We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Nottingham Road Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was a trip down memory lane as we last stayed at Notties 32 years ago. Olde world charm with unique setting. Good food, great pub ambience and friendly helpful staff. Not much has changed - a timeless piece of the Natal Midlands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 379 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Not one staff member had a long face which already puts one at ease. Do not expect modern frills , this is not what this hotel is about. We slept in large , charming ensuite rooms with high ceilings ..... huge double beds! Very Clean and well presented.
Bar Staff in famous old pub were always smiling. Food was priced right and well prepared ...... Waiters knew what they were doing , service was flawless , again with a smile.
Breakfast was just as good.
Taking into account the exclusive charm of the hotel and the fact that breakfast was included in our tariff , I think my room was fairly priced.
Overall - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! especially for that romanic night or two away.

Room Tip: A room on the far side , away from the pub and disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night only but It was wonderful because the staff were very helpful and came to help us for everything we needed. The staff also helped us to point towards the activities. Thank You Very Much!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a pleasant stay here, there could have been someone on reception to greet us but quite soon we were checked in and whisked to our room. The rooms are basic and the place could do with a lick of paint but the bed comfortable and showers had hot water. The bar staff were friendly and the breakfast good. I would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauljonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We did lunch only. This place is what we would consider the Nottingham Hotel would be in Merry Old England. We chose to dine inside on their lamb specialty. Delicious. Many of the locals chose to dine in the garden. Photo attached.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank itsmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 evenings with my parents in rooms 5 and 6 and definitely won't go back. The rooms were musty and smelled strongly of damp. You could also see patches of damp bubbled walls. Not healthy. Many of the wooden ceiling boards were rotten. The showers had a lot of black mildew and the bath drains in room 5 were blocked with previous people's hair. My mother had to clean it out herself to get the water to drain properly. On the Sunday evening there were people making a hell of a noise at the bar until the early hours of the morning. The only decent thing was the food in the restaurant which was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarisaSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A group of us left ourselves short on time and accomodation after leaving the location where my daughter's wedding had been held the day before. Not the sort of place I would normally seek out but it was early evening and we had no where else to stay. When we got there I was very dubious and especially so when I noticed our bedspread was in a grubby condition. Having said that everything else was suitably clean though a bit old and shabby. We had everything we needed, a hot shower, comfortable bed with clean everything other than the bedspread. Plenty of coffee, tea etc. The staff were pleasant and breakfast the next day wasn't lacking in anyway. We didn't hear any of the noise from the bar at all. I felt it was suitably priced. So if you're on a budget or in an emergency like us then will fill the gap. Under the same circumstances I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham Road hotels
4.3 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
222 reviews
5.5 mi away
Thatchings Guest House
Thatchings Guest House
#6 of 17 in Nottingham Road
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 17 in Nottingham Road
208 reviews
4.4 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Milton Bed & Breakfast
Little Milton Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Nottingham Road
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nottingham Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nottingham Road Hotel

Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nottingham Road Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce that through a lot of hard work and feedback from our valued clients we have upgraded the main hotel to the TGCSA 3 star grading as well as added an additional 10 garden suites which came online in March 2016 bringing the total number of rooms to 24 or sleeping 48 guests. The Nottingham Road Hotel has attained a 3 star grading from TGCSA. The Nottingham Road hotel or "Notties Hotel a pub with room" as it is more affectionately known (est 1854) is a beautifully restored country hotel in the central Midlands. It is a place where one is welcomed with traditional warm, family style hospitality. A must see for anyone in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Nottingham Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing