We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Be Better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Leigh, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I think Tim Martin needs to decide if this place is a pub, restaurant or hotel. It struggled to be all three. No complaints about any of the staff - all were helpful and accommodating. The rooms were a bit small but nicely decorated. However, the cleanliness of the rooms was very poor. 1st room (215) had towels strewn all over, bed poorly made, aircon broke, 3 bottles of half drunk water on the sideboard. Requested a room change. Room 2 (112) not much better with dust on the wall (a previous review mentioned this but still not cleaned) and there was somebody elses toenail clippings on the carpet. Nice. The rooms are stiflingly hot even with the ugly, very loud portable aircon unit with extractor fan stuck out of the window. Bizarre. The outside beer garden was very nice but, again, cleanliness an issue - overflowing ashtrays and un-wiped tables. Could be a great hotel if proper aircon was fitted and they resolved the cleanliness issue. I hope Mr Martin reads this or the hotel forward it on to him. We are big fans of JD and with a few minor changes The Swan could be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herriballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Im sorry you did not have the most enjoyable stay and apoloygise for the cleaniness of the rooms as this is unacceptable. Aircon is in a process of being fitted into all rooms. We do hope you stay with us again and we will ensure that it is more ejoyable this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    108
    88
    40
    24
See reviews for
62
136
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went here with my granny, and sister, so my parents could have a week to themselves!
The Room-
The room itself was beautiful, a family room with a double bed and a sofa bed, bathroom with shower/bath, a TV, and a mirror with desk that had the coffee, tea and biscuits. We only stayed for 3 days there, as we were travelling up to Wigan to see family.
The Staff-
The reception, waiters/waitresses, cleaners and others were very helpful, but when we went out to explore Leighton Buzzard, we noticed the cleaning staff only refill on milk, biscuits, coffee/tea items and water, they didn't actually clean the room.
Food-
Breakfast, lunch, and dinner had a wide range to choose from on the menu. Everything I had was top quality!!
Overall Stay-
Fantastic, would stay again:)

Room Tip: try to get a room in the middle of the hotel so you don't here people in the bar garden below :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at The Swan Hotel and do hope see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Dearie me, this is the worst rating I have done!!
Cleanliness is next to..... Well maybe not Godliness in this day and age, but still close to everyone's hearts!! Do the cleaning staff at this hotel know that there is a nozzle attachment to go round the edges of carpets when you're vacuuming?!?!
We must have shared our stay with loads of skin flakes of other people in room112 this last weekend, and also their hairs in the bath plug hole!! I'm sure they were good decent people, but!!!!!!!
There was even dust on the wall next to the bedside table. Even I can't get dust to stick on the wall and I cleaned at home last year!!!
Rest assured that even though the eggs benedict on dirty plates with thumb smeared knife was good, there is no way that I would ever stay here again!
I love staying in different places but I really could have spent £74 better elsewhere!
Really, Wetherspoons, you are be big, but you could do a lot better!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindyLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we have worked on the problems and do hope you will give us another try.
I am able to offer you a discounted stay, please contact the hotel either by telephone or email and I will arrange this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leighton Buzzard hotels

Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've just had a one night stay and I have to say it was made really enjoyable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff reserved us a table for our evening meal, which was lovely and we were a party of 11. All of our meals were hot and delicious, really can't fault it. The breakfast there is really good value too and more than filling. Slight downside is having a front bedroom as it was noisy till the early hours but that's nothing that the hotel can control,also unfortunately the front rooms have no air conditioning but they do provide fans so it's not too bad. All in all we had a lovely stay and if I ever found myself down that way again I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thanks to all the staff, keep up the great work!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nights sleep then stick to a rear bedroom. Same goes if you want air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments. We are currently in the process of sorting air conditioning out for all our rooms. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Swan Hotel on 6th July 2013, room 105, hottest day of the year. We were shocked to discover when we reached our room that there was no air conditioning and the windows were securely bolted down. We immediately complained and were given a fan, which we gave to our daughter and her husband who were also staying there. We were told that all windows in the hotel were bolted down for 'health and safety reasons'. Surely this is a fire hazard! We asked to be moved to room 102 as we could see it was vacant with an open window. We were told this room was occupied. The next morning the door was propped open, as it had been the previous evening, to air the first floor corridor near reception and it appeared that it was vacant.

We spent an airless and very noisy sleepless night and would certainly not stay there again.

Stuart and Gill
Luton

Room Tip: Don't sleep at the front, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay with us, we are currently in the process of getting air conditioning put into all our rooms. Room102 is one of our most popular rooms and is usually always booked. During the hot weather we have kept the door open in room 102 to allow some air to get in. This is usually done before and after the guest has stayed. If you ever decide to stay with us again we will ensure that you have a comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only stayed for one night thank goodness, asked in advance for a quiet room, got 110 over the kitchen, complete with a load buzzing noise, moved to 306 over beer garden, say no more, it's open till well after midnight, the room was red hot only a small fan to cool down, the bathroom was so hot you stuck to the floor !! evening meal,, mixed grill, ,,steak under cooked rest overcooked. This is one place you should avoid, there are plenty more in the area

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnbmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay with us and you found it to be noisy. The garden should be closed by midnight, I will ensure that this is controlled more by bar and door staff. We are currently in the process of having air conditioning installed into our rooms.
Should you decide to give us another try, please request a quiet room and we will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Really very good. I'm not a snob but every time weatherspoons is mentioned I think, no thanks, i'll go somewhere else. We went to Leighton Buzzard for a friends party this weekend and she suggested The Swan. I didn't realise it was weatherspoons until I got there and was a little horrified! Well, no need to be horrified at all. Lovely reception and delightfully friendly recieptionist, small but very tidy, well decorated room, good bathroom with very good shower and a really comfy bed and good TV. Really, what more can you ask for a cheap night away. Cheap was the best bit about it. When we got there we needed something to eat and drink so went to the bar and ordered 2 x Nachos, a pint of larger and a large white wine. Huge Nachos, one would have been enough and we booked it to the room. Today, when we left, the bill, £93.50 all in.. NICE! The bar is a bit weatherspoonish but there's a lovely outside area and its got a large dining room too. If you're in Leighton Buzzard you won't get better for the price and you'll have a great nights sleep... One thing... The top floor rooms where we were are very hot at night. I was OK as there is a fan which was my side but my wife could really have done with air con but hey, the weather in the uk isn't usually that great anyway.. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle N, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, I am glad we have converted you to a Wetherspoon friendly guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighton Buzzard
5.3 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
5.4 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 50 High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighton Buzzard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JD Wetherspoon have restored this georgian building back to its former glory.The hotel has 39 rooms with singles, twins, doubles, family rooms and 2 fully equipped disabled rooms with parking spaces, we are also able to provide family suites sleeping up to 6 people. 24 hour manned reception, complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water in all rooms.Cots available upon request.Discount for group bookings are available.We work in partnership with Mentmore Golf and Country Club to provide you with excellant stay and play rates.Bar and Restaurant open from 7am daily.Room service available from 7am to 9.45pm.Selection of soft drinks, crisps, Nuts and confectionary available at reception when bar is closed (chargeable).We do not have on site parking but there is a large pay and display car park to the rear of the property.We have 2 disabled equipped rooms with full wet room facilities and plenty of room to get around, these 2 rooms when booked come with a parking space right outside the door.For you real ale guru's you will be pleased to hear we are In the Good Beer Guide 2013 and Cask Marque accredited, we always have a great selection of ales available.We also have a lovely courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing