We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nottingham Road Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$147
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$94
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
121
188
75
28
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
188
75
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnotties hotelthe pubgarden suitequaint hotelgreat atmospherenew wingstay there againmidlands meanderpleasant stayfriday nightold world charmnext morningdining roomcurryenjoyed our stayattending a weddingdelicious food
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 424 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great little hotel in the heart of Nottingham Road. Dining room staff friendly and the lamb shanks and ox-tail were superb. Lovely 'old world' ambiance. Nice relaxed after dinner drink in the historic pub. Did not get the see the ghost!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Perhaps a table/desk in the room might be helpful to answer emails. We overnighted having come from a wedding and then having a business day in Durban, but most people answer emails overnight now. Table excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Linda f, Owner at The Nottingham Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel, your comments, are noted and will be addressed, Nottingham road hotel, the home of the Legendary Notties pub is in the process of undergoing some major renovations, both on the interior and Exterior, in doing so we are hoping not detract from the original charm of an old hotel, with comfortable furnishings and a festive pub.

Should you ever you are in the area we would love you to stop over and view our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was a trip down memory lane as we last stayed at Notties 32 years ago. Olde world charm with unique setting. Good food, great pub ambience and friendly helpful staff. Not much has changed - a timeless piece of the Natal Midlands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Not one staff member had a long face which already puts one at ease. Do not expect modern frills , this is not what this hotel is about. We slept in large , charming ensuite rooms with high ceilings ..... huge double beds! Very Clean and well presented.
Bar Staff in famous old pub were always smiling. Food was priced right and well prepared ...... Waiters knew what they were doing , service was flawless , again with a smile.
Breakfast was just as good.
Taking into account the exclusive charm of the hotel and the fact that breakfast was included in our tariff , I think my room was fairly priced.
Overall - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! especially for that romanic night or two away.

Room Tip: A room on the far side , away from the pub and disco.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night only but It was wonderful because the staff were very helpful and came to help us for everything we needed. The staff also helped us to point towards the activities. Thank You Very Much!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews