We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
198
76
15
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
76
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain suitesmanor housethe main houseself catering cottagebreakfast and dinnercape townincredible viewswonderful foodtwo nightsstunning locationwords cannot describedriving distancetotal silencestaff were fantasticmarked pathspeaceful surroundingsover christmas
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 292 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this lovely place. The food was the best meal we had in South Africa and the staff were as efficient and friendly as ever. If you are anywhere near Springbok this is definitely the best place to stay. They have now built some self catering chalets which also look wonderful with great indoor and outdoor barbecues.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the mountain huts and the manor rooms - I would definitely go for the manor rooms - lovely old rooms, with great bathrooms and a small patio to enjoy the sunshine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a lovely spot to stay if you have to travel via Springbok (it's really quite close in African terms). We were lucky to be able to book the Mountain huts which are beautifully laid out with massive stone protuberances as your bedside tables and a beautiful bathroom. The views are spectacular from their situation and it's lovely to spend time on the stoop pre dinner, there was a well stocked fridge in the hut. We also had visitors, apart from our resident geckos they supply a net for those who don't wish to share a room with them, and one night we had a mouse but unlike the British variety, he looked more like a sweet little gerbil and was pretty desperate to vacate our space. One of our party was Coeliac and the kitchen even made her special bread, in fact every single meal she was especially catered for, this was impressive and much appreciated, the food was very, very good. It's relatively easy to do a day trip to the coast from here. We barely used the main lodge and really wouldn't have wanted to have a room here it was definitely too formal for our taste. I'd love to return and see the famous flowers and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naries, Public Relations Manager at Naries Namakwa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Lindy,

Thank you for your review.
We will pass your praise on to the kitchen crew and hope to have you visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Naries Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited the Naries Namakwa Retreat in Namaqualand, Springbok as part of our tour of the western coast of South Africa and Namibia. It's a lovely retreat, quiet and well-appointed. However, there was no air conditioning in our lodge room, which made sleeping a bit difficult on the hot February night. We had been forewarned about opening the windows and leaving the lights on to avoid inviting Red Roman Spiders or other critters into the room. Needless to say, as we had to keep the windows open in hopes of airflow, I was nervous much of the night, even though we'd stayed at several other resorts with far more worrisome possibilities. Nevertheless, it is a very tranquil setting.

Unfortunately we were unable to stay in a mountain hut, so we did not get to experience what we'd hoped, but the lodge room was generally comfortable. The food was good as was the service, neither being impressive, but no complaints. The pool was disappointingly small, so we didn't swim as another couple were already in it and it wasn't big enough for 4 people to enjoy a good swim. But we did enjoy relaxing on the patio with Bruno, the resident dog... a most amiable big fella. The resident cat was also friendly, but neither were imposing. We encouraged Bruno to walk with us and found him to be quite a delightful dog.

I would recommend this retreat to anyone looking for a quiet respite, but would suggest that, unless you live in South Africa and are just looking for a retreat away from home, it's likely a much better place to visit during the Namaqualand's spectacular wild flower season, which presumably is in September. February was the wrong month for us to visit a spot that we'd hoped would enchant us.

Room Tip: The mountain huts seem to be the big draw to Naries.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoOceanBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naries, Director of Sales at Naries Namakwa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear TorontoOceanBaby,

Thank you for your review about Naries Namakwa Retreat. Feedbacks are always regarded as most helpful to the owners and Naries team in order to "up our game" and assure a memorable experience for our guests.

We make every effort to deliver excellence and assuredly take your stay and review to heart. We are in the process of doing a due diligence on installing air-cons in the Manor House and also establishing an implementation plan towards Green energy usage at Naries.
Kindly do let us know when you plan your next trip towards Springbok area as we would love to upgrade you to one of our Mountain Suites - a full Naries experience.

Kind regards,
Naries Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved our stay! The staff made us feel so welcome and we immediately felt at home. They took such good care of us.
The room we had was lovely and the view out the window was beautiful.
Although its in the middle of nowhere we never felt isolated. There were opportunities for nature walks and a lovely garden
The dinners were delicious.
We recommend this place to anyone who wants peace and quiet away from the busy life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annamarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I drove straight through Springbok to find this place as a result of a recommendation from the previous Lodge - how pleased I was, what a find during my one month tour of SA. So good I stayed for 2 nights......

I had a really well appointed room in the main house, with it's own private terrace . Despite the Jan ambient temperatures the aircon was efficient and quiet, with the public areas in the main house also being pleasantly cool.

I found the food good without being stunning with the service at times being a little hesitant - this may have been due to the fact that I was almost alone, not many tourists are nuts enough to visit this area at this time of the year !

There are several walks through the property to suit all levels of fitness - I was delighted that the resident dog,Bruno, accompanied me on a lengthy (for me) walk up to the overview point, which was worth the effort. He only came when encouraged and didn't 'pester' for those non doggy people out there. In the morning he was lying on my terrace awaiting an encore - lovely.

When I'm in the area next time I won't hesitate to return.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews