We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rob Roy Hotel(Botha's Hill)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town/Bush Backpackers(Pietermaritzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
77
86
40
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
86
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiethe pubmicro breweryboars headcraft beerpickled vegbrewed on sitepale aleoverlooking the lakelamb curryold world charmmidlands meanderwooden floorsribsold stylechristmas lunchlovely spot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rawdons is one of my favourite escapes. This is one of the few hotels that has really large grounds including a forest and dam. However it is the actual hotel itself, with all its nooks and crannies that is so welcoming. The interior maintains the integrity of a time long ago and this total attention to detail includes the soft background music that is played at breakfast, and in the pub. There are NO large screen TV's belting out sports or loud music, what a relief, they can be found anywhere! There are huge antique framed mirrors, roaring fireplaces, artrwork literally at every turn.

The rooms have been renovated to just the right degree, and some even with heated towel rails and fabulous bathrooms.
Congratulations guys, keep it up. I really dont want to find a sports bar or one of those overated spa's when I next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Away from the Maddening crowd - that's Rawdons for sure. Set in our tranquil surroundings, we encourage our guests to get lost in the magical Midlands atmosphere and truly find themselves at peace and to be treated like kings and queens. With the seasons changing, each visit will inspire you with a multitude of colourful, country experiences.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you going to the Natal Midlands you need two things:

1) To Stay @ Rawdons and Eat at the Pub
2) Take a Michael House Old boy with you to show you the way

The Meander has greatly improved in the last couple of years and there are some really great little offerings from the locals to tickle your pallet.

With regards to Rawdons, its kind of reminds me of something that comes out of a old English village - it provides a wholesome Pub and a bed to sleep the booze off in. I must add that the breakfasts are great and they help start your day with a spring in your step.

The Nottingham Brewery is also a treat and a puddle at the bar will find you, your ale of choice.

If its your first time stay at Rawdons, the other "up-market" places down the river may take the authentic experience of the midlands away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank King_Size8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Good morning to you King Size 8888,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We do so pride ourselves in our unique offerings which as you say really adds to the authenticity of your trip to the Midlands. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the pub and giving you that lovely sleep on your well deserved time off!

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Charming old hotel with great potential but sadly the service leaves much to be desired. The Receptionists attitude not only made us feel unwelcome but made us want to leave immediately. It appeared as if she stuffed us into a mediocre room just to get rid of us while we paid for a luxury room. For the fly fishing enthusiast it is shocking to find that the dams have not been stocked for years (as confirmed by a friendly local) yet Rawdons advertise fly fishing as one of the estates attractions. Hiking routes are also not clearly marked. The atmospheric pub and good service from the waiters made a difference, but then again we might as well have just popped in for a quick bite instead of staying in the overpriced hotel. Don't be mislead by the website!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Good afternoon,

We are terribly sorry for the experience at reception - your feedback is so different to the many wonderful comments we get regarding the warmth and hospitality of the staff that this truly comes as a surprise. We have had a staff meeting and discussed your review and wish to apologise sincerely. We do hope you will give us another try and be pleasantly surprised by our staff and overall offerings.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family spent a winters weekend at Rawdons with 2 other families. We stayed in room 1, the family suite, which was immaculately clean, warm, and very comfortable. There were plenty of heaters and we had a tv and fridge in the lounge area. Rawdons is great for families travelling with kids as there seem to be plenty of family rooms and inter-leading rooms. The hotel is small enough to retain an intimate feeling that you are staying in a grande-olde house of yester-year. We were fabulously looked after, both at breakfast and in the evening in the pub, by George (who seems to work incredibly long hours but still manages to retain a sense of humour). We spend hours exploring the lake and forest, and found loads of chestnuts. The pub was only place to be when the temperature dropped and was equally welcoming to both the adults and children. Excellent value and a wonderful stay, especially considering it's a 3star.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs and at the end of the passage. The floors are wooden.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear `HappyCamper789',

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review. Did you know that George has worked at the hotel for over 50 years? We at Rawdons do take pride in our offerings and for them to meet your expectations and even beyond, means we are on the right track, so thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards.
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend celebrating my wife's birthday with a very comfortable room, huge bath with a view and monster shower. The cosy bed kept the winter chill away but enough of that.
Dinner in the pub was outstanding. Mushroom soup, hot as H, chunky and tasty. The pies was enormous and the fries were piping hot and delicious. Often pies are more gravy than filling, not this one! The ceramic dish held the heat through out the meal. The scotch and choice of craft beers did the rest. Stunning to the end.
Breakfast the next morning was busy with lots of kiddies so if you are averse you may be put off but for me it was wonderful watching them tuck in and enjoy the generous portions. All this for not much more than an upmarket self catering cottage. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi there,

Wow, what a great review. We are very proud of our renovations which you clearly enjoyed. Also known as the Grand Old Lady in the Midlands, we believe in true, hearty cuisine and generous portions. Our pub fare and breakfast offerings therefore offer you more than expected.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Kind regards.
The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews