We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkey was off a role and tasteless and same with veg.”
Review of Globe Inn

Globe Inn
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks. Fresh Coffee and food served daily. Reservations available in the dining room
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turkey was off a role and tasteless and same with veg.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

On a previous occasion, I found a hair in my food! Its a shame as the venue is full of character. I wont eat there until it improves.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    153
    126
    113
    169
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Other reviews not accurate”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went on Sunday. Coffee excellent. Canalside walk wet, dreary and dull. Hot soup and chicken salad excellent. Service obliging.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Olde world canal pub”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Character pub in a great setting with a varied menu. Excellent food, staff and service.
We visited on a busy Sunday afternoon however we were welcomed warmly and a table found for us. The menu is wonderful with so much choice and very reasonable. The staff were attentive and good humoured despite the pub being extremely busy. The meals were wonderful and the puddings even better! Definitely worth a visit, cosy in the winter and great setting for lazy summer days by the canal, can't wait to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindylou8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“appalling Christmas dinner”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Took the family out for Christmas Day dinner yesterday. The food can only be described as appalling, as was the service. They were obviously overstretched, serving lukewarm undercooked food in bowls of all things. Al dente is not a substitute for au point. We left before the cheese and coffee as weren't feeling very festive by then.
They used to have a head waiter called Micheal who was brilliant and needs to be got back to run the place instead of the current twerp of a manager.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LeightonSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No room at the Inn??”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Christmas lunch, 2 hungry adults and a 12 year old. Booked and preordered our choices for 2 p.m., way back in February. Paid entire bill up front in November. Arrived early, for relaxing g and t before lunch, but no room at bar, so took our drinks to our table at 1.30, we asked our waitress to hold our food until our booked time of 2, told no problem....at 20 to 2, our first courses arrived. I asked them to take them back. At 10 past 2, a flat, uncooked souffle arrived for me, a slice of pate with thick granary toast for the 12 year old and 2 small slices of smoked salmon with 3 soggy leaves for my partner. Hungry so most of it eaten. My pre ordered fillet steak served in a soup bowl, was chewy and tasteless, floating in a sea of glutinous gravy with 4 green beans and some potatoes slices; the others had a roast dinner which was the strangest meal ever encountered....in soup bowls, again floating in the same gravy, 2 small slices of overcooked white meat, a curling, hard morsel of massacered ham, gooey veg and 2 burnt small, soggy so called roast potatoes. The manager was politely summoned and he looked at the blackened potatoes and told me they were fine and he would eat them , and no one else in the packed place had complained.....to cut to the quick, the young waitress told us she had a hangover and would rather be at home, another helper admitted that there were no roasts being carved in the kitchen, it was preprepared, the gardens were a morass of broken furniture and litter, in a smelly swamp of stagnant water. This was our £130 Christmas lunch, ordered and paid for way in advance, dreadful food, surly staff. AVOID AVOID. I have written to Greene King, and await their reply....I won't hold my breath.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MickerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe Inn also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Stoke Hammond, Aylesbury Vale
 
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 

Been to Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing