artisan producers and sustainable fishing ensuring a real taste of cornwall in every dish. Booking is advisable.
Coverack, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Special Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to Harbour Lights for a special celebration lunch. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they even did me a special sandwich(they will know what I mean!) All food came well presented and really looked scrummy. Can't wait to go back for a birthday celebration later in the month. Thank you all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m_roberts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    45
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are back in Coverack again next month and are looking forward to another tea out on the terrace. Last visit we had scones, jam, clotted cream and a lovely pot of tea whilst watching the boat traffic and the kids playing on the beach.The scones were huge and fruity and good value for money. The menu overall is varied and imaginative,we were well looked after by the staff who were very friendly and attentive. We have not eaten in the restaurant proper since the days when you took your own wine because the place did not have a drinks license, but I am sure that we will change that next month.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Careful of the mussels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had walked past in the afternoon and decided to return as we weren't camped far away for an early dinner. It was a wonderful setting and we had a great view of the most impressive thunderstorm of the week and the rainbow that followed. Even though the tables were booked they fitted us in and the service was good given the inclement weather they had to brave as we were sat outside. I had the fresh mussels and my girlfriend had the seafood stew, both tasted great and we had a nice time but.......

The mussels bit back as there must have a been a bad one or two, my girlfriend was fine with the stew and that was the only thing we ate differently all day so we know the cuprits. I can't fault the location, price or service but the food, in my respect, was below par as I spent the following night being ill. These things do happen but shouldn't if the mussels are check before and after cooking.

Sorry for poor rating but I think this is generous for a meal that in effect end out holiday early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Night of our Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had walked past this cafe earlier in the holiday, and on our last night we decided to go back and try it for dinner. We got there right at 7pm, having not realised that they only served dinner until 7pm, but luckily they hadn't closed the kitchen yet. We sat out on the terrace overlooking Coverack harbour. We ordered mussels to start, and my husband who doesn't normally like mussels loved them! and they went really well with his cider. He ordered steak, and i had the crab and shrimp salad. We then shared an ice cream with espresso for dessert. The whole meal was fabulous, and the view was amazing! The staff were also very nice. I'm can't wait to go back! Just don't forget to arrive before 7pm for dinner, they also don't do dinner every night, so check before you go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A seaside delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A haven on a rainy summer's day during our holiday. We were only there mid morning so didn't have a meal and didn't quite make it back... But will return if we are in the area again due to the excellent standard of our coffee and cake, service, atmosphere, location etc. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Bistro also viewed

 
Coverack, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Lights Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing