We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a Bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than a Bistro”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I on a lazy Saturday afternoon thought of visiting Fordoun just for a cup of coffee and see the Spa facilities. The welcoming was great, and were seated on a lounge to make ourselves comfortable while our coffees were being prepared.

When coffees were ready, we then moved to a cosy Skye Bistro Restaurent, with heaters to make us warm.

After that, we went to see Spa facilities, and were very impressed at the range of products we saw at display. The swimming pool was warmed since it was winter, and Nottingham road can be very cold. Floatation pool was what I can describe as breathtaking, and soon, we have to experience what we saw.

Coming to massage selections, there is just more than enough.

Mr and Mrs Ndlovu

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tseli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    39
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
100
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vaalwater, Limpopo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Fordoun Spa for 4 nights November 2010. We had spa treatments for two full days, while it was raining outside. It was so relaxing. Food was amazing. The room was perfect, and so much more than we expected. The area around Fordoun is great for driving around, lots of places to stop and walk around.

Great place to go and relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImrieSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our 3 day mid winter break was a real treat. All the rooms are luxurious and well heated. The staff and management could not do enough for us. A special thanks to Sylvia, who has worked there for 50 years .Now aged 64, she started at the age of 14.
This was our second stay and apart from the evening meal, was perfect. The restaurant is described as fine dining, but did not live up to previous standards. The duck was under cooked and beef over cooked. It appears ducks in the area do not have breasts as only legs are served.


From Ivan Goodman

Room Tip: Room 3 has a covered patio front and back . Ideal to follow the sun in the chilly winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Luxury, Comfort, attention to detail, professional spa treatments, fantastic friendly service..what more can we say!!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 6 & 7 but all rooms looked fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

After meeting Richard in London last year promoting his hotel he whetted our appetites to visit the Fordoun Spa whilst in South Africa and we were not disappointed. What a magnificient setting for a wonderful hotel & spa to relax for a couple of nights. The rooms were excellent, food delicious and the staff were a credit to the establishment. We were so chilled out by the experience that on the day of departure after 200 miles we discovered that we had left our Passport & Ticket Wallet behind blind panic for 10 minutes until we contacted the Fordoun who arranged for them to be couriered to our next destination so we were able to continue to enjoy our last couple of days in South Africa. One day we hope to return and spend some more time at this wonderful hotel and discover more of the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A real must for an all round rejuvenation of the soul. The staff in the hotel, restaurant and spa all go out of their way to give you a memorable experience. The accommodation is excellent. The food is wonderful and the spa treatments are a must. The walks are soul restoring as it really is a beautiful setting. I can also vouch for good trout fishing!! A highly recommended place to stay when visiting the Kzn Midlands.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautifully furnished. They vary in price but if you can afford it the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_woodburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthAfrica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Fordoun on their 3 night spa package - the best decision we made! It gave us a chance to unwind and relax after the wedding before setting off to Vic Falls and Hwange & this really was the best place for it. Fordoun is a very special place with great staff and amazing attention to detail. Our rooms and en suite bathrooms were spacious and luxurious and the staff couldn't have been more helpfull and attentive. Being family-run one really feels at home. The restaurant and spa were excellent & we enjoyed the unique floatation tank converted from an old grain silo, as well as the inside and outside pool (with sheep wandering past us). The views from the superior rooms across the Kamberg to the 'berg are great and you feel like you are in a luxury cottage rather than a hotel room & the indoor/outdoor shower, seperate lounge, fireplace, and hot towel rails are great touches. We wouldn't hestitate to recommend a stay in the standard or superior rooms to anyone. Fordoun is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
72 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
3.9 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
125 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing