We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for The Midlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatchings Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A great spot for The Midlands”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Trevor's hospitality was superb! From the moment we arrived to when we left, he was attentive and extremely helpful. The setting and gardens are immaculate and the property is spotless. It does, however require some attention in terms of the furnishings etc. Our shower also needed to be upgraded but other than that, it was great. The room was spacious and the fact that it was quite chilly meant that we needed to make use of the heater and electric blanket which was a godsend! We were disappointed that we could not get in and stay there again next month when we have to attend another function.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
32
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A gem in the Midlands, run by Trevor and Susan, one of the most hospital couple we have met. From first second til we left we felt like part of the family. First morning when we woke up we saw Zebras walking outside the window which was amazing. Thatching's lies in beautiful settings very close from N3 so easy to access and is a great starting point for several guided routes of discovery of local treasures/businesses. Home away from home may be a overused term, though with Trevor and Susan you really feel Home away from Home. We would love to come back next time in SA.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were welcomed by Trevor who was the most attentive,helpful and friendly host.This establishment has the most spectacular setting with the main lounge and view point overlooking the wonderful dam and scenery.

The food is superb and far better than many restaurants that I have dined at.The room was spacious and wonderfully warm with the lovely duvet and electric blankets which were a blessing as we were hit by a sudden cold snap.

A perfect stop over on the way down to Durbs.Thanks so much for your warm hospitality--sure to be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Thatchings for the first night of our honeymoon and we would highly recommend it for a bridal couple getting married in the Midlands. The bridal suite is an extremely good size, it's well furnished, very comfortable and Trevor and the team did the room up beautifully with flowers, chocolates and champagne for when we arrived back from the wedding. I stayed in the bridal suite the night before the wedding too & the room was perfect for getting ready for the wedding. As the room is so spacious, there is plenty of room for a bridal party to get ready without feeling that you are getting in each other's way. Thatchings is in a beautiful setting and we also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast over looking the dam with the resident duiker making an appearance in the garden too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, Owner at Thatchings Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Hayley,

Thank you for your review.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you on your special day.
We wish you everything of the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent two nights here in September for a friend's wedding held just down the road. When we arrived the welcome from Trevor and Susan was lovely and you immediately felt at home. We were not staying in the main buildling, but were outside in the upstairs in one of the two houses in the grounds. The bedroom was well decorated and had the added touch of an open bathroom where you could lie and look out onto the fields, and spot a zebra if you were lucky!
The view from the breakfast room down to the lake was lovely, and one of the party even had an early morning swim down there!
A very nice stay.

Room Tip: I would choose the outside houses as they had a lovely bath area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor R, Owner at Thatchings Guest House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you at some other time.
We are continually trying to improve the guest experience and to make Thatchings the place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently spent just one night at the Thatching Guest House while attending a friend's wedding just up Nottingham road. We thoroughly enjoyed the gorgeous views and warm hospitality! We will definately be back again! Thanks Trevor and Susan!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mathebe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently spent 3 lovely days at Thatchings Guest House in the KwaZulu Natal Midlands.
The hosts Trevor and Susan were an absolute gem and were very caring and hospitable.
They told us that they had just completed an upgrade to all of their bedrooms and I must say that the rooms looked stunning.The new furniture, carpets and bathrooms definitely impressed us.The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our bed was a queen size bed with a goose-down duvet and electric blankets, which is a welcome in the winter months.New flat screen TV’s have been installed but a limited choice of channels.Being winter we were able to see a number of wild animals on the property.Trevor said that the animals come up in winter to eat the garden.We were able to feed a duiker early one morning which was a treat. They have named her Bella.
Dinner was by prior arrangement and we decided to eat there twice.
An a la carte menu was offered to us and I must say we were very impressed with the choices and quality of the meals. A very good wine selection is also available.
Trevor advised us on what to see on the meander and what not to bother with. We decided to do the Karkloof Canopy Tour and Trevor he has an arrangement with them so we got a 10% discount.
All in all we highly recommend Thatchings for guests wanting a quiet place but able to do so much during the day.
Sven and Candice Van Dongen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
2.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
132 reviews
7.7 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loxley House
Loxley House
#6 of 17 in Nottingham Road
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchings Guest House

Property: Thatchings Guest House
Address: Curry's Post Road, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchings Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatchings is a 4 Star Guest House situated within a Trout and Game Estate and forms part of the Midlands Meander - South Africa's premier Arts and Crafts route.Thatchings lies in a beautiful setting of ancient pine trees, rolling lawns, azalea shrubs and hydrangeas(stunning when in flower), and all overlooking a picturesque trot dam.With no fences to restrict them, impalas, zebras, wildebeest, eland and duikers frequently come onto the property which makes for an uplifting experience for guests.Thatchings offers a variety of en-suite accommodation, all under traditional African thatch, such as Bridal/Honeymoon Suite, Junior Suite, Family rooms, Twin rooms and double rooms.The rooms are tastefully furnished in country style and provided with electric blankets and heaters to ward off winter's chill, magazines, fresh flowers, TV and tea/coffee making facilities are provided to make guests stay comfortable.Thatchings is a quiet gentle place to ease mind, body and soul.Take a walk in the 300 hectare private game estate and you may well see zebras, black wildebeest, eland, red hartebeest, impalas, waterbuck, blesbuck, duiker, reed buck and monkeys to name a few of the resident animals. Abundant bird-life ensures that no walk is without seeing something of the fauna and flora of this beautiful region.Settle into the lounge with it's magical view or curl up at a roaring log fire in the guest lounge on those cold and misty days.Thatchings is perfectly situated for exploring the surrounding area with its wealth of experiences. There is easy access to the Drakensberg, Zulu and Boer War battlefields, golf courses and large dams for water sports just to name a few.An a la carte menu is available for dinner and a full English breakfast is included in the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Thatchings Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing