We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 19 Springbok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved our stay! The staff made us feel so welcome and we immediately felt at home. They took such good care of us.
The room we had was lovely and the view out the window was beautiful.
Although its in the middle of nowhere we never felt isolated. There were opportunities for nature walks and a lovely garden
The dinners were delicious.
We recommend this place to anyone who wants peace and quiet away from the busy life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annamarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 284 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I drove straight through Springbok to find this place as a result of a recommendation from the previous Lodge - how pleased I was, what a find during my one month tour of SA. So good I stayed for 2 nights......

I had a really well appointed room in the main house, with it's own private terrace . Despite the Jan ambient temperatures the aircon was efficient and quiet, with the public areas in the main house also being pleasantly cool.

I found the food good without being stunning with the service at times being a little hesitant - this may have been due to the fact that I was almost alone, not many tourists are nuts enough to visit this area at this time of the year !

There are several walks through the property to suit all levels of fitness - I was delighted that the resident dog,Bruno, accompanied me on a lengthy (for me) walk up to the overview point, which was worth the effort. He only came when encouraged and didn't 'pester' for those non doggy people out there. In the morning he was lying on my terrace awaiting an encore - lovely.

When I'm in the area next time I won't hesitate to return.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was 38 degrees when we arrived and hence I was very worried about staying in a grass hut with no aircon. We were welcomed into the main house which was cool, airy and beautiful. We had a cool drink and then some wine out by the pool under the shade of a tree while we waited for our "hut" to be ready. A 'hut' it was not, The unit was massive, cool, and furnished like a five star lodge. The thatch and height made it extremely cool. We had a wonderfull night stay and enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast. The service from all staff was very good and the manageress/owner was very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A wonderful self catering paradise. The house had two good sized bedrooms. One with two single beds and the other with a large king size bed - both en suite.

We stayed in the unit over new year and we had dinner at the main house. The food was outstanding and the owners went to great lengths to make the experience very festive.

We drove up to the look out point for sunset one evening - very peaceful and pretty!

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in Mountain Suite 3, which is the best from all mountain suites. It is further apart from the other suites and much bigger then the other 2 as well. We stayed there for 3 nights. Needless to say, it will be the most relaxing holiday you take because there is not much to do as the closest town is 30km away. This means there is nothing other than the bush. The first night was ok, we were kind of scared because after supper you have to drive back to the suite which is 1km away. You are equipped with a flashlight that doesnt beam of alot of light and you are in total darkness. You must find your way to the entrance between large boulders. You get used to it on your 3rd night. The rooms are just spectacular. What a great idea of using natural boulders in the rooms. Everything is so neat and tidy and comes equipped with a net for catching the gecko's that might invade your room. Also comes with a can of pesticide (and you will use it) the spiders there, do not want to play. On our last night, we had quite an unwanted visitor. Apparently a Gemsbok mouse. He was having quite a good time trying to find food while we slept. Making a noise as he rummaged through our stuff. What a cute little mouse, but he kept us up all night as we were afraid he would run over our faces as we slept!
The food at Naries is nothing short of spectacular. Everything was plated magnificently. So magnificent that you would not even want to eat it. The taste is amazing and honestly the best part of Naries. Each course is brought to you in perfect time as well. Does not take too long and also is not so quick that you have to gulp everything down just to get to the next course.
The views are breathtaking. Between the mountains everything is so clean and fresh. It will be the cleanest air you will ever breathe.
There was a resident cat and dog who we loved playing with although Bruno the dog gave us quite the fright when we first met him...in the dark...in the wilderness...with no one around!
All in all, what an amazing experience. It is about 14 hours away from JHB and a very quiet drive there. I would love to return to Naries in the future.

Room Tip: Mountain Suite 3 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SexygalJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

In November I stayed 3 nights at Naries. Booked a room in the main building. The staff was very attentive. Great 3 course dinner and you choice of 2 different one. Breakfast buffet was also very good. I liked the Muesli!!! Its right the place is quit lonely 27 kms from Springbok away. But you know it before you book a room up there. After all driving through the country I was glad to get a break in this beatiful landscape.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rositha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Late November and again early December, either side of a long drive from Cape Town up into Namibia. Everything superb from reception on arrival to checkout. The food especially is well worth noting. A delightful fusion of the freshest ingredients and an artistic prersentation. Seldom do I ever photograph food - but here I did ! The mountain suites are very romantic - indeed we had two nights in one - which was a huge 'Honeymoon Suite' but on our return two weeks later had a different one as Honeymooners were actually 'active' ! No matter, both were splendid. Extremely peaceful with stunning views. Staff could not be morte helpful. Exceptionally well done, Naries - we'll be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springbok hotels
13.6 mi away
Springbok Inn by Country Hotels
14.3 mi away
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Springbok
132 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sperrgebiet Lodge
Sperrgebiet Lodge
#1 of 10 in Springbok
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Lodge
Blue Diamond Lodge
#5 of 19 in Springbok
9 reviews
14 mi away
Desert Rose Guest House
Desert Rose Guest House
#8 of 19 in Springbok
18 reviews
13 mi away
Daisy Country Lodge
Daisy Country Lodge
#2 of 10 in Springbok
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naries Namakwa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naries Namakwa Retreat

Address: Klienzee Road, Springbok 8240, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Springbok
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Springbok
Price Range: $124 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naries Namakwa Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naries Namakwa Retreat, a hideaway in the heart of Namakwaland (27 km from Springbok; South Africa), offers a unique EXPERIENCE! What makes us unique? (a) Beautiful & Romantic Hideaway from City Life; (b) Personal Care; (c) Unique & Diverse variety of quality accommodation; (d) Opportunities to explore Namakwaland; (e) Wild Flower & Succulent Paradise; (f) Delicious gourmet meals, (g) the best ½-way stop between Cape Town & Namibia…+ many more memorable surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Naries Namakwa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing