We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We just left what was a truly wonderful weekend. Setting is lovely although I would definitely book a mountain view room if we returned as our room (#11) had only 2 small windows and it felt a bit dark and closed at times. The underfloor heating, local coffee and bedtime stories are lovely touches

The spa facilities are fantastic, an extensive menu and great treatments.

I give 4 stars instead of 5 only because the breakfast was not the best. There was a small fruit and yoghurt buffet and a few hot dishes to choose from. Coffee was inconsistent, some days barely drinkable others perfectly nice.

Dinner was delicious. My husband said it was of the best fillets he ever had, and they had more than the usual amount of choice for vegetarians.

I would definitely recommend as a perfect spot for a relaxing weekend and great location from which to explore the Midlands.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherLeighK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    38
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
99
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I travelled here with my family in December from Australia & stayed at the spa for 4 nights. No words can describe how beautiful the place is.. not only the hotel's surroundings, but the rooms & the facilities. It truly was mind blowing. The spa treatments were to die for - I got a massage & a facial, which I would recommend to everyone! The staff couldn't have gone more out of their way to make our stay a memorable one - they were so friendly, welcoming & fantastic. The food at the Sky restaurant was delicious - we ended up eating here a number of times because there was so much we loved. I genuinely believe that Fordun is one of the best places I went to while travelling in South Africa - I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone planning to head to Natal. Thank you to the team for such a magnificent stay - you truly do have such a special place in Fordun!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Fordoun is country luxury at its best with an amazing Spa. People are friendly, rooms stunning. Food is great and service is amazing. If you want a relaxing weekend away this is the perfect place. The view's are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

A three night stay in the midlands, Fordoun was not busy, we were out of season but the staff, accommodation and services were of a high caliber, we both made use of the Spa and had a superb massage, the public areas were full of beautiful bronzes by local artist Sarah Richards, we visited her studio and ended up taking (buying, not stealing) one home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dear Traveler

I popped by to grab something to eat after some horse-riding. I did not stay in the hotel as I was booked elsewhere but I was famished and needed to rest my tender bottom on some soft furnishings. This was perfect for that.

The food was very good. Soup was excellent. My starter was not only beautifully presented but it was morsels of gorgeous crumbed and fried. Mains was great too.

Setting was excellent, dining hall designed in a red damask print gave it a sense of sophistication whilst the paintings of cattle kept it country.

It was good place to rest your hat too, I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefycarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The most amazing and fantastic place to rest, relax and unwind. From the beauty of the surroundings and the delicious cuisine,5 star spa treatments and wonderful cosy rooms, this was one of the best vacations ever, indoor heated pools, landscaped gardens and log fires with spellbinding books, and the most friendly efficient staff, my husband and I were king and queen of the day, hats off to the barman and the chef. Well done to all, will b bak for my next break , an absolute jewel on Nottingham road

Room Tip: We booked a suite which was spacious comfortable and home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a glorious week at Fordoun.. Beautifully decorated rooms, excellent service and food,spa & pool facilities are magnificent. The beauty treatments were fantastic and had an excellent massage. Such a peaceful and relaxing place - will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vifi_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
19.4 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#2 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.8 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing