We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting bunch of tourist shops”
Review of Piggly Wiggly

Piggly Wiggly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: What started out as a humble farm stall, Piggly Wiggly has developed into one of KZN's premier eat-shop-play destinations. Situated on the Highgate Wine Estate in Lions River, Piggly Wiggly Country Village now offers over 25 unique shops and loads of family entertainment including the Biggest Maze in Africa, Piggy Putt (rockventure golf) and soon will see the launch of The Biggest Piggy Bank in the Southern Hemisphere of which all proceeds will go to selected charities. Situated on the ever popular Midlands Meander route, Piggly Wiggly Country Village showcases the finest arts, shopping and entertainment offerings and is ideal for any family, corporate event and club activity.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

It's worth a stroll around but everything seemed very expensive. R80 for a 120m foofie slide ride would be expensive for a family I would think

Tried the coffee shop restaurant but service was non existent so we walked out.

Many of the shops seemed very quiet with no clientele so one wonders how these types of tourist businesses survive.

Thank Richardbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Richardbent

Thank you for your comments. Our shops are home to some very unique, interesting and beautiful products - some completely unique to Piggly Wiggly, and this draws alot of people to visit, and makes for many happy visitors.

We have also worked together with some of the most incredible people and businesses who provide our activities, and while some may see them as pricey, they are certainly different, unique and really fun!

Careful research is done to ensure our pricing on all levels (food, shops and activities) are in line with our competitors and environment.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"candle dipping"
in 35 reviews
"train ride"
in 21 reviews
"pizza"
in 19 reviews
"midlands meander"
in 43 reviews
"interesting shops"
in 15 reviews
"wine shop"
in 14 reviews
"putt putt"
in 11 reviews
"mini train"
in 10 reviews
"jungle gym"
in 9 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 8 reviews
"mini golf"
in 8 reviews
"bread"
in 8 reviews
"zip line"
in 7 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 16 reviews
"three fat pigs"
in 6 reviews
"great for kids"
in 6 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 6 reviews
Filter

69 - 73 of 391 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2017

May quant outlets to browse and shop. Restaurant on site and an easy drive from the Nottingham Road Area.

Thank Marnewick_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Marnewick_JP

What a lovely drive through the Midlands from Nottingham Road to Piggly Wiggly, we are glad you were able to experience that and appreciate you stopping in for a visit.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Always buzzing at Piggy Wiggly, all members of the family have been catered for, From the old book shop to exclusive wine at exclusive prices to a mini train and jungle gym. Well worth having an afternoon visit.

Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear PJB

We glad you enjoyed your visit and the variety of the many shops available at Piggly Wiggly. Everyone has different favorites and its so lovely to hear back from our visitors - thank you for sharing.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

This attraction is a lovely venue for kids and adults alike. With many restaurants and coffee shops, there are many options. However, the main restaurant gets very busy for main meal times, but the pizza restaurant is excellent - quick, good variety of pizzas and reasonable prices. The little train which goes around Piggly Wiggly is a great hit and well worth taking the short trip. The shops at Piggly Wiggly are many and varied and the staff very friendly and service orientated. Candle-making is a bit hit for the kids too.

Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Gibbsfamily

Thank you for your lovely review the Gibbs Family. The coffee shop can become busy at times, as many places do over meal times. We do have a great queuing system where you are able to leave your number with our hostess and continue to shop and play, once a table becomes available they then give you a call and you can come when you are ready.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Great for kids, candle dipping, chocolate dipping, train ride, good food and exclusive shopping options.

Thank saurabhbali19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudi K, Owner at Piggly Wiggly, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear saurabhbali19

It sounds as though you had a great time! We see many happy families enjoying the variety of activities and shops at Piggly Wiggly in the school holidays and over weekends, we are so glad you had this experience too.

Kind Regards

Rudi Kassier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggly Wiggly also viewed

Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Balgowan, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Piggly Wiggly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing