We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
$135
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
$109
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$71
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
170
52
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
52
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflotation poolmountain viewfarm villagecrane foundationoutdoor poolattention to detailself cateringunderfloor heatingdressing rooma real treattreatment roomsfine diningsouth africafiletmagical placenatal midlandsrelaxing weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 238 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

After meeting Richard in London last year promoting his hotel he whetted our appetites to visit the Fordoun Spa whilst in South Africa and we were not disappointed. What a magnificient setting for a wonderful hotel & spa to relax for a couple of nights. The rooms were excellent, food delicious and the staff were a credit to the establishment. We were so chilled out by the experience that on the day of departure after 200 miles we discovered that we had left our Passport & Ticket Wallet behind blind panic for 10 minutes until we contacted the Fordoun who arranged for them to be couriered to our next destination so we were able to continue to enjoy our last couple of days in South Africa. One day we hope to return and spend some more time at this wonderful hotel and discover more of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A real must for an all round rejuvenation of the soul. The staff in the hotel, restaurant and spa all go out of their way to give you a memorable experience. The accommodation is excellent. The food is wonderful and the spa treatments are a must. The walks are soul restoring as it really is a beautiful setting. I can also vouch for good trout fishing!! A highly recommended place to stay when visiting the Kzn Midlands.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and beautifully furnished. They vary in price but if you can afford it the newly built 'upper' units are a real treat and very private.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda_woodburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Fordoun on their 3 night spa package - the best decision we made! It gave us a chance to unwind and relax after the wedding before setting off to Vic Falls and Hwange & this really was the best place for it. Fordoun is a very special place with great staff and amazing attention to detail. Our rooms and en suite bathrooms were spacious and luxurious and the staff couldn't have been more helpfull and attentive. Being family-run one really feels at home. The restaurant and spa were excellent & we enjoyed the unique floatation tank converted from an old grain silo, as well as the inside and outside pool (with sheep wandering past us). The views from the superior rooms across the Kamberg to the 'berg are great and you feel like you are in a luxury cottage rather than a hotel room & the indoor/outdoor shower, seperate lounge, fireplace, and hot towel rails are great touches. We wouldn't hestitate to recommend a stay in the standard or superior rooms to anyone. Fordoun is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

What a wonderful place! We had an extremely comfortable stay at this magnificent hotel! All the staff were excellent in every way and made us feel so welcome. They made every effort to ensure we had a memorable time. The food is superb and the chef took the trouble to prepare us the most delicious vegetarian meals. It really is an outstanding hotel and we loved every moment of our time there. Thank you so much for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Fabulous views of the Mountains from the individual cottages.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CabotUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We chose to spend the first night of our honeymoon at Fordoun which proved to be the ideal getaway to recover from a busy few months of planning.
Some of the highlights which make the hotel unique are:

1. The staff showed professional behavior consistent with what would be expected from a top 5 star luxury hotel.
2. The meals were outstanding and the quality was equal to the best restaurants I've experienced.
3. The rooms were well appointed and extremely comfortable without being austentaitous. They were spotless with everything in mint working order maintained to look brand new.
4. As with the rooms, all the facilities were kept in immaculate and clean condition with professional and well trained staff.
5. The hotel is situated amongst pristinely manicured gardens with a picturesque dam on the outskirts of the ever popular Nottingham Road.

This spa and hotel comes highly recomended and I would rate it as one of the few in the area which offers world class food, accommodation and spa facilities.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the garden or dam.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews