We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service at premium prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Banus
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked 2 x Sisu apartments for a group of 9 guys for 3 nights. It was one of the more expensive hotels in Banus and I would not stay here again primarily due to the extremely poor customer service and the incompetent staff. Location is poor, there are no amenities nearby and the centre of Banus is 6-10 euros in a taxi which are not frequent, have to be called and often involve long waits. Check in is very disorganised, involved full payment in advance, 250 euro deposits for keys and took 45 mins. The apartments are spacious and the fixtures and fittings are good quality but they do not have aircon and are a few mins walk from the main hotel complex. Electric fans were in the rooms but the one in our room didn't work and the staff would not replace it after several requests. A builder arrived to do work in the next door apartment at 10am on the Saturday morning and asked us to vacate our balcony which he then proceeded to cover in masonary whilst he worked on the balcony next door. Check out was as frustrating as check in and took another 45 mins. The large number of poor reviews are justified in my view so book at your peril!

Room Tip: Avoid the Sisu apartments, they are not worth paying a premium for and have no air con. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 382 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

From what we expected to be an excellent venue, we were disappointed from check in, to check out. The attitude to issues was astounding, with a standard reply being "Sorry, I’m not sure what you want me to do about it" Some examples below for you to draw your own conclusions.

• Pre-payment on arrival - disorganised, excessively time consuming (45 mins) and as guests left you with zero leverage to resolve any issues.

• Attempt from receptionists to take payment of the total bill excl the deposit already paid.

• Apt 76 specific issues that remained unresolved throughout stay - foul smell/odour, fan in twin room inoperable (reception notified evening of 24 Aug after check in and reminded on 25 Aug but not replaced), no air con (unexpected for a 'boutique' property, builder arriving Saturday morning next door and being forced to vacate our balcony whilst he built a wall and spread the balcony with masonry chippings.

• Late checkout advertised as 50 euro but upped to 100 euro for apts.

• Check out highly inefficient taking almost 1 hour.

• Late checkout requested at reservation/booking however only provided for Apt 76.

• Faulty lock on gate to apt complex (very difficult to open).

• Overall throughout our stay we were treated poorly and were generally disrespected as customers. The reception staff were discourteous throughout the majority of our dealings and at no point during our stay did we feel valued as customers. Worth noting that many years ago during my time as a student before becoming a well travelled successful businessman I experienced a considerably superior customer service from youth hostels in comparison to your accommodation.

Summary - based on experience to date I will on no account plan to stay at Sisu in the future, and plan to actively discourage any potential future customers from staying at Sisu

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lodgey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Poor start to end.

We gave the hotel benefit of doubt after booking and reading all poor reviews but wish we hadn't bothered we arrived open minded and left needing another holiday.

Worst customer service we've ever experienced from reception

Air con pointless waft of air

Constant noise from drunks all night

Charged to use pool facility's Thursday Fridays an Saturday's due to 'private pool party's which was not disclosed on booking confirmation

Have to walk across motorway and down alleys to gain access to beach and puerto banus

Reception would not book us airport taxi and insisted we pay MORE money and have one of there drivers takes us.

Female Bar staff would ignore us then laugh and speak Spanish giving no eye contact or even a smile.

When private party's were on we aske if we could use the roof terrace to sunbath as its a long walk to beach and they declined. And said if we want to sunbath we are to pay a extortionate fee to join the private party! Joke!

Drunks laid on floor outside hotel during one of there many 'private pool party's

Decor never been 'boutique' more like a bodge job and cheap ikea furniture.

Would of loved the hotel to prove us otherwise but sadly disapointed. In need of a proper holiday

We paid over €500 for 4 nights don't make se mistake as us it not worth €300 max

Two nicest things about the hotel are Jake (pool boy) & Agnes (waitress) without them both I think we would of been ignored for the duration of our holiday.



  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrstaylor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Loads of poor reviews on here but as soon as we arrived we were greeted by 5 star staff. Nothing too much trouble and a smile on everyone's faces from reception to the pool staff. Yes the pool parties aren't cheap (175 euros for a double sun lounger) but a magnum of champagne thrown in makes up for the cost and the vibe was chilled but fun. Went to 2 5 star restaurants the previous nights and their service and staff weren't a patch on sisu staff !

Stayed: August 2012
2  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend in August. This is definitely a 'party hotel' with the clientele staying there matching that. I did feel as though the rooms were over priced at €200 per night for a basic room and the fact that the air con doesn't seem to work properly in any of the rooms (it failed to cool any of the three rooms we had booked and other guests were also complaining). It also was a little far from the port for my liking - a €10 taxi ride in one of their cars or €8 in a normal taxi. Overall, probably a good option if you are looking for a stag/hen/20-30s party weekend hotel, but bear in mind you probably are going to feel like you have overpaid... PS I thought the staff were quite nice - they have to deal with a lot of unruly and drunken guests and so do feel a bit sorry for them!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsadb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at SISU boutique hotel this summer with a group of friends. Lovely place and location was a 10 minute walk from the harbor. Cars also available from the hotel for a reasonable price if unwilling to walk or late at night. The customer service however was terrible from start to finish. Despite booking airport transfer in advance they failed to turn up and claimed we had not confirmed the booking even although we later showed them the confirmation email. We had also previously arranged an extra guest would be staying however we were not provided with extra bed linen and towel as promised and these were also removed every time the room was cleaned. We visited the hotel restaurant for dinner one night and were ignored for a lengthy period of time and forgotten about. Starters took about 30 mins to come out due to being left for ages sitting waiting for the waitress to bring them over . the main meals were brought out almost immediately after when some hadn't finished starters. starter plates were not taken away and the whole meal was a disaster and food was bland and disappointing. on our final day, one of the girls in the party injured herself by the pool and needed a first aid kit. The reception staff simply said they did not have a first aid kit as we stood trying to stop the bleeding with toilet tissue ( the only thing they had ) . One of the staff then handed us an out of date bottle of antiseptic lotion and 2 small pieces of unsealed dressing plasters. We did seek to inform the manager of our dissatisfaction however we were told by staff she was too busy or absent. Would not recommend this hotel for a more upper market guys/girls holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Company weekend away. 30 people aged 25-35. Perfect. Ditto lads holiday etc. party hotel which is quite a good party hotel. Decent pool parties, ok food, ok music, varying levels of staff. Rooms clean, good location, it's all fairly solid if not spectacular. Downers were you couldnt order drinks to your room at the bar which was a pain. Drinks are expensive, but you'd expect that. The night staff though were a bit over zealous, sending people to their rooms and actually marching them there which was new for me! Overall though its a good option but ONLY if you are there in a large group I think.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TravelHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Banus
0.9 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Suites
Benabola Hotel & Suites
#1 of 3 in Puerto Banus
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#38 of 70 in Marbella
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
4 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Marbella
922 reviews
2 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Ctra. N-340 Km 173, 29660 Puerto Banus, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella > Puerto Banus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Banus
Price Range: $59 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a privileged location just one kilometre from the beaches, bars, designer boutiques and restaurants of Puerto Banus which although only a short walk or shorter taxi ride away is far enough for you to relax in peace. The reception is open twenty four hours and secure parking underneath the hotel is complimentary. The hotel has 62 twin-bedded rooms and 2 luxurious themed suites (Moulin Rouge and Scarface). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisu Boutique Hotel Marbella
Sisu Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing