We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to visit”
Review of Talgarth Mill

Talgarth Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Talgarth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The visit to the Mill was informative and really interesting.
The cafe was outstanding - brilliant choice of food, all appeared to be made with very high quality ingrediants. The portions were too large - I didn't have room for a cake after my bowl of soup. Prices were exceptionally low. I'd recommend for value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    60
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit - well recommended”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and t'other half visited the mill and had a great time. We are both in our 20s and found it to be really exciting. Arwen gave us a tour and it was brilliant, he was very interested in the mill and it's history, happy to take questions and spent a lot of time with us. We even ground our own flour. The cafe was great too. We spent over 2 hours on site. A fantastic community enterprise and we hope the local villagers appreciate it as we wouldn't have come to Talgarth otherwise. Great location, free carking nearby.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh bread.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A lovely restored flour mill as seen on TV. A lovely cafe with views of the river running past, can become quite busy in the summer months. The bread is made on site and can be bought freshly made and still warm.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Flour Mill”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restored flour mill was very interesting. There is a lovely cafe there where we enjoyed coffee and cake. The staff were very polite and attentive. We then went on a tour of the mill led by Nick who gave a most interesting and informative talk.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzannaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely piece of history come alive”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Price is very reasonable to look round the mill and Rob (the volunteer who showed us around) was very informative. You can also buy bread that is made in the bakery from the milled flour again at a reasonable cost. It's a pity that the mill itself hasn't got a separate entrance to the restaurant - as I was told by the waitress in the restaurant part - that they are 2 separate businesses.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talgarth Mill also viewed

 

Been to Talgarth Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing