We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming with a lot of atmosphere”
Review of Lodge Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge Farm
Ranked #7 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for one night and found it a very charming place with a lot of atmosphere to it. Located on a small road about 2 miles from the village makes one feel as if in a remote location. Very quiet and genteel.

The house itself is very old with creaky floorboards but that just adds to the ambiance of this bed and breakfast.

The owners were nice and friendly and the breakfast was good. I would not hesitate to recommend this to others or return to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmsrmsrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Nothing fancy here but an honest-to-goodness working farm with welcoming hosts and, as one reviewer noted, very friendly animals! The house is old (18th century) but clean and tidy; the breakfast was hearty and delicious; and the Welsh cakes we had at teatime were the best we found in Wales, period. Marion is a charming hostess who makes you feel right at home. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cococanuck14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

In a handy location close to Talgarth but feeling a million miles from anywhere, and with beautiful gardens, this old farmhouse was a lovely relaxed place to stay with a very friendly hostess and a real 'at home' feel.

The room was comfortable with a lovely big window for the stunning view back to the ranges and lush green paddocks. The ensuite bathroom was clean and the water constant with good pressure. A good selection of tourist brochures was made available and the in-room catering adequate. There are a number of walks you can take from Lodge Farm, one along the small stream which was peaceful and scenic.

The main drawback I found was the floorboards - those in my room were incredibly creaky and the family staying in the room above or behind sounded like a herd of elephants stomping around on the loose boards. However this was bearable and is all part of the charm of an old house.

Breakfast was delightful though the dining room was quite chilly despite the heater set up near the table.

Overall this was a lovely, comfortable place to stay, one where I was made feel very welcome and by far the friendliest dog I came across in my travels! Located close to Talgarth, Bronllys with it's lovely Honey Cafe and Brecon, which has a great tourist information centre and interesting attractions, I would certainly stay at Lodge Farm again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthcombeRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The location of this B&B is quite nice, however you will need directions to find it, as it has no signs to it. The farmhouse is very old, but has character to it. The room was very tidy and had been properly cleaned, but not sure if there hadn't been guests for a while as the tea/coffee making point as well as some furniture were a bit dusty. Also our bed/blanket/sheets smelled a bit of smoke or possibly someone had been smoking cigarettes there. Not sure. We could only smell it once in bed, it wasn't the end of the world but for 34£ p/p it would have been nice to have a non smelly bed. Nevertheless, we slept well and enjoyed our stay. The room was very big and the breakfast was the traditional cooked/uncooked option. Very friendly owners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j4mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Talgarth hotels
0 mi away
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Old Radnor Barn B&B
#1 of 7 in Talgarth
244 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 7 in Talgarth
55 reviews
0 mi away
New Gurkha Inn
New Gurkha Inn
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lower Porthamel Camping
Lower Porthamel Camping
#1 of 1 in Talgarth
9 reviews
0 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#1 of 1 in Talgarth
59 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Bell Hotel
#5 of 7 in Talgarth
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Farm

Address: Talgarth LD3 0DP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lodge Farm Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing