We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for us all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springbok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elkoweru Guest House
Ranked #9 of 17 Springbok B&B and Inns
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room for us all”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were a group of 10 friends from Australia travelling Southern Africa. We drove up from Cape Town to Springbok and were not expecting too much in the way of accommodation in this tiny border town. We were so pleasantly surprised by the roominess and homeliness and consider this stay one of our "best finds". The food was plentiful, well prepared and delicious and the cook only too happy to share her recipes. We were in the area in Springtime and the flowers on the way in and out of Springbok were absolutely spectacular. We were sorry that we had not booked for another night or two.

Room Tip: Make a request for the caramel milk tart!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeCWilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

Thanks for your kind word towards us. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Please visit us again and this time ask for the Barone Tart.......I can only have that when my guest have some as well. hehehe being a Sports man i sometimes have to beg. hehe

Thanks for using Elkoweru

see you again
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
10
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Elkuweru was one of the best value-for-money places we stayed at on a 5 week driving tour of Southern Africa. It was clean, well-appointed and spacious and the management went out of their way to make us feel happy, with great food and service. It is ideal for a stop-over on the way from CapeTown to Namibia. In flower season you will find it an ideal base to see the wonders of the Namaqualand daisies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbybellGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

thanks for your kind words. Since you have stayed here we have done many upgrades and new things are in place. So we will love to see you again one day.

In flower season i can plan the best trips for you so you can have the maximum pleasure of Namaqualand

See you soon
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have been visiting Elkoweru Guest House for the last 12 years on our annual flower tour.
Every year it feels like coming home. All our customers simply love the accommodation and good food. This year they even arranged that the snow fell while we were there. Thanks Konrad, see you all again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

It has been such a big honor to have your tour group in my Guest House over the years. We try our best to give something different every year and if you are lucky like you were, a private rehearsal on my music career.

Hope to see you every year.

Stay well see you soon
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Springbok, good price, beautiful place and mainly his owner Konrad Stein, an incredible man that makes you feel just like home. Go there and check it out, I'm sure you won't regret!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

Sergi, one of my guest that i will remember for a lifetime. Friends are made at this place. You are always welcome and it has been such a pleasure for my staff to look after you guys with a cycle trip through Namibia. Well done

Hope to see you soon.
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vredendal
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

ELKOWERU - thanks for the hospitality and delicious meals while travelling! The guesthouse and personnel under the leadership of Konrad Steyn is exceptional and the best in town. Thanks Kappie for an enjoyable two nights and your guesthouse and personnel is superb! Your guesthouse and contribution to Springbok is an asset to the community and will recommend ELKOWERU to all my friends and acquaintances.

Well doen for managing such a jewel in Springbok!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

It has been such a pleasure to accommodate you guys.
Please feel free to visit any time and i hope that will be soon.

Friends are made @ Elkoweru

See you soon
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Elkoweru. Unfortunately we had to take a unit upstairs and my mom had difficulty to walk. Fortunately we were out for most of the day to watch the flowers and we managed. Next time I will make sure that we arrange this in advance. The unit is very spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etresia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaxy0, Owner at Elkoweru Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Good day

I am sorry that you have to climb so many stairs but the reward of the view of Springbok is worth it.

Thanks for staying at Elkoweru and we hope to see you soon

regards
Konrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springbok hotels
1.0 mi away
Springbok Inn
Springbok Inn
#1 of 3 in Springbok
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Springbok
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Springbok Apartment
Springbok Apartment
#3 of 10 in Springbok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Daisy Country Lodge
Daisy Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Springbok
73 reviews
13.2 mi away
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Naries Namakwa Retreat
#2 of 17 in Springbok
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Namastat Lodge & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkoweru Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkoweru Guest House

Property: Elkoweru Guest House
Address: 1 Bree Street | 1 King Street, Springbok 8240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Springbok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Springbok
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkoweru Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is our Specialty!!!Welcome to our Guesthouse!!Elkoweru is set in the heart of Namaqualand's most picturesque town, Springbok.We offer upmarket accommodation and services at budget tariffs.Rooms are maintained and upgraded on a regular basis and we proud ourselves on providing good clean accommodation to fit any pocket. All of our rooms do have air-conditioning, mini fridge and DSTV (sport and movie channels). We offer free, safe parking and free WiFi at reception area. We offer dinner when arranged in advance and nice breakfast options as well. There is also a nice gym/fitness and karate center on the premises. Self drive tours and private tours into Namaqualand with some horse riding, river-rafting & mountain biking can be arranged on request. This is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate the soul. A home away form home. Meet the owner and have some great info on Namaqua Life!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing