We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice day out for the family

Kids really enjoyed the candle making, zip lining and train ride. Excellent variety of shopping as... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Daoud A
,
Durban, South Africa
Nice variety of options

Piggy Wiggly is an institution really. A variety of interesting stores with more and more food... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Matvl
via mobile
Read all 405 reviews
  
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
182
156
49
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
156
49
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews candle dipping midlands meander train ride pizza interesting shops wine shop putt putt mini train jungle gym shops and restaurants mini golf bread zip line something for everyone three fat pigs great for kids whole family
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 405 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2017

We were forced to find a safe place due to the rain which caused a huge truck to tumble over and found the road to be closed. We were pleasantly surprised by this lovely place, quaint little shops, especially the specialized kitchen shop AND the chocolate shop. The restaurant served us quick but the chicken and mango salad I had was an absolute disappointment: the mango didn't even taste like mango(it came from a tin and was soggy and almost white) and I won't recommend it to anyone. Suggestion: please remove it from the menu OR replace it with fresh mango WHEN in season. A lovely place that i will like to visit on a warm day(as it was soaking wet and raining during our visit).

Thank Prof. Elain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Prof. Elain V

Thank you for your lovely review and suggestions, these are always much appreciated. We are so glad you found Piggly Wiggly on a whim and found it to be such an exciting place to visit - we look forward to seeing you again on a sunnier day :).

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Popular tourist centre in the Natal Midlands. Plenty of unique and quant little shops ranging from art studios, boutique clothing stalls, chocolate tasting to unique sculpted garden furniture and sculptings. Something for everyone. Piggly Wiggly is the ever popular restaurant/coffee shop with a great menu and fantastic coffee options. We particularly enjoyed their open chiabata breads with smoked trout and another with black forest ham with cream cheese and fig bits among others. Great spot for families and people watching. Extremely popular so either book a table or be prepared to wait a little for a table, which the friendly staff will kindly book and call you when your table is available. There is plenty to see during a pleasant stroll in the little village of shops until your table is ready. Well worth the wait and a visit.

Thank JKahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear JKahlers

Thank you for sharing such a lovely, well rounded Piggly Wiggly experience with us!

We like to think of Piggly Wiggly as a destination rather then a "stop off". There are some lovely shops, as you have mentioned, with the most amazing variety of things - there really is something to appeal to everyone. Piggly Wiggly is a place where people are able to slow down, enjoy some of our amazing local talent, good food, lovely atmosphere, fresh air and share our beautiful part of the Midlands.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Lots of shops and art, with lots to do and eat for the whole family. Lovely atmosphere with a play area in the middle of the shops.

Thank W1l6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear W1l6

Thank you for visiting Piggly Wiggly, we are glad it was an environment which felt safe and fun for the whole family.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This place seems to have lost some of its ambiance here and appears a little run down.Despite that it is a pleasant stopping off point.

Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Peter F

This seems to be more a case of opinion then fact.

Piggly Wiggly is in no way run down - we spend a lot of time constantly improving and maintaining our property to ensure it is a safe and welcoming environment for all of our visitors. We have a dedicated team whom look after our property, gardens, buildings and finishes on a constant basis.

If you feel otherwise as mentioned this may be a case of personal opinion, which you are entitled to.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

The stalls are lovely ....

BUT As for the staff at the RESTAURANT.... don't bother. The staff are rude and you don't get your order then you pay for something you didn't want!

I had 3 invalids with me and all I got was attitude!

I'll NEVER go back and I will DEFINITELY TELL ALL MY FRIENDS DONT BOTHER!

2  Thank tracyvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear tracyvanrooyen

We are completely open to negative reviews, as well as criticism and suggestions - however in cases such as this, there is so little one can do afterwards with a review such as this. In any instance where one feels less then happy at a restaurant, would it not be best to ask to speak to a manager or owner so that they are able to see the problem at hand and assist in dealing with it at the time.

We have 2 to 3 managers on duty at any given time to help our team and I myself am also at Piggly Wiggly to assist. Our staff are well trained and we receive many lovely comments about their service, hospitality and friendliness - this seems like a very strange circumstance and we can only ask that you would reconsider visiting us as this is in no way a norm.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews