We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful attention to detail”
Review of Dusk to Dawn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusk to Dawn B&B
Ranked #1 of 15 Piet Retief B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kildare
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful attention to detail”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful place and convenient stopover if heading from Johannesburg towards the coast. Our room (Sunbirds View) was beautiful, and attention to detail was astounding. We arrived too late for dinner so it was awaiting us in our room - delicious. Very friendly owners, lovely farmhouse to wander around, with the dogs to keep you company. If you have any interest in bird-watching, the variety of birds around the farm is amazing - weaver birds weaving their nests in trees, sunbirds as advertised in the tree outside our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
120
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the warm welcome to the personalized table setting, including a Canadian flag, Dusk to Dawn hosts and staff made our stay a memorable experience. It is a working farm but this is no ordinary farm accommodation. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and well appointed, with many extra thoughtful touches. Tea, coffee, sherry, homemade rusks to welcome us. A quiet night's sleep...although it is a farm and roosters and pigs get up early. Nice walks around the farm and through the fields, a beautiful garden of flowers, lots of interesting animals to see. And then the meals! Breakfast and dinner were delicious and beautifully presented. We would return just for the excellent food. And we certainly wished we had planned to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Crikey, where to start? A tip - when en route from Jo'burg to KZN, drive the 30 or so kms past Piet Retief on the 'work-in-progress' N2, negotiate the typical 2km farm track and prepare to be blown away by the jewel that is Dawn To Dusk at the end. Without doubt, DTD is the best 'Greenwood Guide' accommodation we have ever stayed in. Robin's Rest cottage is an example of show-home living - sumptuous, comfortable and warm - and the main house is equally alive and welcoming. Our lovely hosts were so genuine and the food was Michelin-Star quality, from Dinner to Breakfast. We made the mistake of staying only one night, whilst in transit. In truth, DTD provides so many attractions and facilities - from the working farm to the extensive birding opportunities - that two or three nights would not be out of the question. Just be prepared to loosen your waistbands! The signs along the entrance track urge you too keep going, as you're nearly there. Believe us, you'll know when you've arrived and will take a lot of persuading to leave. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Splash out that little extra on the cottage. Sumptuous seclusion with far-reaching views and the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vestysoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We came a Friday night, tired after driving the whole day and were greeted in the yard upon arrival with a: "dinner is ready" and what a dinner. 4 course succulent meal, carefully prepared, choice of two mains and desserts too. Everything from home grown farm produce, from the pork till next morning's fantastic marmelades. We came with friends, all of us well seasoned world travelers who love good food, and here was a meal to behold!! My compliments..

And too all of you who go, make sure to stock up on the fantastic marmelades, jams and white honey at the farm shop before you go. Another pleasant feature was the nice service and very friendly atmosphere from the hosts including their two charming, young daughters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirgitChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
880 reviews
482 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 947 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Like others, we needed a place to stay driving the Johannesburg, Kruger, KZN circuit. It would be impossible to find a better midpoint place to stay. The owners have gone "all out" to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Dinner is gourmet, delicious and ample (they even put your names on the menu!). Breakfast was equally fancy and tasty. They've obviously been doing this awhile and they have the experience (and personalities) to be excellent, professional hosts.

Rooms are well furnished in farmhouse manor. Grounds are beautiful (OK, there can be a bit of a pig farm smell at times). The hospitality is excellent; my kids were given the opportunity to help feed the farm animals and, when we couldn't get my ipad to work, I was cheerfully allowed to borrow the office computer. When another guest cancelled, we were given an extra bedroom to "spread out."

Use their map and there is no difficulty finding the farm.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Feel the warm welcome of the working farm. We felt welcome and liked the excellent service, if you are there all by yourself than use the 'room service' and take a dinner in Robin's nest.

We also have done the farm tour which was interesting, although it is an extra you could expect it to be part of the package. Anyway just do it and take it all in.

We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great stop off between Kruger & the Indian Ocean. Was good to have the GPS as it's some distance off the main highway...traveling a dirt road over several miles pasture & cattle, we nearly turned around, but a sign popped up to encourage us..." keep going, it will be worth the drive" or something to that effect...it worked...we kept going! What a pleasant oasis when we arrived before sunset. The rooms are rustic deluxe with so many nice touches. The dining was superb, with the daughters helping to serve the multi course dinner. Breakfast was equally delightful...& plentiful....Johan runs the ranch & his wife runs the B&B with help of the 2 daughters. The bacon comes direct from their own stock & is something I still talk about. Would definitely recommend it for a multiple night stay.

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piet Retief
24.5 mi away
Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
22.8 mi away
Emahlathini Guestfarm
Emahlathini Guestfarm
#3 of 15 in Piet Retief
80 reviews
18.8 mi away
Aloe Country Lodge
Aloe Country Lodge
#2 of 15 in Piet Retief
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
B@Home Guest House
B@Home Guest House
#4 of 15 in Piet Retief
25 reviews
18.2 mi away
Piet Retief Guesthouse & Conference Centre
18.5 mi away
Holme Lea Manor
Holme Lea Manor
#6 of 15 in Piet Retief
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusk to Dawn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusk to Dawn B&B

Property: Dusk to Dawn B&B
Address: Farm Wagendrift, Piet Retief 2380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Piet Retief
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Piet Retief
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dusk to Dawn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusk to Dawn is a spacious country guesthouse in the most southern tip of Mpumalanga - the place of the rising sun.Johann and Gudrun Engelbrecht have turned their family home into a friendly and welcoming half-way stop for tourists and visitors en route on the N2 from the Kruger National Park or Gauteng to the Kwa-Zulu Natal North Coast or vice versa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Dusk to Dawn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing