We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawklee Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here one night and had a fantastic stay. The new owners Belinda and Dean makes you feel so welcome and is a wonderful couple. Breakfast is an amazing feast. Yes the rooms are a bit dated but it gives the whole place a old world feel and charm. Everything is spotless and there is a lot of attention to detail. Walks next to the river was lovely, we can't wait to go back for longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamelion224, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so glad that your enjoyed your stay. All the Cottages of Hawklee have undergone a revamp with an interior decorator so we hope the next time you visit Hawklee your stay will be even a better one. Thank you for being such lovely quests it makes it so enjoyable for Dean and myself. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    62
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
142
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Only one night here, but thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a comfortable, elegant room with a spa bath large enough for the two of us (!). Woke to the sounds of the lovely flowing creek below, which covered all road noise for us (the place is very close to a main road). Good dinner but perhaps an even better breakfast with a fine view. Belinda and Dean couldn't have been nicer or more friendly and hospitable. Sunny terrace was most pleasant.

Room Tip: Traveling companion told us the little round single room by the road was noisy at night -- ours (Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawklee1, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review, November 2, 2015
Dear R00Cat

Thank you for experiencing Hawklee country House with us. We were so new in the hospitality business in 2011 and valued your comments. We hope you visit us again

Regards
Dean and Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We were so excited about arriving at Hawklee and the surroundings did not disappoint. We made it clear that we were on our honeymoon and wanted as much privacy as possible. Unfortunately when we arrived our room was the closest to the main building! Not only this the room was extremely disappointing. It was dated, with two retirement chairs facing the view with a fridge on top of a table in the corner of the room. We are used to travelling in and around South Africa in 4/5 star establishments and were somewhat shocked. We even ordered the 'honeymoon' package which consisted of a R35 bottle of J C Le roux plonk and some cheap chocolates spread over the bed! Not the most romantic.
We lost the deposit by leaving the accommodation 30 mins after we arrived as there were no other rooms made available to us which could have been more to our liking.
Very disappointing........

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europe2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamelion224, Owner at Hawklee Country House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hawklee is under new ownership and we have revamped Hawklee to a modern Hawklee. Pl;ease do come visit the new Owners Dean and Belinda and we are sure your stay will be very enjoyable

Regards
Dean and Belinda
Owners Hawklee Country house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
9.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
206 reviews
10.9 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
84 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 18 in Nottingham Road
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whispering Waters
Whispering Waters
#1 of 3 in Fort Nottingham
140 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 18 in Nottingham Road
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawklee Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawklee Country House

Property: Hawklee Country House
Address: Nottingham Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawklee Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawklee Country house is situated 13 km outside Nottingham Road on the Fort Nottingham Road. We offer 5 individual thatched cottages with their own private spa baths. You can have a delightful spa bath in the privacy of your own room while overlooking the Lion's River with a magnificent view. Our 6th cottage is situated in the garden called "The Rose" cottage with a lovely view of the forest in the distance. En suite bathrooms with showers. The bedroom has either a queen or king bed and a small sitting room so you can enjoy the view while you read a book. Hawklee offers a fun 6 hole mashie golf course, fly fishing in the river, scenic walks, a wide variety of bird life and luxurious picnics along the river's edge. We have a lovely bar area called "The Leopard's Lair" with a sitting room that has a log fire for those cold winter days. We serve dinners in the evenings which is a 3 course menu with a choice on the menu. Come and enjoy the peace and serenity of Hawklee and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hawklee Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing