We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel could do with more management attention...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our second stay at Rawdons. This time we stayed for 1 night as we had to attend a wedding in the Midlands. The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay - the rooms are lovely (we had 2 rooms) especially those overlooking the front garden and the lake. The hotel grounds are beautiful - this is certainly one of the prettiest parts of the KZN Midlands. The rooms were unfortunately not very clean (with cobwebs and dust in the corners). The food was very average and service was poor - there seemed to be an awful lot of staff hanging around (we heard them) but our meal took a long time to be served. I asked for tomato sauce to accompany my sandwich french fries and it arrived after 5 mins in a plastic bottle which would be more appropriate at a fast food outlet (not a 4 star hotel). At breakfast the next morning, we had to help ourselves to coffee from a dispenser and we battled to find 2 cups that weren't chipped. The breakfast offering was adequate and generally tasty but breakfast closes promptly at 10, even on a Sunday - I was a little surprised when rather than asking the guests in the dining room whether they wanted anything more from the buffet, the staff began whisking the food off the buffet table on the stroke of 10. I would have thought it a simple courtesy to approach the remaining diners and simply offer them the chance to help themselves to a last muffin or slice of toast. My biggest frustration though was when I asked a member of management to change our allocated rooms as one of our party could not climb the stairs particularly as the staircases have no balustrades (which he very kindly did). While we were agreeing the details of the room change, the gentleman received a telephone call from the owner of the hotel which he had to take as it was the "big boss" calling. As a paying guest, I was made to wait 5 minutes while he provided a report to the "boss" on the hotel occupancy etc - issues in which I had no interest whatsoever. Perhaps this "big boss" should realise that if his management spent less attention waiting on him and more on serving on their guests, this would be a better property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Mrs Ramani MacKay,

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention via your Tripadvisor review.

In response to your feedback, I would like to point out that we are in fact at 3 star hotel and not a 4 star hotel, although we do strive to meet those standards.

With regards to closing breakfast at 10am, I am sure you can appreciate that our hotel is incredibly busy on a Sunday at lunchtime which means the staff need to clear the decks in order to prepare for lunch in addition to them needing to take a short break between meals.

The coffee station is there for your convenience. This is standard practise in many establishments which we have followed to ensure that our guests do not have to wait to be served by a waiter and that they can get coffee on demand. We most certainly take cognisance of the fact that the staff should have asked you if you were finished and we are attending to further training in this regard.

We do trust you enjoyed the room we upgraded you to at no additional cost. The room you stayed in is in fact a very busy and popular room and are attended to daily by our housekeeping. That said, we are also flagging this with the Head of this division.

There seems to be some miscommunication regarding the conversation with the `big boss’ as he was by no means aware that the manager was attending to a issue you were addressing with him. We sincerely apologise for any negative feelings that may have arisen as a result.

In closing, we are very happy that you enjoyed the natural beauty of the hotel and the refurbishment that has taken place recently and we look forward to welcoming you back, sometime in the near future, to see the improvement in the service and standards.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We really had a wonderful and restful three days at Rawdons. The staff were very helpful and polite. It was delightful to experience good old fashioned personal service again. I had a flat tyre and John even took the wheel into the village to have it repaired and put it back on my car. I would definitely stay at Rawdons again. Michael K

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. The fact that you went to the trouble means we certainly left a lasting impression on you. We are a very tight knit family at Rawdons where nothing is too much trouble. I am very happy to hear that John sorted you out with your tyre and how you enjoyed the personalised, old fashioned service.

Looking forward to hosting you again soon,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

One of the nicest parts of South Africa. Get a room facing the Dams! Book a meal at Bierfassl, and try the local microbrewery beers. Good base to explore the midlands meander. Finalizing renovations, so get a renovated room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomerSimpson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Just to let you know we are literally days away from the last 2 x rooms being renovated and they are looking stunning! Yes, our locality is superb for enjoying the meander and we love that you love our beers! Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A 1-night stopover at this charming olde world hotel, turned out to be 4 glorious nights in a simply stunning, romantic setting which, needless to say, we fell in love with immediately! What added to the charm of this Little piece of England was the warm, friendly welcome we received on that freezing afternoon in July! The room, with central heating, was lovely & really comfy, overlooking the lake - and what a pleasure to step on to a warm bathroom floor! The English pub, with its cozy ambiance, was so welcoming, with a roaring log fire & "yummy" pub food! The food & the service in the dining-room was excellent too! In a nutshell - "delightful!" We'll definitely be back - for a longer stay...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are thrilled you enjoyed all the finer details that we pride ourselves for, as you say, like the heated floors! We are constantly striving to improve our offerings and your compliments bare testimony to the fact that we are succeeding! It is wonderful that we are able to give feedback to our staff which further encourages them to go that extra mile. We pride ourselves as a warm, welcoming famiy and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived here from the south coast enroute to Pretoria late on Sunday afternoon August 12th.
The aim was simply to visit the Nottingham Road Brewing Company to get hold of a few of their excellant products to take home (I am a beer enthusiast and admirer of the NRBC range).
Whilst enjoying a beautiful Porter in the charming pub, the wife and children had a stroll around the property. And that as they say, was that.
She begged to stay over.
I am still not sure whether it was the warm glow from the Porter, the log fire or the superb surroundings which bowled me over but I needed no arm twisting.
you'll be seeing us again soon! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for such lovely feedback, we are very proud of our micro-brewery and so pleased you are a keen imbiber! Thank you to your wife and kids for encouraging you to stay, we are so pleased you were able to experience not only the lovely estate and pub, but also the renovated rooms. We trust you slept like a king and look forward to seeing you back soon,

Take care,

The Rawdons Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have been on day visits to Rawdons before and our wonderfully peaceful stay this time was lengthened from two nights to three because we just couldn't bear to leave the peaceful tranquility and hospitality that Rawdons offered. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a lake facing room because the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you - we loved having you stay with us. We are thrilled we surpassed your expectations and that you extended your stay. See you next time - perhaps next time can you squeeze in a 4th day!

Take care and see you back soon,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Colin and Marjorie

We have stayed at Rawdon's many times, It's a good stopover on the road between the South Coast and Johannesburg. This trip it was very cold, and we were glad of the warm and sincere welcome we received - as well as with the way the hotel has been upgraded through very careful and tasteful modernisation. The public rooms have never looked better, and the bedrooms are beautiful. Bathrooms are modern and really lovely. The food was excellent, and the pub,( happily not revamped!) with roaring log fires, just the best place to be on a winter night. The staff were as welcoming and helpful as ever.
Not to mention we bought some Pickled Pig to take home!! Always a great extra...

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are quite delightful, summer or winter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Colin and Marjorie,

Thank you so much for such delightful feedback - I did respond previously but somehow it didn't seem to post - yes, we are so proud of the renovations and you will be pleased to know we are extending the pub a little more, but will be keeping the exact same charm of a true English pub!! By the way, as I speak, Rawdons is covered in thick snow, it is absolutley beautiful!!!!

Looking forward to seeing you back,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
4.6 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
226 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Bend Country House
The Bend Country House
#11 of 17 in Nottingham Road
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
394 reviews
5.7 mi away
Thatchings Guest House
Thatchings Guest House
#6 of 17 in Nottingham Road
75 reviews
6.1 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawdons Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range: $134 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawdons Hotel & Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rawdons Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing