We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Piggly Wiggly

Piggly Wiggly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: What started out as a humble farm stall, Piggly Wiggly has developed into one of KZN's premier eat-shop-play destinations. Situated on the Highgate Wine Estate in Lions River, Piggly Wiggly Country Village now offers over 25 unique shops and loads of family entertainment including the Biggest Maze in Africa, Piggy Putt (rockventure golf) and soon will see the launch of The Biggest Piggy Bank in the Southern Hemisphere of which all proceeds will go to selected charities. Situated on the ever popular Midlands Meander route, Piggly Wiggly Country Village showcases the finest arts, shopping and entertainment offerings and is ideal for any family, corporate event and club activity.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This place seems to have lost some of its ambiance here and appears a little run down.Despite that it is a pleasant stopping off point.

Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Peter F

This seems to be more a case of opinion then fact.

Piggly Wiggly is in no way run down - we spend a lot of time constantly improving and maintaining our property to ensure it is a safe and welcoming environment for all of our visitors. We have a dedicated team whom look after our property, gardens, buildings and finishes on a constant basis.

If you feel otherwise as mentioned this may be a case of personal opinion, which you are entitled to.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"candle dipping"
in 35 reviews
"train ride"
in 21 reviews
"pizza"
in 19 reviews
"midlands meander"
in 43 reviews
"interesting shops"
in 15 reviews
"wine shop"
in 14 reviews
"putt putt"
in 11 reviews
"mini train"
in 10 reviews
"jungle gym"
in 9 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 8 reviews
"mini golf"
in 8 reviews
"bread"
in 8 reviews
"zip line"
in 7 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 16 reviews
"three fat pigs"
in 6 reviews
"great for kids"
in 6 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 6 reviews
Filter

69 - 73 of 394 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2017

The stalls are lovely ....

BUT As for the staff at the RESTAURANT.... don't bother. The staff are rude and you don't get your order then you pay for something you didn't want!

I had 3 invalids with me and all I got was attitude!

I'll NEVER go back and I will DEFINITELY TELL ALL MY FRIENDS DONT BOTHER!

2  Thank tracyvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear tracyvanrooyen

We are completely open to negative reviews, as well as criticism and suggestions - however in cases such as this, there is so little one can do afterwards with a review such as this. In any instance where one feels less then happy at a restaurant, would it not be best to ask to speak to a manager or owner so that they are able to see the problem at hand and assist in dealing with it at the time.

We have 2 to 3 managers on duty at any given time to help our team and I myself am also at Piggly Wiggly to assist. Our staff are well trained and we receive many lovely comments about their service, hospitality and friendliness - this seems like a very strange circumstance and we can only ask that you would reconsider visiting us as this is in no way a norm.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We stopped off at Piggly Wiggly for a drink and a spot of shopping. There were so many lovely shops to browse and we came away with quite a few goodies. Definitely a great place for families as mum can shop, dad can eat and the kids have a variety of things to keep them entertained.

1  Thank 772JacquiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear 772JacquiT

Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stop in at Piggly Wiggly. It is so great to hear that your family had such a great time all together - we are lucky to have some amazing local shops as well as activities that are great for families.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

It's worth a stroll around but everything seemed very expensive. R80 for a 120m foofie slide ride would be expensive for a family I would think

Tried the coffee shop restaurant but service was non existent so we walked out.

Many of the shops seemed very quiet with no clientele so one wonders how these types of tourist businesses survive.

Thank Richardbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Richardbent

Thank you for your comments. Our shops are home to some very unique, interesting and beautiful products - some completely unique to Piggly Wiggly, and this draws alot of people to visit, and makes for many happy visitors.

We have also worked together with some of the most incredible people and businesses who provide our activities, and while some may see them as pricey, they are certainly different, unique and really fun!

Careful research is done to ensure our pricing on all levels (food, shops and activities) are in line with our competitors and environment.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017

May quant outlets to browse and shop. Restaurant on site and an easy drive from the Nottingham Road Area.

Thank Marnewick_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Marnewick_JP

What a lovely drive through the Midlands from Nottingham Road to Piggly Wiggly, we are glad you were able to experience that and appreciate you stopping in for a visit.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggly Wiggly also viewed

Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Piggly Wiggly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing