We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody hell its a knocking shop!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Banus
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bloody hell its a knocking shop!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Travelled with a bunch of blokes on a weekend stag. I turned up at reception and the first impression was "Christ its a knocking shop"

The red and black studded walls and chinese dragon sculptures raised eyebrows.

As did the desk staff who appeared to have been recruited for their looks and abilty to wear tight dresses rather than efficiency and professionalism.

The muscles bulging tattoed "staff" lurking around in reception appeared to have more in common with a dubious night club than a "boutique" hotel

The rooms were adequate but fairly tastelessly decorated and every room had a SISU painted on the wall in case you forgot where you were. The black nylon duvet covers were Sisu "in a nutshell"

Room and corridor lighting were appaling, how any female guests could put on makeup in the bathrooms is a mystery

The door swipe cards of our group repeatedly failed and needed changing

The food was great. The service from the bar staff was fast and furious and all were friendly and considerate although food bar snack orders were, on one occasion catastrophically wrong and couldn't have got worse unless the waiter tripped and chucked the food over us.

The poolside area is awesome, comfy cool and functional, the jewel in the crown of the hotel but leads on to the bigggest problem with the hotel........The staff and the owners mates seemed to over populate the area and it sometimes felt like they were doing the punters a favour by letting them in to their own personal hotel....

A hotel is for guests not the staff and their mates to swan around on their down time

To conclude, a reasonable hotel with great facilities, it just needs to get the staff up to speed professionally and alter the "Tone" of the place which needs to move from "bank robber" to boutique

Room Tip: take some lube
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theGimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    63
    50
    34
    57
See reviews for
6
60
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Not sure where to start, tacky decor, bad finish, poor management all made my stay a total bore.
Blinds in rooms make it so light you can't sleep past daylight, standard was below my expectations, no spa treatments, uninspiring views, inexperienced manager - the list goes on.
If you wanted to go to a tacky nightclub Sisu would be ideal but if they want to portray a luxurious boutique hotel they are far from it as they need both class and style for this which they seriously lack.
I'm sure the manager once managed a bar or something but that's a different kettle of fish to a 'luxury' hotel.
Drinks and food overpriced and quality of towels etc poor. Exterior does still very much look like a building site and I did see works going on whilst there. No roof terrace as yet and seemingly no intention of things improving.
How on earth they expect to compete with the likes of Don Carlos I will never know...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Banus hotels

Wetherby , West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

If you are thinking about holidaying here then can I also suggest Afganistan, Lybia or the local Salvation Army Hostel as good alternatives

I was there as part of a group and I gladly did not stay at the hotel but had to endure thier attempt at food preperation at a party

The Hotel was unfinished having had a recent reburb which was clearly a work in progress- with bare wires protuding from the unpainted walls in the dinning area, lihts which failed to work, the interesting brick dust scum layer on the pool, and finally the novel vesuvius toilets which were unusable.
The food ? well if Mum goes to Iceland and then undercooks it - then you may be in heaven - the inventive set piece food was two chicken breasts (mine both uncooked and running with blood) frozen chipsand an Iceland desert

Drinks prices varied at each purchase with the staff trying their best to battle against the odds in almost Dunkirk style. They were the best thing about the evening, but it was interesting to note that none of them woked there and had been called in at short notice- a fact they were enthusiastic to tell us

In fairness I was given a strange gloopy rice dish which was the vegitarian option as a replacement meal- a sad attempt at either a Paella or Risotto although I am not sure even having travelled most of the world and eaten in a variety of places
My opinion is that they should not have opened this place up until the work had been completed-
Even when completed this however would do little for its approach or location
My advice save your money or burn it in the back garden

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank otismarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Even though we only stayed at the hotel for 1 day during a business trip and left the room as we had found it 3 days later I recieved an e-mail informing me that the taps had been left on and they had debited my account of 860 euros and were going to take out a further 740 euros. I contacted other residents that I had met there who also had faced the same problem with large amounts of money being debited out of their accounts so beware before booking as it could end up being a very costly stay. Always insist on paying by cash and DO NOT give your credit card details

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpingjackfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This so-so establishment is positioned as some boutique hotel. This boutique term is something dubious I always suspected, especially referring to Sisu.
Ever seen a "boutique" hotel where there is NO water at all in the shower? (They changed our room to another one with water though). Or where a non-smoking room smells tobacco like hell?
If you want Marbella acommodation search somewhee else as Sisu is no so cheap and having inadequate price/quality correlation. Plus there is no self-service (buffet) breakfast - you get some scarce meal from bar tender only.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here the first weekend in May and absolutely loved it. The rooms had just been renovated and were very modern and funky. The pool area was fantastic and perfect for chilling out during the day. Staff were really friendly and helpful, even borrowing a hairdryer for us from another room as there was not one in ours. Location wise it is a bit of a walk ( abt 20 mins) into Puerto Banus or abt 8 euros in a cab.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
Firstly, there was no postcode or address for the hotel and the directions provided were insufficient to locate the hotel. We literally found it by accident after looking for around 1.5 hrs with map/sat nav/hotel directions/asking local hotels for directions etc.
The reception through to the guest rooms were flithy, the noise level was unbearable and hotel staff had no idea of the chaos/noise being caused by other guests throughout the night. We have no one minute of sleep. Air con didn't work, our non smoking room smelled of smoke

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Banus
0.9 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
#1 of 3 in Puerto Banus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Jardines del Puerto
Club Jardines del Puerto
#2 of 3 in Puerto Banus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueBay Banus
BlueBay Banus
#36 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Ctra. N-340 Km 173, 29660 Puerto Banus, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella > Puerto Banus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puerto Banus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a privileged location just one kilometre from the beaches, bars, designer boutiques and restaurants of Puerto Banus which although only a short walk or shorter taxi ride away is far enough for you to relax in peace. The reception is open twenty four hours and secure parking underneath the hotel is complimentary. The hotel has 62 twin-bedded rooms and 2 luxurious themed suites (Moulin Rouge and Scarface). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sisu Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sisu Boutique Hotel Marbella
Sisu Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing