We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw deal at Rawdons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Charming old hotel with great potential but sadly the service leaves much to be desired. The Receptionists attitude not only made us feel unwelcome but made us want to leave immediately. It appeared as if she stuffed us into a mediocre room just to get rid of us while we paid for a luxury room. For the fly fishing enthusiast it is shocking to find that the dams have not been stocked for years (as confirmed by a friendly local) yet Rawdons advertise fly fishing as one of the estates attractions. Hiking routes are also not clearly marked. The atmospheric pub and good service from the waiters made a difference, but then again we might as well have just popped in for a quick bite instead of staying in the overpriced hotel. Don't be mislead by the website!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Good afternoon,

We are terribly sorry for the experience at reception - your feedback is so different to the many wonderful comments we get regarding the warmth and hospitality of the staff that this truly comes as a surprise. We have had a staff meeting and discussed your review and wish to apologise sincerely. We do hope you will give us another try and be pleasantly surprised by our staff and overall offerings.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family spent a winters weekend at Rawdons with 2 other families. We stayed in room 1, the family suite, which was immaculately clean, warm, and very comfortable. There were plenty of heaters and we had a tv and fridge in the lounge area. Rawdons is great for families travelling with kids as there seem to be plenty of family rooms and inter-leading rooms. The hotel is small enough to retain an intimate feeling that you are staying in a grande-olde house of yester-year. We were fabulously looked after, both at breakfast and in the evening in the pub, by George (who seems to work incredibly long hours but still manages to retain a sense of humour). We spend hours exploring the lake and forest, and found loads of chestnuts. The pub was only place to be when the temperature dropped and was equally welcoming to both the adults and children. Excellent value and a wonderful stay, especially considering it's a 3star.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs and at the end of the passage. The floors are wooden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear `HappyCamper789',

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review. Did you know that George has worked at the hotel for over 50 years? We at Rawdons do take pride in our offerings and for them to meet your expectations and even beyond, means we are on the right track, so thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards.
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend celebrating my wife's birthday with a very comfortable room, huge bath with a view and monster shower. The cosy bed kept the winter chill away but enough of that.
Dinner in the pub was outstanding. Mushroom soup, hot as H, chunky and tasty. The pies was enormous and the fries were piping hot and delicious. Often pies are more gravy than filling, not this one! The ceramic dish held the heat through out the meal. The scotch and choice of craft beers did the rest. Stunning to the end.
Breakfast the next morning was busy with lots of kiddies so if you are averse you may be put off but for me it was wonderful watching them tuck in and enjoy the generous portions. All this for not much more than an upmarket self catering cottage. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi there,

Wow, what a great review. We are very proud of our renovations which you clearly enjoyed. Also known as the Grand Old Lady in the Midlands, we believe in true, hearty cuisine and generous portions. Our pub fare and breakfast offerings therefore offer you more than expected.

Looking forward to seeing you back.

Kind regards.
The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to py them a visit after seeing some good reviews.

Very good sunday roast and dessert for R85.

Novelty beers for you to taste a it is right by the brewery.

The best beef in SA is to be found in the midlands!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Good day,

Great to hear your tasted our wonderful craft beers from our onsite microbrewery - did you know we are one of the oldest, most established craft breweries in SA? And thank you for the compliment on our Sunday roasts, they certainly do keep people coming back for more.

We truly look forward to seeing you again and enjoying our hearty cuisine.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Rawdons has it all; setting, views, amenities, service, food, and it's own brewery. The pictures tell most of the story, but I was also impressed with the level of service. It was obvious that the management values training, as the staff's level of service was impecible. The employees' attention to detail and eagerness to please was a refreshing change to some of the other places we stayed on this trip. We paid approximately $ 135 per night and found it very good value for the price. We will definately return as soon as possible.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Captflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us - and for appreciating our great service. So often in Africa people complain about `African time' so our attention to detail and swift service is something we most definitely pride ourselves with.

We certainly look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,

The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Rawdon’s several times in the past and it really is a grand old country hotel: lovely grounds to stroll around and the famous Nottingham Road Brewery on site. All the rooms have recently been refurbished and the bathrooms specifically are very impressive. The hotel is an old building with wooden floors, and this can be noisy when people walk to their rooms, especially late at night. The dining room menu is limited, but the pub food is very good, if somewhat overpriced. The pub has a very cozy atmosphere with a fireplace and excellent service from the staff. Breakfast was sumptuous with a wide variety of food to choose from. The rooms are comfortable with underfloor heating, so nice and cozy in winter. Supplied: tea/coffee making facilities, shampoo, body lotion, shower cap, soap and hairdryer. Despite the recent make-over, the beds seem to be the same old beds. My bed was very creaky and when I investigated, the base was broken and the bed was standing on four bricks!! Other than this weird set-up, the hotel is highly recommended as a stop-over between Durban and Johannesburg or as a base while enjoying the Midlands Meander.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Good day,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are thrilled we met up with your expectations - in response to your bed being on bricks, we had already ordered a new base/ frame however it had not arrived by the time you stayed. This has been attended to and is most definitely not common practice at all. I trust you understand our predicament.

We really do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed only one night at Rawdon's on our way from Joburg to Durban. The place is amazingly nice as is the owner. Great food, warm atmosphere, clean and rooms and the own brewery is awesome! The property is huge and very well kept. It was really relaxing taking a stroll around the small lake and listening to all the animals in an extremely peaceful environment. Of course all this luxury has it's price, but every single penny was worth it. Anyway, ask for low-season discount, walk-in price or anything like that, otherwise you are charged full price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review and we are thrilled you had such a great time. And yes, please do ask about our specials - we are running fantastic offers according to the seasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham Road hotels
4.6 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
222 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Bend
The Bend
#11 of 17 in Nottingham Road
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
383 reviews
5.7 mi away
Thatchings Guest House
Thatchings Guest House
#7 of 17 in Nottingham Road
72 reviews
1.7 mi away
Loxley House
Loxley House
#6 of 17 in Nottingham Road
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawdons Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range: $117 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawdons Hotel & Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rawdons Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing