We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1ST CLASS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Sundgovienne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was a last minute booking for an overnight stay for my husband and son who were travelling through to Italy. The reports on tripadvisor were good and they decided they would go a few miles out of their way to experience the Auberge Sundgovienne Hotel, they were not disappointed. They loved the hotel, the staff were accommodating, pleased with the bedrooms allocated to them and plenty of secure car parking. A table was reserved in the resturant as requested and they were full of praise for the food and the general ambience. The cost of the hotel stay and the 3 course meal with beers was well worth what they paid and they would recommend to anyone looking for a good hotel. We intend to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Mrs,

We are happy to read that your husband and son enjoyed her stay in our house.
Hope to welcome the all family for your next trip in Elsass

Best regards,

Mr & Mrs Hermann and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel in a beautiful park-like garden and with a good restaurant. Only complain is that there was no fleksabilitet by seating in the restaurant. We arrived late on a nice warm summer evening and all the outdoor tables were occupied. Although there shortly after became vacant tables on the terrace, we were placed indoors in a dark corner of the restaurant.
We got the feeling as we where on vacation passing by, we got lower priority than frequent guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3460Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we did not proposed you a table at the terrasse.
We do not give higher priority to regular guest but of course the regular guest want us to speak more with him.

best regards,

Mr Hermann and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Returning from Dijon area we had a spare day and needed a hotel near Basel airport. We were actually on our way to the nearby McDonalds in order to use their internet to book a room in the general area when we drove right past this hotel - which I had seen earlier on a booking site and I had remembered the good reviews and reasonable price. It looked so inviting with the lovely gardens and trees and ornamental pond between it and the road - and the carpark was full of cars but they were all lunchtime diners about to leave (2pm). I knew immediately that I would like it and I was right. The building is hardly new but you wouldn't know that from inside - the rooms are very well renovated with many classy touches - electrically-operated blinds for example. I cannot really say much more that hasn't already been said in favour except to say I wish we had another day as I'd had some stressful driving experiences on this trip. There is also a nice patio where we sat in the late afternoon sun for a drink. My only complaint - and this a minor one - we really would have liked breakfast but it finished at 9.30 am and we badly needed more sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

We really appreciate your commentary about your stay in our establishment. We are always doing our best, so the guest have a good stay and good memories.
Thank you very much,
and we will welcome you again with pleasure.

Mrs & M. Hermann
and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here on our way out (and back) from a skiing holiday in Austria and were delighted both times we stayed. In fact we looked forward to our return visit at the end of our holiday.

The external building is pleasant enough, if a little dated but it hides a sophisticated and delightful hotel and restaurant which we would go out of our way to stay at again. The owners were helpful and the food was superb! Our room was clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed including WIFI. The modern bathroom was luxurious with loads of hot water.

Although not cheap at all, the restaurant is clearly very popular with locals, so don't just assume you will automatically get a table on a busy Saturday night. We booked our table for the saturday return on the way out and were very pleased we did! The food is worth every penny.

We would recommend this auberge to anyone looking for a special place to eat and stay on your way through a beautiful part of France. We hope to return again.

Room Tip: As a family of three we stayed in Room 27 which was large with a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWilsonBett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame,
Nous vous remercions pour votre avis très positif qui nous encourage à continuer nos efforts afin de vous satisfaire toujours le mieux possible.
Nous faisons part de vos remarques agréables à l'ensemble de notre personnel.
Meilleures salutations.
HERMANN Jean Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have stayed at the Auberge Sundgovienne on 8 occasions in the past 10 years; each time major improvements were noted in the rooms, in the service, and the overall to detail. All the rooms have be renovated to a excellent standard. The rooms have flat screen TV's, WIFI, AC, new modern bath rooms, and much more. The beds and linens are new and comfortable. The cleanliness is outstanding! The attention to detail and the visual artistic appeal of the rooms is outstanding; the coordination of the colors and furniture is appropriate and appealing to the eye.

The restaurant has been renovated as well; The theme here is Avant-garde; again, appealing to the eye with service to match. The restaurant is huge with an adjoining dining terrace, and a dining bar area. The main dining area is, in our experience, about 80% percent utilized after 7:30 PM. Most of the patrons are locals, which is a testimony to the standard of excellence; most french patronize restaurants of the highest qualily. Seeing 75 to 100 dining patrons is the norm. Even with this large volume of guests, service times are good to excellent. The menu is not large but offers a good selection of meat and fish dishes. The wine list is extensive and filled with high quality choices. The cheese cart offers a wide variety of outstanding possibilities. We live in Germany and have traveled to most European countries over the past 35 years and we rate the dining experience at the Auberge Sundgovienne as outstanding.

We like the fact that the Hotel Restaurant is located outside of a small town and is surrounded by farm fields and forests. Parking is excellent and walking in the fields and forests with our West Highland Terrier 'Millie' is relaxing. The air is clean and refreshing in this region of Alsace. Enough said.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,
C'est avec beaucoup de plaisir que nous avons lu votre avis.
Nous vous remercions pour votre gentillesse et vos encouragements.
Merci à vous !!!
Jean Bernard HERMANN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Having stayed here 18 years ago it was refreshing to see they continue to maintain a good family run hotel. The rooms have been recently refurbished to a great standard, the restaurant too. Very efficient staff and a very pleasant stay. To whoever wishes to stay in this area, I would highly recommend this hotel. When I return to the Sundgau, I shall most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki-Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

We thank you very much for your nice words you have about our hotel.
We try to be better each day and your words help us.
Thank you

HERMANN Jean-Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amannevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Bernard H, Propriétaire at Auberge Sundgovienne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altkirch
7.9 mi away
Residence Le Royal
Residence Le Royal
#1 of 1 in Mooslargue
50 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Villa K Basel Airport
13.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Petit Kohlberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Domaine de Beaupre
Domaine de Beaupre
#1 of 4 in Guebwiller
142 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
13.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Du Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sundgovienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sundgovienne

Address: 1 route de Belfort, 68130, Altkirch, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Altkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Altkirch
Price Range: $103 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Sundgovienne 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 rooms renovated, air conditioned, safe, mini bar,nice park, garage, parking New restaurant air conditioned whith traditionel and moderne cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Sundgovienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing