We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karima Nubian Rest-house
Ranked #1 of 1 Karima B&B and Inns
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So relaxing !”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here travelling with friends visiting Sudan. This is the place to choose as a base to explore the surroundings, and there is plenty to see and experience. The heat is on and the pace is slow, and you really enjoy returning to the Nubian Rest-house where you are well taken care of. Lovely gardens, attentive staff, good italian style food and above all, relaxing. Like being far, far away from the hectic everyday life. Don't forget the star-gazing, crytal clear skies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrodefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

With a view of Jebel Barkal, this is a tastefully designed hotel using traditional materials and building techniques (brick domes, shady terraces, stucco), to create an interesting, secure and pleasant compound with terraced rooms surrounding a green lawn bordered by scented shrubs. There is a large and cool bar/dining terrace and restaurant building decorated with attractive, well chosen, antiques. All very nicely thought out, but above all, welcoming, airy and austerely comfortable. Immaculately clean rooms are spacious with private terraces and big wet-room type bathrooms with bidets. There are no televisions but there is both excellent air-conditioning and fans. Staff were charming, attentive and pleasant. Food was generous and good (especially the ice-cream). Sudan can be a very "dry" place sometimes, I visited in the furnace heat of April, treat yourself and stay here for a little respite and luxury. Commend unreservedly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A two night stay during March. A gentle welcome and total peace. The pictures tell it all. Comfort, no insects,nice food very special accommodation. Air conditioning is standard the bathroom was lovely. I never wanted to leave. Only complaint is that no afternoon tea was offered. Tea and cake would be SO welcome when returning from a long day in the desert. Dinner wasn't until 8 pm and was a set meal. Breakfast was not very inspired.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Nubian Rest house is the ONLY hotel in Karima area and it is very good. Unexpectedly good. Very charming gardens, big rooms , AIRCONDITION !!!, and hot water. No TV No internet.. Very helpfull staff. The food moderate though without inspiration. Unsuccesfull combinations in the dinner time and monotonous breakfast witout fresh fruits. (it was fresh fruitsalad available anyway). We ate better in a simple restaurant near the market . (and at the sister establishment at the Tented Camp in Meroe) This is not a reason to avoid the place. To the contrary, it needs all the support to keep such beutifull places to stay.

Room Tip: Chose a room to the west side of the garden to avoid the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very comfy Nubian style rooms, amazing service. Described in the Bradt guide as the only boutique hotel in Sudan, it has beautiful lawn and Bougainvillea, the service is incredibly attentive, it's spotless everywhere and the rooms and common areas are incredilbly comfy. The food was also very good and we indulged on garden grown salads without getting sick. The location right next to Jebel Barkal is also amazing. The only regrets I had were to not have any TV or internet anywhere, the fact that towels were washed everyday which sadly wasted water, and also the fact the wooden shutter doors opening on the inside garden could be opened from outside the rooms. although we always felt safe while travelling, and the people we interacted with were very friendly and honest, building rooms where anyone can break in so easily seems a needless stress on guests' peace of mind. Final note, the travel agency which owns the hotel and which organized our entire trip is great and very trustworthy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploumParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stubled across this place by accident. The "guest house" we were staying at down the road was disgusting beyond decription so we went looking and found this place. the price is very high but we negotiated a room only price. Pity about the very hot rooms so most of us spent the night on the lawn. At the price being asked aircon is a must but that aside most of us happily paid the price just for the clean toilets and showers which are very hard to comeby outside of Khartoum.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is the only "proper" hotel for many many miles around. We were given a good rate when we turned up as a group on spec. It was a haven of civilization after rough nights on the road, beautifully built with high brick domed rooms reminiscent of pizza ovens, with good towels, showers and linen. Sadly the weather meant that the rooms were as hot as pizza ovens too so we slept outside on the lawn. The staff knew they didn't need to feed us so let us more or less have the run of the place.

Room Tip: Ask about aircon if you are going to be there in the hot season. Otherwise be prepared to sleep out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karima Nubian Rest-house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karima Nubian Rest-house

Property: Karima Nubian Rest-house
Address: Karima, Sudan
Location: Sudan > Northern State > Karima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Karima
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Karima Nubian Rest-House Sudan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing