We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stopping place in Springbok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springbok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annie's Cottage Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 17 Springbok B&B and Inns
Cape Town SA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overnight stopping place in Springbok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had booked here and committed to payment before I read the TripAdvisor reviews. It was therefore with some trepidation that we approached our overnight stay en route from a private wilderness reserve outside Clanwilliam to the Aughrabies Falls near Upington.
We stayed in the Syringa Room.
My reading of the earlier reviews led me to expect a cool and indifferent welcome and an unfriendly set of house rules on arrival. The actual experience was quite different. We had an efficient and cordial welcome, and if there were once evident lists of house rules, they were kept well-hidden during our overnight stay.
The house and rooms are jam packed with over the top collectibles and the decor somewhat garish, but actually quite amusing for an overnight stop.
The room and large en suite bathroom were thoughtfully equipped and stocked with everything a traveller might possibly need.
The breakfast choice was good. One interesting touch was that each table had its own toaster.
All in all a pleasant surprise after the impact of some negative earlier reviews.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapmansChaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

As I am on a round-the-world trip, the opportunities to catch up with oneself are limited, hence a very belated review. However, it is important for people to know that this so-called 4* property merits no stars. The welcome was only gained after ringing a bell and waiting some time for someone to respond - most of the place is locked up, most of the time. The welcome was clinical. The room was enormous, had barely enough light to see the far wall, had a bricked up window in the bathroom and had a set of 'House Rules' on the wall that began: 'PLEASE READ, as the rules will be enforced at all times'. They continued to the tune of 11 rules, which promised various unspeakable punishments, and ended with the words: BY ORDER - indecipherable scribble - MANAGEMENT. You may think that I exaggerate, if you don't believe me pay the extortionately inappropriate rate to view them.

I could go on, but suffice it to say that if I could put no circles in the ratings, I would have done so. I checked out early and found an outstanding place just outside Springbok for much less.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarethatAnnies, Public Relations Manager at Annie's Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
I'm sorry, but I think you may have left this review in error. We have been trying to work out which room you are describing at Annie's Cottage and cannot, there are no bricked up windows. Are you sure you stayed at Annie's?

I am sorry if you had a poor reception here when on your round the world trip, but nothing you describe seems to match Annie's Cottage. We hope we can help you to clear up this misunderstanding.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We chose this guest house to give ourselves a little luxury after a few nights camping in Namibia. We booked the room many months in advance. The room we were allocated was tastefully decorated and we were initially pleased. On closer inspection, the bathroom, was very tired and not as clean as would be expected, considering the price we were paying (R900). We discovered that there was a door adjoining to the apartment next door. When the family next door took up occupancy of their room, we could hear every conversation as if they were in the room with us. Also, we could hear people walking around in the apartment above ours and, as it was all wooden floors, the sound was quite loud. There were also many rules posted around the room and the overall feeling was that guests were a nuisance rather than made to feel welcome. On the plus side, the room had lots of character. The bed was very comfortable and made up with lovely thick linen sheets. If Annie's cottage were charging half of what they charge, it would be great but their prices are high so you have high expectations. Unfortunately, this place does not deliver.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selina012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

Myself, the wife and 2 daughters aged 16 and 10 stayed at Annie's Cottage Guest House in Springbok in early August 2007. From the info on their website it looked upmarket and while the prices were a little high we decided to treat ourselves while on a weekend visit to experience the Namaqualand spring wild flowers, to us the four star grading was also reassuring.

The guest house was full, so arrangements were made for us to stay at a separate flat. On arriving, after the 6 hour drive from Cape Town, we were keen for a cup of coffee only to discover that the milk provided consisted of a carton that had expired a week previously, this was soon followed by the discovery (heralded by howls of dismay from my youngest daughter from the bathroom) that our hosts had provided only half a toilet roll, this was followed by finding used soap in the shower. There was no outdoor furniture provided so we were unable to enjoy the back verandah in any degree of comfort, furthermore the television was unwatchable (the website advertises satellite).

The proprieter was apologetic and moved us into the guest house the next day where the accommodation was certainly much better. The electric under blankets came in very useful as it's pretty cold, with the daytime temperatues hovering around 10 degrees and close to freezing at night. Breakfast however was another story, the tiny breakfast room can only accommodate a small number of guests so there was a long wait and much discomfort while seated as fellow diners struggled to get past to their tables. The breakfast itself on te first 2 days was adequate but on the third and last morning we wanted to get an early start to drive home but ended up waiting for an hour, when the breakfast finally did arrive it cosisted of 2 poached eggs and 2 boiled, the bacon and sausage had been forgotten.

Once again the owner/manager wa apologetic but blamed the problems on the staff. She did offer us a discout but even so it was a most disappointing stay and while they might well have earned 4 stars way back when, the seem to be restin on that "fame" today but are certainly not deliverin an equivalent service. It's overprices and the staff are pretty incompetent.

  • Liked — Beds.
  • Disliked — Staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springbok hotels
1.0 mi away
Springbok Inn
Springbok Inn
#1 of 3 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Springbok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
13.3 mi away
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Naries Namakwa Retreat
#2 of 17 in Springbok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Namastat Lodge & Caravan Park
0.8 mi away
Springbok Apartment
Springbok Apartment
#4 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Daisy Country Lodge
Daisy Country Lodge
#2 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Cottage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Cottage Guesthouse

Property: Annie's Cottage Guesthouse
Address: 4 King Street | Northern Cape, Springbok 8240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Springbok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Springbok
Hotel Class:4 star — Annie's Cottage Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing