We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boot

The Boot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a place we visit quite regularly and we're never disappointed with the standard of food or the friendliness of the staff. The only downside is that it now seems a bit pricey in comparison with similar pubs in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Callymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    17
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bootlicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fab food, great service, happy faces and good value. Enough said but we will definately be back in the future

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Boot Public House in Soulbury is a very pleasant establishment in which the staff make everyone very welcome. The restaurant is not overly comfortable and has wooden furniture and ceramic tiled floors. Can feel a bit chilly when not too many customers are present.

The food is good with a varied menu but it is however expensive.

The cost of drinks and wine is also very expensive to the point where we avoid attending on a regular basis.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barneyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“More than a pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located in the pretty village of Soulbury. The food was good but a bit pricey. Service was very good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vlambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch they don't try to charge you twice!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went for our 3rd visit to the Boot, 2nd time to eat and were so disappointed that we will not return any time soon.

We ordered and paid for our first round of drinks and sat down to review the menu for lunch. Our food order placed my partner was asked if we wanted to run a tab, which he accepted in case we required further drinks or food. Mid-way through our wait for our food my partner went to the bar to order another round of drinks and having decided that we would not be requiring dessert or coffee's he asked if he could settle the bill. The waitress (not the orginal girl who had served our first round) quoted the bill price which seemed excessive so my parther challenged this to which she snapped "X-Y-Z for the main courses and you've had 2 rounds of drinks" to which both myself & my partner said that we had only had one round as our first round had been paid for in cash at the time of ordering.

When our food eventually arrived it was very disappointing. We had ordered the Steak & Ale pie with new potatoes & veg & the Salmon with new potatoes & hollandaise sauce. Having had the salmon on a previous visit I was able to make a comparison and to say there was none would be an understatement. The salmon was bland, there was minimal hollandaise sauce but the most disappointing part was the new potatoes. Not sure when they were new but it certainly wasn't that day or even the day before!!! They were hard and badly re-heated, definitley not fresh. The potatoes that accompanied the pie were exactly the same, the meat was chewy and the gravy was completely tasteless. We the waitress cleared our plates she asked if everything was ok, to which we replied not really expressing our dissatisfaction with the potatoes, she did not make any comment & merely cleared the plates.

The staff are not friendly or welcoming, all in all not a pleasant experience that we will be rushing to repeat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MK4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boot also viewed

Wing, Leighton Buzzard
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing