We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not find anything wrong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could not find anything wrong.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the start we felt welcome and looked after. The family owners are very involved and all the staff are well trained and attentive. We stayed in a mountain view suite, which was exactly what we were looking for. The suites are beautifully furnished, spacious and with a lovely fire that was most welcome as winter arrived early and we woke up to a view of snow on the mountains.

We stayed for 4 nights and had dinner there 3 of the nights. The food was delicious and well presented and breakfasts were also great.

The gym is reasonably equipped, we didn't use the indoor or outdoor pool -which looked good, but we did use the spa facillities, where I had the best back massage I've had in a long time.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with a mountain view suite, but all the rooms look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    40
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
102
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here enroute from Johannesburg to Durban and we were so glad we did. It is just such a beautiful place. Our room was one of the new suites and it was so warm and luxurious. We were struck by the warm welcome we received from all of the staff, especially Lazarus who has been with the family of the house for a very long number of years. It was the following morning that we met the owner Richard and he too was extremely welcoming and interested in us and our trip.

The spa was excellent. I had one the the best massages I have ever had and I have high expectations when it comes to massage. I loved the spa products too and brought home some hand wash and lotion which is a lovely reminder of my trip to Fordoun. We had dinner in the restaurant and loved it. Our food was excellently prepared, piping hot and we found the service very friendly. It was a cold night and the dining room was so warm and welcoming. The next morning it was transformed into a lovely sunfilled room and the breakfast buffet was excellent. I particularly liked the fact that they had a breakfast menu and would recommend the Eggs Onassis.

This is a really beautiful place. We would like to thank all the staff for their welcome and care. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I loved Fordoun and we had a great time there with our youngsters and friends. The staff were very helpful. Lots to do in the area. Not much of a spa person, but didn't like the fact that there was a "witch doctor" or sangoma presiding over their health centre as I don't subscribe to many of the beliefs surrounding their practices. We also had a discounted stay which increased the sense of value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MRKiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MRKiggen
Thank you so much for your kind words on your stay with us at Fordoun, it is greatly appreciated. I appreciate your views on Elliot as well. Elliots main role at Fordoun is to help us with an African link at the Spa, we pursue this because we are a Spa in Africa and want to embrace an African side. We utilise Elliots expertise as an Inyanga (expert in indegenous plants) to make a range of product which we use at the Spa, these are all made from plants grown on our property. Elliott is not a witch Dr and does not deal with the dark side, and as strange as it may seem is religious, believing in God as well as his ancestors. I hope this explains things.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This really was a great getaway for a couple of nights. The rooms are fab and the on site spa is lovely. The staff were very friendly and wanted to help, especially the chap who took our luggage and welcomed us into reception.

The food was a bit more average. It wasn't bad but not quite up to the standard of the rest of the experience.

All in all would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaveatrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us at Fordoun, we are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Have a great year. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Fordoun for 2 nights during our recent visit to South Africa. All the staff, including William (who took our bags), reception on arrival, and Leslie and Beauty in the restaurant, all went out of their way to make our visit very special. Our room suite was beautiful and the food and wine beyond reproach. Everybody went out of their way to make our visit run smoothly. Jon and Richard Bates showed us the social projects they are jointly running with another family in the area . After expressing an interest in visiting their local school we were taken round by Jon and met the Headmaster, Masters and pupils of the school. It was all very impressive and hopefully it is a positive and healthy indication of the potential future for this very beautifully, but vast , Country.

Room Tip: Room 23 was special for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55Vrodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear 55Vrodboy

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a great overall experience, this is the way we strive for guests to enjoy the experience.

Have a great year!

Kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ate here at the restaurant with some friends and was one of the most disappointing meals I've had. The food was pretty slow even though the restaurant was fairly dead. Their spirits were limited. I figured a coke and Malibu was a pretty common drink. The wine list was plentiful. The food came out pretty dry and fairly cold for all 4 of us, and not one of us enjoyed our meals. Very expensive for the quality of food. Waitress wasn't very friendly and didn't one ask if we were enjoying our meal or how it was when we finished regardless of the fact she was clearing plates that weren't empty. Very disappointed. Waste of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesmilton, General Manager at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Freyal LR

Our sincere apologies for the disappointing meal that you had with us.
These are certainly not the standard and experiences that we pride ourselves on.
We will do what we can to make sure this is a once off.
It would be greatly helpful if you could let me know when you were here so I can investigate into what happened?

Yours sincerely

Richard Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fordoun for the weekend of our wedding and were really touched by the amount of effort all the staff made to make our stay a special one. My bride to be stayed on the Friday night before the wedding with her friend and could not stop telling me how beautiful the place was. All our Pre wedding photos were taken at Fordoun and turned out amazing. I stayed the night of the wedding and was met with complimentary champagne and rose petals all over the room. After a good nights rest in the most comfortable bed we went to breakfast. The food was top class. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abainborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Andrew and Kerry
Congratulations on your wedding, thanks for choosing to stay with us and all your positive comments.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
77 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
7.6 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
186 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing